We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Causeway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

329 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 318: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location, so central to all things Melbourne CBD. We stayed one night in a junior room to attend an event at Melbourne Town Hall (2 minutes walk from the hotel.) Our room was small but clean, a little outdated but had everything we needed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pears98
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a Fantastic location. However it needs to be as it has very little else going for it. We stayed when it was an almost booked out city with concerts and sporting events on and it was one of the last rooms in a central spot we could find. It was extremely overpriced for what it was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dave B
El Centro, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room was well equipped, everything worked and was in good condition. The staff we met at this hotel were brilliant - thank you to everyone. Well done! I mistakenly thought they had charged me twice for the room (forgot I went to the cash machine!) so emailed them and got a friendly response explaining this within an hour so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amandaemerson96
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Amandaemerson96, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share such a pleasant review. It is delightful to hear that you found your room to be well equipped, comfortable, and great value; as you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer. I will be sure to share...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel was dirty and dingy, the bathroom was filthy with scum around the bath and the tiles were covered in mould.The shower hot water tap fell off and the toilet roll holder also fell off the wall. The walls were all scuffed and the carpet badly stained. There was no sign on the door warning guests that there were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _jenachristie
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear _Jenachristie, Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. It is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest on this occasion. Please rest assured that what you have described is not representative of the experience we strive to provide to our guests and your feedback has been...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Our overseas friends had been booked into this hotel by their travel agent and as we were spending the weekend with them, we decided to stay at the same hotel. It would not have been our choice as we have stayed many times in Melbourne. The hotel was very old fashioned but not quaint old fashioned just old and tired....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Haznig
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Haznig, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am pleased to hear that you found your bed to be comfortable and you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer; it is disappointing that we were not able to reach...

Reviewed 10 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as an overnight in the city for work Christmas function. Good location, front staff were good. Room was basic but fine for one night. No views from room. Lots of cafes and bars in walking distance and very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David W
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. It is great to hear that your room provided all that you needed as a base for your work Christmas function; and that you made the most of our central location in the heart of the city. I will be sure...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Location is perfect but has jumped the shark comfort wise. Dirty tile grouting, mdf doors worn and water logged. A bit grey and bland. Breakfast a bit mean. Felt a bit like a back packer for what was supposed to be a nice couples weekend. Definitely NOT a romantic venue. Great for solo business stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank astropig
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Astropig, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Please rest assured that your constructive feedback...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 15 November 2016 via mobile

Great location for shoppers,plenty of resturants nearby.Rooms quite big chair and table provided,bed comfortable,clean and tidy. Could do with new carpet and a paint,but other than that very good .Will stay again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 03011961
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear 03011961, Thank you for taking the time to share a review on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, clean and spacious as you made the most of our fantastic location in relation to many of Melbourne’s best shops and restaurants. Please rest assured that your constructive feedback...

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 November 2016

I joined my husband on a business trip to Melbourne and we do stay in hotels around the world frequently. Usually i don't take the time to write a review, unless it's so disappointing that you really want to prevent other travelers to do the same "mistake" or to rave about a great find, in this case it was unfortunately...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alician_11
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alician_11, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It is disappointing that we were not able to reach your expectations in all areas on this occasion. Your feedback is very important to us and has been taken very seriously and discussed at all levels of hotel management and highlighted...

Moe Vic
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#82 of 157 in Melbourne
984 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
569 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 157 in Melbourne
29 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#81 of 157 in Melbourne
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $133 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • dirty floor
  • run-down furniture
  • broken/dirty floor
  • dirty blanket
 of 5 bubbles Alician_11, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts and if a staff member requests a cash deposit, say no.”
 of 5 bubbles 206elliem, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try higher floors due to slight evening noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 693pennyb, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If your have a disability then ask for a room with easy access- no steps and shower access.Get a room central to hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles eclectice2015, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Little Collins st suffer noise from rowdy street music and people”
 of 5 bubbles coley17nz, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay