We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Causeway

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Causeway
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Causeway
See the most recent reviews
Showing 312: English reviews
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

Pros: Fantastic location right in the heart of the CBD, Friendly staff....Unfortunately that's were it ends. Cons: Elevator door closes on you and there is a 6inch gap between floor and lift so you fall in and out of it, "continental breakfast" exists of toast, packet ham, plastic cheese, budget orange juice. (This was by far the worst breakfast I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat09kitty
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Kat09Kitty, Thank you for taking the time to share such candid feedback on your recent stay with us. While it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our central location and friendly staff, it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Your feedback has been taken very seriously by management and issues that...

Sydney
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We were quite excited about the location on little Collins, right near the restaurants and venues we planned to enjoy and at almost $200 a night we thought we knew what to expect - more than likely if your reading this you know we get around and like to have a good time in all shapes and price models :-)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrishandJose
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear TrishandJose, Thank you for taking the time to provide such a detailed and candid review of your recent stay with us. While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location and hardworking staff, it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. Please rest assured that your feedback has been discussed...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We chose this Hotel due to the location and price but were very surprised at the cleanliness and comfort . All the staff were very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Check in and out was very quick and the rooms were extremely comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Penny B
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Penny B, Thank you for staying with us and sharing a review. I am thrilled to hear that our hotel delivered on location and price, then exceeded your expectations for cleanliness and comfort! I will be sure to pass your kind words on to the staff who will no doubt be very proud to receive recognition for all their...

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

First impressions is .. ok cute .. the staff was extremely friendly and very welcoming ( Daniel was very helpful and informative with our questions with whats around as its our first stay in Melbourne) arrived on the 5th floor and it was mehh carpet pretty average condition but very tidy and when we arrived at our room.... pure bliss...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adrian H
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Adrian H, Thank you for staying with us and sharing such a pleasant review. I am delighted to hear that you found your room to be “pure bliss” with it’s spacious layout and comfortable bed. I will be sure to forward your kind words on to the staff member mentioned. All our staff work extremely hard and are always...

Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Reviewed 28 June 2016

the hotel was central to Melbourne shopping and eating district.The hotel was easy to find and a great place to shop from. The room was comfortable and clean .It boasted a large round spa with windows to the lane way . The shower above the spa provided hot water and decent spray. The bath room seemed small but the spa...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eclectic E
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Eclectic E, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room to be comfortable, clean and took advantage of the spa bath! I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast, and will be sure to pass your compliments on to the staff....

Munster Western
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

Sagar from the restaurant so friendly, breakfast was continental and plenty there. Coffee machine 24/7. Front desk staff alway happy and helpful. We had a twin room, beds small but room clean and lovely linen. Large TV and the curtains are block out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allison L
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Alison L, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to share a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your room, making use of the large TV and blackout curtains. It is also pleasing to hear that you experienced such great service. I will be sure to pass your kind words on...

Sydney
Reviewed 22 June 2016

The hotel is in a pretty good location and generally facilities are OK. The majority of the service though is poor. The not fulfilling items that are listed on their website and no response to other items and follow up just means that its a transaction and your a number. An example is the free wifi is only for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tucks111
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Tucks111, Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share a review. While I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel facilities and fantastic location, I am disappointed as it seems you did not enjoy the level of service that we pride ourselves upon. Each and every guest is much more than a number to us...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 June 2016

The room was spacious and very comfortable.Very clean and tidy with furniture in average condition.Mini bar was well stocked and affordable. Bathrobes supplied.No views on offer with his hotel. Staff were very friendly with 24 hour reception. Location couldn't have been better as everything at the doorstep. Suitable for families or business especially if you don't want to spend all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Russell V
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Russell V, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a nice review. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed a clean, comfortable and convenient stay with us at the right price. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the staff who will no doubt be thrilled to...

Tewantin, Australia
Reviewed 9 June 2016

Fantastic location right in the heart of the city. Just up from newly opened St Collins Arcade and right opposite David Jones. Older hotel but it was clean, the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great value.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Faye M, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing a review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay while taking advantage of our fantastic location in relation to all that Melbourne has to offer including, as you mention, the newly opened St Collins Lane. I am glad that you made the most of the...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 June 2016

The breakfast room staff where excellent,always friendly and cheerful. Front counter staff variable from excellent and helpful to totally uninterested. Room was well appointed but shower very hard to regulate.Room not cleaned daily to acceptable standard,some days ok others poor.Probably the first and only time we will stay there. Really expected better.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coley17nz
Causeway-Melbourne, Guest Services at Hotel Causeway, responded to this review

Dear Coley17nz, Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us. It is fantastic to hear that you found your room to be well appointed and experienced great service from the breakfast staff however it is disappointing that issues prevented you from enjoying your stay to the fullest. I have highlighted your constructive...

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#79 of 157 in Melbourne
968 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
558 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 157 in Melbourne
28 reviews
Central Business District
BreakFree on Collins
BreakFree on Collins
#103 of 157 in Melbourne
1,114 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#109 of 157 in Melbourne
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This tucked away boutique hotel located in the heart of Melbourne's Central Business District is appreciated by discerning business and leisure travellers for its prized location, personal service, warmth and charm. With its entrance in the Howey Place laneway, the hotel is nestled amongst cosy eateries, as well as elegant and quirky fashion boutiques. Enjoying the prime location on Little Collins Street, Hotel Causeway guests can take a quick stroll to the bustling Bourke Street Mall & Swanston Street and enjoy an abundance of shops, cafes and restaurants. Housed in a beautiful art deco building, the hotel offers spacious rooms with a contemporary design that provide a relaxing retreat amidst the lively atmosphere of the city. Rooms are furnished with comfortable beds, modern bathrooms and aubergine armchairs. Room features include an LCD TV with selected Foxtel channels, air-conditioning, tea & coffee making facilities, in-room safe, minibar, a large working desk as well as bathrobes and slippers. The top floor of the building offers guests a gym with cardio equipment and weight machines, a steam room and a roof terrace. Hotel Causeway has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located only a block away from the hotel. Reception staff gladly oblige to assist guests in booking airport transfers and day tours. Melbourne attractions, entertainment and sports venues such as Etihad Stadium, the MCG, the Queen Victoria Markets, Melbourne Gaol, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Regent Theatre, Princess Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria and Eureka Tower are just a stroll away. The hotel's close proximity to local trams and trains provides an ideal starting point to explore further sights such as Melbourne Zoo, the Docklands precinct, Luna Park and the Botanic Gardens.Guests who opt for a shopping holiday will not be disappointed as major department stores such as Myer and Zara are just a block away from the hotel and David Jones is right across the road. Shopping strips such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and Brunswick Street as well as the DFO Shopping Centre can be reached by tram within minutes. Hotel Causeway's central location allows guests to explore Melbourne's unique laneway culture with its tucked away bars, cafes and boutiques. There is something new to discover every day! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Causeway

Address: 275 Little Collins St | entrance in Howey Place, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly The Causeway Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $137 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Causeway 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Causeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Causeway staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Launceston, Australia
over a year ago
Canberra
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Causeway staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose another hotel if you want a clean room.”
  • run-down furniture
  • broken/dirty floor
  • dirty floor
  • dirty blanket
 of 5 bubbles Alician_11, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from lifts and if a staff member requests a cash deposit, say no.”
 of 5 bubbles 206elliem, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Try higher floors due to slight evening noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 693pennyb, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If your have a disability then ask for a room with easy access- no steps and shower access.Get a room central to hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles eclectice2015, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing Little Collins st suffer noise from rowdy street music and people”
 of 5 bubbles coley17nz, 1 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay