We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Melbourne Metro YHA

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Melbourne Metro YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

203 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Melbourne Metro YHA
See the most recent reviews
Showing 160: English reviews
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
358 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Excellent customer service. Very efficient front desk. We had a 4-bed family room. Shared amenities which were fine. It was simple & met every need & clean. A little noise sometimes late evening but didn't continue. Roof-top area overlooking city is wonderful. We enjoyed a drink here looking at the view. Excellent location. We like the nearby cafes, the Queen... More 

Helpful?
Thank PamAlbury
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

The rooms and bedding are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are ok, not super clean. There is a restaurant on the ground floor that serves well-prices meals and coffee and there is a large kitchen you can use. Wifi is at a cost, but reasonably priced ($15 for a week I think). The location is good, a short walk to... More 

Helpful?
Thank EzzOM
Porlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

A nice but big hostel just north of the central district in a leafy and quiet area. Our double en suite room was very nice, bright and clean. It even had its own TV and tea/coffee making facilities There is a large but busy kitchen, a nice dining area and a lounge. There is a café which was serving breakfasts... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MillOaks
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed here for about 3 nights. The property is located within walking distance to Queen Victoria Market. Free parking is available at the basement but you would need to book in advance as there are limited lots. The kitchen is much bigger than other YHA that we have stayed. There is a small cafe that serves simple meals if you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Khuen555
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I liked it better than Melb Central because of the space. Has a canteen, lounge was much roomier than Central (that I can remember), good street parking, nice rooftop view of Melb. However, the price to pay for all the space is that it's a bit further away from the CBD. It's still not that far, it's definitely walkable, but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank glache
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Thanks for the great review glache. We are in a great position, where you can still walk to the city within 10 minutes, have on-site parking and chill out in our multiple lounge areas. We hope to see you here again soon. More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Pretty average hostel. Common ares are not the best but the kitchen is big and clean enough. Staff and roof top are probs the best features of this hostel altho the rooftop heater didnt work. Would stay here again in Melbz.

Helpful?
Thank Chrisrice987
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

After 6 weeks in Australia I found out hostel standards on average are pretty low there. You simply cannot compare them to hostels in Scandinavia or Spain for example, which counted for my only (and very positive) hostel experiences. When I arrived in Australia I had booked the Metro hostel, bc of good reviews here. So I expected something basic,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarina29
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Hi Sarina29, thank you for your review. YHA takes all of the reviews seriously and we appreciate your feedback. Melbourne Metro YHA was built back in the 70's, for the purpose of being a hostel, so you are correct in saying it had a bit of a seventies feel. We often paint the interior and update our furniture to keep... More 

Travellers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed in this YHA in late Feb and was a little disappointed. For a place with summer temps of up to 40 degrees, there was no air conditioning. The room was clean, but the kitchen was such a disaster that I avoided cooking there. The wifi in the building is so slow that nothing loads, and expensive to boot.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lorenna Z
Melinda S, Marketing Coordinator at Melbourne Metro YHA, responded to this review

Hi Lorenna Z, thank you for your review. YHA takes all of the reveiws seriously and we appreciate your feedback. Melbourne generally receives only a few days of 40+ degrees, but we do understand when it reaches these temperatures it gets very hot. YHA is very serious about the environment and sustainability and that being the reason there is no... More 

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Excellent value.Very clean.We had a room with 4 beds all to our self as the family rooms were already taken.We had to share the bathrooms which were extremely clean Staff were helpful.Kitchen area good.There is an onsite cafe doing meals and breakfast ( good value). You can get the tram very nearby to the CBD or walk to Lygon street... More 

Helpful?
Thank debra s
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

I recently took my teenage son and two of his mates to Melbourne for the June long weekend and decided to try this YHA Hostel. It suited our needs perfectly. To keep costs down we cooked our own meals in the hostel kitchen. What I was most impressed by was the amazing 360 degree view of Melbourne from the rooftop... More 

Helpful?
Thank freespirit40

192 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (156)
Viewed
4Pax Dorm (13)
Viewed
Amenities (74)
Viewed
Double Ensuite (20)
Viewed
Private Double Room (16)
Viewed
Shared Bathroom (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#25 of 117 in Melbourne
374 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 117 in Melbourne
420 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#90 of 117 in Melbourne
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#45 of 117 in Melbourne
108 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#24 of 117 in Melbourne
384 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 117 in Melbourne
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melbourne Metro YHA is a modern hostel located on the city fringe in leafy North Melbourne. This hostel is your relaxed home away from home that's only minutes from famous Queen Victoria Markets and walking distance to all the major attractions - the best of both worlds! Facilities include a tour desk for all your tour and transport needs within Victoria and Australia, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus option also available), fully equipped self-catering kitchen, communal lounge areas, launderette, secure car parking (subject to availability - $10 per day) and DVD's for hire. Enjoy the rooftop with panoramic city views as well as a BBQ and lounges perfect for socializing and meeting fellow travellers. Each room is heated and comes with lockers and an individual bed light. Bathroom facilities are shared. Guests can choose from a range of bed types, including 4 and 8 multi-share, twin/double rooms with optional en suite, and family rooms. We can also book groups of up to 120 people, ideal for schools, sporting groups and international exchange programs. Within the hostel there are always lots of great activities on including movie nights, Safari Pete travel auctions, free comedy, wine & cheese nights and a great weekly pub crawl! Activities are updated regularly so check with our friendly reception to see what's on and to get the best local tour and travel advice. Talking about what's on, Melbourne is the events and sporting capital of Australia! Getting around is simple with a free map and MyKi cards available for purchase at the hostel reception. A tram stop is located just 500m from the hostel and the $5 Melbourne Visitor Shuttle Bus stop is only 5 minutes walk which loops Melbourne's best attractions. Take advantage of the cities vibrant events calendar including the Spring Racing Carnival, Australian Open Tennis, AFL matches, Melbourne International comedy festival, Melbourne Fringe Festival, Melbourne Festival, Melbourne Cup and year round markets, live music, film, food, art and fashion activities and events. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Melbourne Metro YHA

Address: 78 Howard St, Melbourne, Victoria 3051, Australia (Formerly Queensberry Hill YHA)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Price Range: $37 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne Metro YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 360
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melbourne Metro YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Metro Yha Hotel Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Melbourne Metro YHA staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Tawonga South, Australia
6 months ago
southern ontario
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Melbourne Metro YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“best position,really clean”
 of 5 bubbles lucabO2355KV, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“6 bed dorm for making new friends.”
 of 5 bubbles 276tejasp, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“8 bed dorms are really small”
 of 5 bubbles conorm55, 2 May 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back are probably quieter”
 of 5 bubbles Arine_was_in_Sofia, 26 Nov 2015 | Read review
“If you are driving, you MUST book a car space in advance; at $10 a night it is really good value and beats risking parking on the street.”
 of 5 bubbles WanderingCodger_39, 29 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay