We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Melbourne

Hostelworld.comUS$45*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$67*
US$45*
Great Deal
US$64*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

479 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 436: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Melbourne
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very poor comfort,safety and friendliness. The Beds squeak. You can't open the windows in the room, so you cant get any fresh air. The showers squeak and theres no surface in the shower cabin to put down your things.The free internet hours are ridiculous, paying for wifi is a ripoff. There are no lockable storage areas for your valuables in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mole_inthehole
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. We are currently reviewing the WiFi situation and the other items you mention in order to improve our product. We appreciate the time you have taken to leave a review and we will take your comments seriously as we attempt to make things better for our guests. Many thanks

Surrey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Positives - cheap, good location, comfy beds and clean bedding, cheap bar and cafe, secure. Negatives - bathrooms are always dirty and, at least where I stayed, there was only 3 male showers and 2 toilets for half a floor (20ish dorm rooms). The 6 bed room was TINY, 3 bunks, lockers and not much other room. Kitchens are also...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Big N
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologise for the level of cleanliness in the bathrooms. This is an area we are fixing as we speak with more detailed cleaning and more regular servicing. The same applies for the kitchen. As for the long queues, sometimes are are quite busy but we always have multiple staff on so I am a...

George Town, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Quite a clean and friendly place with a great location but on the last day, saw a baby rat crawl through the gap under my room door.... Highly unexpected but I do not doubt myself. This is my second time here for a total of over 2 weeks spent at this establishment and I have not had other problems. Just...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank chw990
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I apologise for the mouse. Sometimes backpackers leave food in rooms which can attract these things! We appreciate your continued business. Many thanks

Yankalilla, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It is one of the more budget options around Melbourne, You wouldn't stay there if you were several states of affluent, and generally in life, you get what you pay for. The place is massive, and at times gets really busy in the shared areas. As reviewing a ten bed mixed dorm, in a hostel that boasts 800 beds, we...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniel S
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Very open and honest. We appreciate your review as this is the type of vibe we are trying to create. It is indeed a big place which does add to its charm. I apologise for the space in the rooms, we are considering this currently as we look at re-designing the rooms. It is a...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty everywhere ! Bathroom, kitchen and room. No place in the fridges. Full as never. Free breakfast already finish at 9. Wee odor in the ladies. No fan in the room. Wifi available only from 10am to 5pm.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank marion_pelletan
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are looking into the WI FI issue as we speak. As for the cleanliness, I completely agree. We have already commenced a thorough, building wide clean of all areas to bring it back up to standard! Most notably the bathrooms and the kitchen!!! Many thanks

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was doing a backpacking trip all across Australia and Discovery was without a doubt the worst hostel I stayed in during the entire trip. Although the rooms and lockers served their purpose, the hostel definitely needs some work. Firstly, it desperately needs air conditioning! The rooms got so hot that sleeping was really uncomfortable and some of the bunk...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kateO5045QH
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you. I apologise that you did not enjoy your stay. We now have free WI FI in the lobby 24/7 in response to general comments recently. We are also effecting some nice changes to various parts of the building, again in response to comments. As for your other comments, we cant really help long lines if we are super...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I sincerely regret that I did not read the evaluations here before booking, because this was bad. The one bathroom on our floor was extremely dirty and there were ugly stains of semen and urin all over the walls in the toilet. We booked a double room that was advertised as a "hotel standard room" on the hostel's webpage. The...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank einarls
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you. As you suggest, it is always more beneficial to talk to someone during your stay and not wait until the end. We never blame customers for our reviews and are aware that we have some work to do but it is always difficult to respond to customers once you have left! Long lines are part of a busy...

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything ok, except it was too hot in bedrooms. Attention should also be paid for the eradication of mice. The extra provision of supplying locks and keys for room lockers. USB fittings etc for the use of computers and the charging of mobile phones.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Alex K
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We will be adding many new and exciting features when we commence renovations. I appreciate your review. Many thanks

Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Would not stay here again! I'm grateful for finding a bed for the weekend as the Grand Prix was on and our hostel was full so we came here as was the only place available. We new the reviews weren't great but had no choice. Wow the kitchen was discusting!! Staff should go and check it often! The whole place...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BeckySJ
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you. As you suggest Grand Prix is always a crazy time. We do clean the kitchen regularly however it can get messy when guests are not doing the right thing and washing their dishes and cleaning up after themselves. And if you do book shared accommodation in a larger dorm, people coming and going is just part of the...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where do I start with this horror show of a hostel..firstly the hostel has Mice so if you want pets it may actually be for you. Splitting groups of friends up without any notice is Discovery's favourite thing to do it seems. The hostel prioritise people checking in not the people actually already staying at the hostel. Furthermore the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carl W

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#5 of 132 in Melbourne
495 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#46 of 132 in Melbourne
114 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 132 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#20 of 132 in Melbourne
401 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#30 of 132 in Melbourne
406 reviews
Southbank
Urban Central
Urban Central
#29 of 132 in Melbourne
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $63 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Ipoh, Malaysia
10 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Zip up your bags at night!”
chw990, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There are lockers downstairs front lobby, left down the stairs. Do go to the roof at some point. Magnet locks may need a slight press inward at the top of the black plastic that houses card scanner, this temporarily repaired the lock into my floor, but it was on the way out. The facilities do get used, and that regular, by many hands. ”
, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Better ventilation”
alexkK9757DV, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We couldn't find a suitable room.”
patrickjl2017, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“3rd and 4th floor are quieter”
P9614SXmarianal, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$45* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Orbitz.comUS$64
PricelineUS$67
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates