We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Discovery Melbourne

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Discovery Melbourne
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

466 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 424: English reviews
Start your review of Discovery Melbourne
 Click to rate
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Great place to stay while traveling on a budget! I had a last minute travel change and needed to book a place to stay very last minute. Staff were all friendly and super helpful. Very clean and comfortable place to stay,

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ykagano2
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I do not recommend staying at this hostel. Stayed in a 8 bed dorm that was incredibly small. Barely enough room for everyone to store their luggage and only one person at a time could move around comfortably in the room. There's also no aircon or even a fan in the room, only a tiny window that barely let's any...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zandra P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in this hostel for a couple of weeks while finding my feet when I first moved to Australia on a years working holiday visa. The staff are really nice and accommodating, the location is spot on, facilities all clean good showers etc, fairly quiet at night, good internet (not free tho). However, there is a really weird vibe here.....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 1 week ago

I enjoyed staying at Discovery Melbourne. It's close to everything. Staff was really friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Discovery Melbourne to friends and family and I would definitely stay there when I go to Melbourne again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicolene G
New York City, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place seems cheap but everywhere else i stayed in Australia was a better value and some had pests. don't waste your time staying here. book elsewhere in advance instead because the $10 you will save by staying here is not worth the hours you will stand in line at reception

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 904tommy
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The location is perfect and in the free tram zone, walking distance to Queen Victoria market. The hostel itself is okay, we were in a 4 bed dorm which we paid more for and was suprised there was no air con, not even a fan in the room so was very hot! If you want Wi-Fi you have to pay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jemmi101
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We only charge for services at cost as do most other properties in the city. In relation to the kitchen I do apologise. We will make more effort to keep this part of the hostel clean. Many thanks Michael Boyd

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right so, obviously this isn't a 5 star hotel, some rooms are too small for the amount of beds, some are really ok. I stayed here 4 weeks and frequently changed rooms, some are bad and some are good it often depends on who your roomates are but one thing is for sure this hostel certainly helps create bonds with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mariana L
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review. When we undergo renovations this year we will be looking at additional power outlets in the rooms. As for the queues, we are in peak season! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards Michael Boyd

Paris, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

CAREFUL! This hostel is very bad! I slept with mouses in my room and it's the same things in the other rooms. NO need to say it at the reception, they will not listen to you!!!! It's dirty in the room, in the toilet and staff. My opinion is objective, i tested a large part of hostel in Melbourne and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gwena22
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Please report issues to management next time if you have a concern. It is too late at the end of your stay to lodge a complaint as we cannot assist after you have left! Kind regards Michael Boyd

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

- [ ] Always a huge queue on reception, only ever one person covering for everyone who stays here - [ ] Terrible smell throughout my stay, especially in the corridor - [ ] A mouse in our room and in the neighbours room, one morning the whole floor had to be relocated to try and clean and remove the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy E
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am confused as to your comments about reception as we always have 2-3 people on the desk. I have had no complaints about WI FI in recent memory either. I would suggest next time if you have an issue that you report it during your stay and not after you have left as we...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Discovery is: paid lockers, paid wifi and the tiniest rooms I have ever encountered. Also there is no place really to hang out after 10pm because at this time they shut the only nice place in the hostel - the rooftop. Yes there is breakfast. On Saturdays though the breakfast ends an hour earlier - Coincidentally also the biggest travel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joey K
Michael B, Manager at Discovery Melbourne, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Lockers will remain a paid service just as they are at airports and bus stations all around the world etc. There is a cost for luggage security. And it is a small cost. The majority of our patrons are more than happy to pay for secure storage. The same applies to WI FI. We do...

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
373 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 126 in Melbourne
474 reviews
Home at The Mansion
#45 of 126 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#99 of 126 in Melbourne
141 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#23 of 126 in Melbourne
392 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#32 of 126 in Melbourne
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersSilver level
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discovery Melbourne is a large city backpackers conveniently located right in the heart of the Melbourne CBD. Enjoy a free breakfast each day between 7am - 9am, newly installed Global Gossips Wifi throughout the Entire Buidling, and if your stay with us for 14 or more consecutive nights, a FREE airport pick up from Tullamarine. (*Conditions apply.) Features include a basement bar, cafe, cinema, job & travel agencies, rooftop with BBQ's and 24 hour reception with great local staff.For travellers looking to share accommodation we have 4, 6 & 8 share dorms and also 10 - 16 share dorms for those looking for an even cheaper option. For those wanting some privacy we also have basic private double, twin & family rooms. All rooms have shared bathroom facilities, heating and linen.Our Events Program offers guests many opportunities to explore and make friends! Discover amazing street art & hidden secrets on our free walking tours & head out of the city on our free markets & beach bus tours! Our bar The New Disco Bar has cheap drink specials including Happy Hour until 8pm from Wednesday - Saturday! Great DJ's get the dance floor pumping and a huge range of events, such as Poker nights, Minute to Win it and Ladies night on a friday. If it's great coffee & food you're after, the chefs at our licensed cafe serve up delicious food 7 days a week including all day breakfast and some of the best pizzas in town! Our fantastic Melbournian staff will make you feel right at home 24/7 Our overnight security, CCTV, lockers and swipe card access will ensure you and your belongings are safe! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Melbourne

Address: 167 - 175 Franklin St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $35 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Melbourne 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Ipoh, Malaysia
9 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Melbourne staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd and 4th floor are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles P9614SXmarianal, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“small rooms”
 of 5 bubbles joeyk769, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles pkearns401, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only one set of plug sockets ”
 of 5 bubbles A7279ELmikes, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in a 16 bed dorm.. ask for an extra sheet and put up a sheet so u have a little privacy. Unlucky if someone snores. ”
 of 5 bubbles ellies954, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5