We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Space Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

768 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Space Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 677: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 11 May 2015

The hotel was clean, with basic facilities. Huge kitchen area for cooking, with washing machine & dryer. Quite away from city center (a little bit of walking required), but very near Lygon Street for Italian restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Subashini L
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you took to leave us a review, and for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel. Our dedicated housekeeping team work very hard to ensure the building is kept clean at all times and always love to hear positive feedback so I will be sure to relay your review to them. We hope to...

Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

To find something so well priced with a balcony and spa and good location in melbourne isn't easy. This little gem was awesome and more than expected. Wish we could stay longer. Very clean.. only negative was hard pillow but that's minor given the rest was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ulyssian80
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel, so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that we exceeded your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to Space Hotel for another memorable visit.

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I had to be in Melbourne to sit for an exam and wanted an affordable room close to the exam venue and has a study table. I booked a single room (but was given a twin room, which is nice). The room had two beds and one table and a few power points. Toilets and showers are in the common...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BelBKL
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at Space Hotel and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and the facilities available within our twin rooms. Our communal bathrooms are cleaned at least 5 times a day; we appreciate at peak times they can get messy. For any future stays...

Reviewed 10 April 2015

We stayed at the Space Hotel for a few days while in Melbourne. The hotel is nice, clean, and in a great location for the CBD; just one block away from the free tram zone. The bathrooms are shared with the rest of your floor, but thankfully are individual private rooms. The only negative is that the bathrooms were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback, your comments regarding the service you received from our staff is truly appreciated and has been passed on with thanks. We are aware that at peak times the bathrooms can get messy, additional cleaning can always be arranged at reception when needed. Many thanks for choosing to stay with us...

Shanghai, China
Reviewed 9 April 2015

This is the best ever hostel I have ever stayed. First, the location is strategic, only 500 meter on foot to the famous free tram stop 35, which is super convenient for travellers to visit CBD area. Second, the check in and out is very smooth and swift, in the time of check in, welcome with smile s given, and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lz s
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review, so glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and our central location within the CBD area. Very sorry to hear about your missing milk,we hope to welcome you back to Space Hotel in the future.

Burnley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2015

Space Hotel was recommended by a girl I met earlier in my travels and I'm glad she did. I arranged to stay in a female only (after some not so great experiences in mixed dorms at other hostels) 6 bed dorm. Each person has a locker in room with enough space for backpack plus and a plug socket, TOWEL!! (such...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hbmort12
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

We thank you for your recommendations, it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the facilities we have available in our dorm rooms. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our staff who work very hard to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 April 2015

I stayed here for a week. I thought I would have jet-lag, so I shelled out for a single room. This came complete with a TV and alarm clock. It was a tiny space, but the air-con worked a treat, and the communal bathrooms were clean and numerous. The location is perfect; walking distance to everything worth walking to, and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank abigoodfellow
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and took advantage of all the facilities we have to offer. You may be interested to know that we are currently in the process of updating our WiFi so this should longer be an issue for guests. We hope...

Reviewed 5 April 2015

So perfect. Was the best backpacker we ever stay! It might be a bit more expensive than the cheapest one but its worth it. Its like a real hotel, the kitchen is amazing. The service and staff is amazing dont hesitate to tell them if there is noise or anything wrong they will take care of it in the minute....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank valandjaz
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. The staff love to hear our guests have enjoyed their time with us and the facilities we have available. We have a great team here and we certainly love what we do. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to them. We look forward to seeing...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2015

I've stayed in some amazing hostels in my years of travelling through Europe and Australia and I can safely say this is the NOT one of them. Space Hotel (hotel, really? lol) is terrible. They promote themselves as a luxury hostel or poshtel which just makes me laugh bahahaha. I usually don't write reviews unless I feel something is a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Preeti S
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your detailed review constructive review, I was sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us. I was surprised to hear that you did not receive good customer service from our reception staff as we constantly receive positive feedback from our guests, on this occasion this was obviously not the case and for...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2015

There's lots of great things to say about this hostel. Beds (I stayed in a bunk) were comfy and sturdy. I could feel it when the guy above me moved, but only minimally. Lockers provided with good security. There were female dorms and mixed dorms. I was in the mixed dorm and it was just fine. Bathrooms were individual in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marlablue75
Space-Melb, Public Relations Manager at Space Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you enjoyed our central location and took advantage of all the facilities we have to offer. We hope to impress you again on a future visit.

377 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (121)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (70)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (149)
Viewed
6-Person Bunk Room (12)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Communal Bathrooms (4)
Viewed
Excutive Queen Room (20)
Viewed
Hot Tub (27)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (107)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (41)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 158 in Melbourne
373 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 158 in Melbourne
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
1,335 reviews
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Space Hotel is where luxury meets budget. Being a traveler doesn’t mean you have to choose between a great experience and a good night’s sleep. At Space Hotel, you can have both. Enjoy modern, comfortable accommodation right between the vibrant Melbourne CBD and Lygon St, the city’s most famous restaurant & bars district. Relax, have fun and explore, it’s your space to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Space Hotel

Address: 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $37 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Space Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Space Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Space Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Space Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Everyone room was superb. I hopped between a few different ones, all just as good!”
 of 5 bubbles derekmQ6207PE, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Wear pants to the shared toilets at night, it can get embarrassing otherwise”
 of 5 bubbles Josh_Thump, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms near Flinders Street Station are more convience”
 of 5 bubbles 140ritah, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“6 bed dorms but ensure they are clean!”
 of 5 bubbles 276tejasp, 5 Jul 2016 | Read review
“High floors!”
 of 5 bubbles lucianoferro61, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5