We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Carlton Clocktower Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Carlton Clocktower Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 69: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 19 June 2016

The location is the highlight of this place. It's right near Lygon Street, and Melbourne Uni. That's where the highlights stop. The reception is a tiny shopfront, no facilities, such as bathrooms handy. Once you've got your keys the fun really begins. Finding your room in the maze of possibilities. You know what would help, a map. A map as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LambsySydney
Hoi An
Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

A father in law near death was not enough to get a refund when we were unable to visit. Even with three days notice. Policy is no substitute for such an appalling attitude. Add the distress of the events taking place to such callous money grabbing attitude and you would touch this place with a forty foot pole.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rodhall3199
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

Our family of five stayed here for one night and left feeling extremely disappointed with the way we were treated by staff. Extra charges to our credit card which have not been accounted for make me question the integrity of this establishment. My request for a receipt detailing extra charges has been unanswered by the manager. I would not recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emma h
questclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review although it does leave me and the staff somewhat dismayed as we have sent you two copies of the tax invoice concerned along with a lengthy explanation of the charges incurred by you whilst at the property. I am disappointed too that you did not publish here the complimentary car park you enjoyed during your...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We stayed at the Clocktower for four nights in early May 2016 and had a great time. I think it was about our eighth stay over several years. Again we were very pleased we stayed there. Our unit had a very nice brand new bathroom and the whole unit was fitted out with everything couple would need. Plenty of room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaddyandHorrie
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

Booked a four night stay in May. The location is fabulous - access to Lygon St, close to the vibrant cafes etc. It is really handy to have the car park underneath and access to public transport. There is no getting around the fact that the apartments are old fashioned and need renovating. The one we stayed in had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fizzy P
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016

This apartment is right on Lygon Street with great restaurants etc and close to the city. Our apartment was huge, well equipped with even our washing machine and dryer. The staff are terrific with a great knowledge of Carlton and Melbourne - very helpful

 Report
Helpful?
Thank priesttheos
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 18 April 2016

I was in Melbourne on a girls weekend so this location and price range suited 3 girls wanting to stay central, and move around. The location is fantastic, with a pathway right onto Lygon Street. You're within seconds of food, beverage and retail - heaven! But I have to say even though the staff were delightful the rooms need a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rebecca h
Salamander Bay, Australia
Reviewed 17 April 2016

Dingy, noisy, poorly equipped, old-fashioned, desperately in need of renovation and modernisation. Furniture appears to have been bought cheaply on eBay. I wonder when the place last saw a lick of paint. Some time in the 1970s perhaps? I'd be be surprised if anyone ever comes back. The convenient location, close to Lyon Street shops, restaurants and cafes, does little...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John L
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2016

We would not recommend to stay at this Hotel. Extremely poor communication and help at Reception regarding the carpark and getting a refund. Room was dirty, absolutely stunk inside. Tried to open windows for fresh air and they would not stay open. Propped up one window with egg scraper from dirty kitchen draw. Egg scraper had food on it. Bed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank DaveyStephen
questclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property although your review is disappointing in its exaggerations and inaccuracies. The nasty looking bin in the photograph is two stories below the apartments in the public walkway to the street and is the responsibility of the owners corporation - not the hotel. Inner city car parking is at a premium...

Faversham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

We booked here for 3 nights with our friends , the booking was in their name , we had to get out after the first night , would have left sooner but our arrival was late afternoon , apart from the electrical problems it wasn't very clean ,the carpet was stained , dirty marks and dust on the hairdryer ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belinda C
questclocktower, Front Office Manager at Carlton Clocktower Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and thank you too for bringing the electrical issue to our attention which has now been fixed. The electrician tells me that at no time was anyone in danger as the issue was between the apartment fuse box and the main. Thank you for raising the housekeeping issues which have allowed us to...

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Lygon Street
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Travel Inn Hotel
Lygon Street
Lygon Lodge Carlton
Lygon Lodge Carlton
#117 of 157 in Melbourne
112 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#81 of 157 in Melbourne
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rydges on Swanston Melbourne
#95 of 157 in Melbourne
251 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#83 of 157 in Melbourne
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Lygon Street

Neighbourhood Profile
Lygon Street
If you want real parmesan, cut from the block, grated over your pasta with a twist of style, this is the place. Until recently, this neighbourhood was home to the notorious ‘Carlton Crew,’ a pseudo mafia who started their day with a local espresso. They are gone, but the espresso still runs strong in this Little Italy which has something for everyone. Starched white tablecloths, candles, pizza the way they do it "back home" and maybe even a bit of amore. The number of gelato choices will leave you in a state of indecision and wide footpaths, big awnings and a sea of packed tables makes this al fresco dining experience a continental buzz. Even if you’re not eating, it’s worth the stroll just for the people-watching, which, of course, is an Italian tradition.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carlton Clocktower Apartments is location, location, location, and is situated in the heart of Carlton's famous Lygon Street precinct - Australia's restaurant capital - where cosmopolitan charm and lifestyle is evident in the range of over 300 shops, cafes and restaurants on offer, which will tempt all of your senses and leave long lasting impressions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carlton Clocktower Apartments

Address: 255 Drummond St, Melbourne, Victoria 3053, Australia (Formerly Quest Carlton Clocktower)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Lygon Street
Price Range: $149 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Clocktower Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Clocktower Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quest Carlton Clocktower Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#111 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Carlton Clocktower Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take a torch if you're checking in at night, it's dark and hard to find the rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles LambsySydney, 18 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Higher rooms have a bit of a view”
 of 5 bubbles priesttheos, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Renovated inner apartment”
 of 5 bubbles ahar0nd, 1 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The rooms and outlook are nothing special but if you're just after a bed at the end of the day its okay and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewSullivan6160, 4 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Request a unit in the main clocktower building above the ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 977warrenm, 5 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay