We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alto Hotel on Bourke

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Alto Hotel on Bourke
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,427 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Alto Hotel on Bourke
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,380: English reviews
Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 10 November 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week in a 3 bed apartment. For the price we were expecting a large space for all to enjoy but were very disappointed. The entire apartment was in need of a better clean with dust on all surfaces, messages from previous guests on the mirrors and random false lashes in barhroom sinks. We found some staff...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Jude M
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

We are proud of the quality our housekeeping & guest service teams deliver. However is seems that on this occasion we have missed the mark. Not our usual standard, but not acceptable if our guests are not satisfied. A lecture would not have been intended regarding access to the nearby state of the art gym. However due the arrangement we...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 9 November 2014

I really have no idea how or why this hotel has been so highly rated. Its location is undeniably central but that's about the only plus. This is very much a budget hotel, not as good as IBIS or Holiday Inn, very poor facilities, virtually nothing on site. It is a budget offering for a luxury hotel price. Some staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Max E
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

We are disappointed that our range of facilities did not suit. Being a small hotel we try to offer as much as possible including restaurant for Breakfast & Dinner, Bar, Library, Car parking, Relaxation room with automatic massage chairs, free WiFi, Foxtel / Cable TV with 120+ channels, LED TVs that connect to your phone or tablet to play your...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2014

The building was home to the Victorian Railways Union and then converted into a lovely hotel. From the moment we checked in, there was not one thing the staff would not do for you. Any question about what to do, opening times of attractions, how you wanted for food cooked was always responded too well. The beds were extra comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Tony_Sinclair
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 9 November 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Alto on Bourke Street in Melbourne for a few days . I would have to say it was amazing. The staff are very friendly and are wanting to make your stay an experience without being pushy. The room was clean and generously sized, the fridge in the room we stayed in actually keeps...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nesski78
Reviewed 8 November 2014

we stayed here for the international convention of Jehovah's Witnesses in October 2014 we enjoyed our stay very much very friendly staff, excellent breakfast, excellent beds, very close to the train station and stadium

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Charlie0788
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 8 November 2014

Everything about this hotel exceeded our expectations. The wifi was good, there are so many cable channels to watched and the location is excellent. This was our third time staying at this hotel . Will definitely stay at this hotel again when we come back to visit Melbourne.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LindaA2611
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 November 2014

I stayed in a studio room with my daughter for 3 nights. The room was compact but very comfortable and clean. The bed was by far the most comfortable I've ever slept in - bliss after a day out walking the city. Was a short walk from the skybus terminal and the staff were all without exception, friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Linden06
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 31 October 2014

The upside... The location is very central The staff are extremely lovely and accommodating The rooms are well maintained The downside... One bedroom apartments are all right on Bourke Street. Despite the double glazing the noise from the trams outside is likely to keep you awake for much of the night. There was a club nearby that was playing loud...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ejcav
AltoMelbourne, General Manager at Alto Hotel on Bourke, responded to this review

I am disappointed to see that we have not met expectations in all areas. We have inspected the sofa bed. While the inner spring mattress is a high standard the design of the frame aims to avoid the common fault of sofa beds to have a dip in the middle by using 2 supporting arms. While there was no obvious...

Reviewed 30 October 2014 via mobile

Really nice place to stay...very handly location just near the train station and there are lota of cabs on the main street. The restuarant is nice also but not alot of food selection...i have stayed there 3 or 4 times for about 5days and the menu was almost the same everytime. There is free coffee and hot chochlate for hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ishy999
Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2014

I recently booked a Sunday night in a studio room and was upgraded to a two bedroom apartment. This was uneccessary as a solo guest but a nice surprise especially as I often travel with my young family and was curious as to whether the apartment would be suitable for us. I also paid $10 extra when booking for breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MaisieGus

1,076 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (195)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:37
Videos (5)
Viewed
Other (62)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (832)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Apartment #113 (135)
Viewed
1 Bedroom Apartment #201 (164)
Viewed
2 Bedroom Loft Apartment (179)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Hotel Room (100)
Viewed
Dining (39)
Viewed
Studio Apartment (94)
Viewed
The Hotel (78)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4,986 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#37 of 157 in Melbourne
1,295 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#30 of 157 in Melbourne
2,209 reviews
Central Business District
The Sebel Melbourne Flinders Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Melbourne's multi-award winning 4 star eco-friendly boutique apartment hotel that is Carbon Neutral, Green Star and Green Globe accredited.Located in the centre of Melbourne city within a 2 minute walk of the airport express shuttle, shopping, train station and free tram zone. Easy walk to major attractions. Features include rooms, studios & apartments, restaurant & bar, library & book exchange with complimentary espresso coffee, car parking, gym access, massage room & free wifi internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alto Hotel on Bourke

Address: 636 Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $181 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alto Hotel on Bourke 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Alto Hotel on Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alto Hotel Melbourne
Alto Bourke
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#9 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alto Hotel on Bourke staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Alto Hotel on Bourke staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was facing other buildings, some traffic, no sound interference”
 of 5 bubbles 188lindae, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“front rooms are noisy”
 of 5 bubbles iaink2017, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“For family It's”
 of 5 bubbles Gayathri81, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room.”
 of 5 bubbles quilla63, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“all of the rooms are pretty good that I have been in. the front room over looking bourke st has a stained glass window.”
 of 5 bubbles 772terryd, 20 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay