We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}
    Neighbourhoods
    Neighbourhoods

    Hotel Sophia

    277 King St | Box 14116, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/2017Check In 30/10/2017Check Out
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    US$62
    US$60
    SAVE US$2
    US$61
    US$60
    Traveller (123)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (10)
    Overview
    • Excellent16%
    • Very good32%
    • Average19%
    • Poor12%
    • Terrible21%
    Travellers talk about
    “plunger coffee” (15 reviews)
    “king st” (10 reviews)
    Wifi
    Breakfast Buffet
    Air Conditioning
    Non-Smoking Rooms
    Restaurant
    Bar/Lounge
    Room Service
    Wheelchair Access
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    • Check booking site for details
      US$60
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$61
      View Deal
    • Check booking site for details
      US$60
      View Deal
    View all 18 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (607)
    There are newer reviews for Hotel Sophia
    See the most recent reviews
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • More languages

    221 - 225 of 570 reviews

    Reviewed 15 July 2014

    I booked this hotel for two nights in July and managed to stay for one, I did my money on the second night and booked myself into a real hotel. A queen sized bed was squeezed into a single room which was no more than...More

    5  Thank Angus G
    Reviewed 12 July 2014

    We were made to wait in reception for nearly 15 minutes before someone came to allow us to book in. The room was tiny, needed maintenance. There was a light that shone through our window, even with the blind down and via the hallway through...More

    5  Thank Trisha C
    Reviewed 3 July 2014

    I did nor expect much so I was grateful for staying here as it more than met my needs. Apart from the downer of strict 3pm check ins and no lounge space to hang out on a cold winter morning (which helped turn my cold...More

    4  Thank Carl G
    Reviewed 26 June 2014

    I stayed here in February and I could not complain about this accommodation perfect room perfect area perfect service will be staying here again and again meets all my needs for a great holiday the restaurant was great meals enjoyable staff and the prices were...More

    1  Thank Rachaelcheala
    Reviewed 25 June 2014

    Had a great four nights at this hotel. Room was very clean and comfortable, room service was above and beyond what was expected (the after dinner mints left with the towels in the morning were delightful). WiFi connection was a mere $1 per hour, breakfast...More

    Thank Lusky49
    Pegasus Apart'Hotel
    3,293 reviews
    #40 of 162 hotels in Melbourne
     
    Atlantis Hotel
    1,883 reviews
    #98 of 162 hotels in Melbourne
     
    Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
    1,197 reviews
    #85 of 162 hotels in Melbourne
     
    Alto Hotel on Bourke
    1,556 reviews
    #10 of 162 hotels in Melbourne
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    • Things to do
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$38 - US$194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #115 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 49
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Sophia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • Australia >
    • Victoria >
    • Melbourne >
    • Central Business District
    • Also Known As
    • Sophia Hotel Melbourne
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (123)
    Room & Suite (38)
    Dining (10)
    Hotel & Grounds (69)
    Bathroom (7)
    Nearby
    Central Business District
    Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways
    tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary
    feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the
    city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques,
    throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You
    never quite know what you’ll find around the next
    corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and
    even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air
    ...More
    Alto Hotel on Bourke
    1,556 reviews
    .30 km away
     
    Atlantis Hotel
    1,883 reviews
    .22 km away
     
    Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
    1,197 reviews
    .20 km away
     
    Pegasus Apart'Hotel
    3,293 reviews
    .44 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    City Grill Room
    114 reviews
    .15 km away
    Suda
    20 reviews
    .11 km away
    Angliss
    23 reviews
    .13 km away
    The Brass Coq
    17 reviews
    .13 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Flagstaff Gardens
    160 reviews
    .46 km away
    Hellenic Museum
    40 reviews
    .27 km away
    St. Augustine Church
    24 reviews
    .34 km away
    Koori Heritage Trust
    21 reviews
    .05 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    TonygMildura
    20 June 2017|
    AnswerShow all 4 answers
    Response from TonygMildura | Reviewed this property |
    They took $150 from my credit card account, i only found out after i did a routine check of my account. I wasn't told about this upon checking in.We stayed 2 nights, & on checking out was told, that refund will take up to 5... More
    1
    Vote
    Kevinmalta22
    29 May 2015|
    AnswerShow all 3 answers
    Response from Capehorn2 | Reviewed this property |
    They are just arrogant Contact your credit card provider - tell them you have been incorrectly charged
    0
    Votes
    emothedemo
    5 September 2014|
    AnswerShow all 10 answers
    Response from Carl G | Reviewed this property |
    Gday. I think they have a policy of a deposit taken from the credit card for everyone which is held. I checked my bank online and it was taken as "pending", but never went through as a charge. But ask them if youre unsure. I... More
    1
    Vote
    Room Tips
    "If there's no one at the reception, you could ring the bell and if that doesn't help call the..."
    Read review
    "There is no radio in the room just in case you need an alarm."
    Read review
    "Get the suite room, it is bigger and better"
    Read review
    "Do not choose this hotel"
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing