We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks on Market

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oaks on Market
View Map
{"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,100 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Oaks on Market
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,065: English reviews
Phuket, Thailand
Reviewed 17 August 2015

I recently stayed at Oaks Market Street with my wife as a base for exploring the sights of Melbourne and was not dissappointed. From the time we walked in until the time we left it felt like home. Every staff member we encountered was efficient and genuinely friendly and seemed to really enjoy their job (especially Kara on reception). Our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ThankyouPhuket
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that we were able to offer you and your wife a home away from home. Thanks again for your comments and rest assured that we will duly share them with all our staff. See you back soon Regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 August 2015

My wife and I stayed here one night in July. Its a convenient walk across to Crown and not far to the Flinders Street Station if you are meeting people or eating/drinking in that part of the city. We walked to Hardware lane, an old favourite. Rooms were fine although I had trouble getting the aircon to do anything other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrianH40
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our property, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building, yet disappointed that we were not able to tick every box. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards

Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

Standard hotel facilities, free wifi for 30minute, no slippery is provided, no hair cap, but this hotel provide mini kitchen with all kitchenware, spoon an fork, electric stove, microwave, refrigerator,and plate. Very near from collins st tram ( free tram for city area )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hendry L
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for reviewing Oaks on Market, although we don’t exceeded your expectations we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back. Regards

South Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015

- Quite an average stay to be honest. - Good location. - Poor customer service. - Nosy room - Room keys failed to work, made to wait at the unattended counter for 5-10 minutes, no bell, no sign, no apology. All I wanted to do was go to sleep! - Your basic accommodation with a hefty price, lucky I didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank FREEDOM0710
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, indeed we a blessed with an amazing location, however the location is only a factor towards the making of a great hotel. In our eyes customer service is the main attribute; and for this reason we are truly sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations. At Oaks on Market we...

Reviewed 12 August 2015

Oaks on Market is in a very convenient location to see a football game at Etihad stadium and also a short tram ride or walk from the the airport bus terminal. The rooms are large and it is good value for money, though you do get what you pay for, without the polish of a more upmarket hotel, though the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra B
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest , Thank you for taking the time to review our property, although we are glad that you enjoyed our location and the value for money that we offer, we are disappointed that you experienced some issues with hot water, recently we upgraded all our water valves and perhaps some still require some fine tuning. Thanks again for the...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 August 2015

stayed for 1 night and upon check in, the receptionist asked for a credit card to place a holder of $150. what she didn't say is this would actually be debited from my account. upon phoning 3 days later to find out why they've actually taken the money off my card, I got a arrogant lady who decided to argue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bretherton29
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback; although we are extremely glad that you enjoyed our nice, clean and comfortable rooms; we are terribly disappointed that our customer service let us down; more so as this is one of the most recognised aspects of our property and mentioned time and time again by...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Great location, clean, affordable middle range price. ($138pn online). Studio rooms have everything you need. Staff were fantastic and and very helpful. Very close to Southbank/city centre/theatres and free Trams. Would stay there again

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janine T
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed the location of our building, our rooms and our staff customer service. Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you back soon. Regards

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015

I booked a studio room a few weeks in advance for my trip. I found out 2 days before my stay that the prices had drop from $450 for a 2 night stay to $278 for the same dates. So my stay started off with me feeling cheated. This was topped off with poor customer service at reception at both...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank blueskies0814
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are truly disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations, especially in regards to our customer service. Thanks again for your comments and apologies for the inconvenience caused. Regards

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Like other reviewers, I was unaware there was a gym and pool. I Also was unable to adjust room temperature beyond 20 degrees, which really makes for an uncomfortable night. TV remote didn't work properly so I couldn't change channels or volume. I still dont know if the hotel even serves breakfast. On the plus side, bed was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the to review our property, as per our website and other OTA our property has many facilities including, pool & gym and two licensed restaurants, furthermore these and other services are clearly advertised on all our welcome letters as well as across our property, please accept our apologies if these were not made clear...

Melbourne
Reviewed 3 August 2015

I stayed for three nights recently for a mix of business and family holiday. This is a very average property with rooms that are in imminent need of renovation (I stayed in 1506 and 1001 and found both to be very tired looking rooms) Cleaning was hit and miss (dirty kitchen bench in 1001 and missing toiletries), amenities are below...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TruffleQueen
OaksMarket, General Manager at Oaks on Market, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we are extremely disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations. Although there were challenges with your booking; three different reservations one for each night in different room types (hence the requirement to sign a registration card every day), we have no excuses for...

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (274)
Viewed
Room/Suite (82)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (109)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 158 in Melbourne
1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#39 of 158 in Melbourne
1,338 reviews
Central Business District
Clarion Suites Gateway
Clarion Suites Gateway
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#79 of 158 in Melbourne
829 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Central Business District

Neighbourhood Profile
Central Business District
Full of discovery and delight, Melbourne’s laneways tease the imagination long after you’ve put your weary feet up to rest. They weave through the heart of the city: cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques, throbbing with conversation and espresso coffee. You never quite know what you’ll find around the next corner: cobblestone alleys, old beer barrel hoists and even vats of simmering organic soup. There is the air of Berlin in the street art, a touch of Paris in the umbrella-shaded cafes and, reminiscent of Rome, eateries tucked away in the most unlikely of places. Perhaps you might want a break and cross the Yarra River to Southbank - walk along the promenade, bask in the sun at a waterside bar and decide whether to go to the nearby casino or book a ticket at the Melbourne theatre company.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks on Market is a centrally located Melbourne accommodation, offering easy access to Melbourne's attractions: shopping, theatres, dining and entertainment, as well as proximity to the legal and financial precincts. Oaks On Market comprises 280 luxuriously appointed Studio, 1 and 2 bedroom fully self-contained apartments. All rooms have brand new 32-inch flat screen TVs, sofas and contemporary artwork. Some rooms have views over the Yarra River and guests can also enjoy individual stereo systems, climate control, access to the indoor heated lap pool, fully equipped gym, spa and sauna. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks on Market

Address: 60 Market St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Price Range: $153 - $427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks on Market 4*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Oaks on Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks On Market Melbourne
Oaks On Market Hotel Melbourne
Hotel Style:
#61 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks on Market staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks on Market staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Melbourne, CBD hotels”
 of 5 bubbles jyotid37, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid high floors otherwise you'll be forever waiting for a lift”
 of 5 bubbles MacRS4, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a city view, at night it is lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles jacquinashau, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles andykimpton62, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“one bedroom or deluxe room because there are enough toilet for you”
 of 5 bubbles PhanomJ, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5