We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mountway Holiday Apartments

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mountway Holiday Apartments
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Mountway Holiday Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Showing 275: English reviews
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Very basic accomodation but perfectly adequate. Unfortunately Perth is very expensive when it comes to hotels so this seemed like very good option. Yes it is a little run down and a bit tatty but it is more than adequate for a good nights sleep and to have all you cooking facilities at hand. Parking can be a little busy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Choop84
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a family room for 5 nights. Room was small and the blinds on the windows were falling to pieces so we had to cover the windows with a sheet. One of the mattresses was really thin foam and very uncomfortable. Other than that it had everything you need for a short stay and was only 5 mins from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elmzie
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

We dispute the blinds are falling apart, but we understand some people want to stretch the truth. The truth is the family of 5 is not suitable for 5 adults and is really intended for mum dad and 3 children. But we do not discriminate when people book, we just advise them accordingly. Sometimes its not what we were expecting...

Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Old and tired, not particularly well cleaned, peeling paint and cockroachs in the kitchen. Overwhelming traffic noise and heavy smell (ie old tobacco and takeaways!). Overpriced for such shoddy accommodation. Would not recommend it no matte how desperate you are!

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank fluffyfluffikins
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We understand.... and if you are desperate we recommend Jawell House on Goderich Street. For half the price you can share a shower and kitchen with randoms. Alternatively the hotel over the bridge is double the price and no kitchen. For some reason Mountway is almost fully booked almost all the time... J

Kalamunda, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My friend from UK & I stopped for 3 nights & were pleased with the pricing & accommodation. Everything we needed was provided, would certainly stop here again. Staff friendly & always helpful. Agree with some of the reviews about being in need of modernisation but for the price , it was great to be so close to Perth. Found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa K
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewed 23 April 2013

This is situated close to CBD. It has all the facility in a cheaper rate. Bedroom, kitchen, Bathroom all the in a very good condition. Rooms are fully firnished with A.C. Refrigerator, Iron and all... It is the best palce to live in Perth Australia in minimal cost. Behaviour of staffs are also very humble & polite.... Thanks, Rahul

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rahul06301
East Sussex
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The saying goes 'You get what you pay for'. In this case I still feel I was overcharged. Arrived very late and very tired with no other option but to stay that night. We had booked to stay a further 3 nights but checked out by 10am. The one good thing was the lady on reception who processed our refund...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ju-ju60
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Your comments are appreciated. We know it's not everyones 'cup of tea', and if you want cheaper we recommend Jaiell House where you can pay half the price and share a dorm, kitchen and bathroom with randoms. We introduced the "no questions asked" refund policy as we understand people's plans can change. There is alway a steady flow of guests...

Port Stephens, Australia
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Booked online. Little relation between description and fact. Old, outdated, in desperate need of either renovation or demolition. Chipped stained paint throughout, broken tiles in bathroom, unsafe slippery shower over bath with no non slip mat supplied. Our room had 1 [uncomfortable] double bed and 2 singles [all with mismatched linen], 1 bedside table with light [yayy on my side...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Sally F
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments which are appreciated. We do encourage people to book online once they have firm plans, because it saves you the cost of a telephone call. Yes the building is in need of renovation so we are starting tomorrow with apartment 408. The kitchens will be totally rebuilt, although the Metters sinks will be staying as...

Manchester, UK
Reviewed 25 March 2013

The apartment was cheap but the room was really dark and not very clean. The kitchen only had a one ring plug in hob fridge and a microwave. There were also BBQ facilities. On one of the days the shower spewed mud, which I think was due to roadworks but the staff didn't let us know or even mention it....

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank AlexandKev
John B, General Manager at Mountway Holiday Apartments, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes it's the most affordable accommodation in Perth. "Dark" well yes it is but there is electric lighting available and included in the tariff. You might not have noticed the electric kettle, toaster, rice cooker and electric fry pan (you can roast a small turkey in that). These items are in the tall cupboard in...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Staying at the Mountway Holiday Apartments suited us perfectly.....a large group of 15 there for a Wedding. A big "thank-you" to the staff for sorting out a few booking problems....will know next time to book direct with Mountway!!! Perfect location on the edge of the city, and just a quick walk to Kings park. Whilst it's not "the Ritz", our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank brucetrip
Noosa, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2013

My stay was for business & the location was excellent - only a few minutes walk across the bridge & I was in the city. I stayed in a studio apartment & appreciated the larger room & the flexibility of being able to prepare my own meals - especially breakfast. Staff were very friendly & helpful & the Mountway city...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ComunicationComando

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Hay Street Traveller's Inn
Perth CBD
Comfort Inn Wentworth Plaza
Perth CBD
The Great Southern Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#63 of 81 in Perth
146 reviews
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in picturesque Mount Street between Kings Park and the City, adjacent to the Swan River, sixty-nine studio apartments with elevator to all levels. Each apartment is fully self-contained, with kitchen, private bathroom. Linen, blankets, crockery and cutlery supplied. Digital Television with free FOXTEL. Reverse cycle Air-conditioning. Most apartments have wide city views from balconies. Some spectacular river views are available from several vantage points. Walk to the city and business locations in a few minutes. We are close to restaurants and entertainment, bus-port and free CAT bus. PERTH CONVENTION EXHIBITION CENTRE is a 7 minute walk. For business or leisure, Mountway is the ideal location. Facilities include pantry shopping, wireless internet service, and token operated laundry. The extensive out-door Barbecue area is available 'Free to Guest'. Your hosts John & Sue Bergin welcome you to Perth Western Australia. Mountway is suitable for all travelers who want short to medium term budget 2.5 star self-catering, studio style apartments in West Perth Western Australia. NOTE: Mountway is located in West Perth 6005 but it's only a 1 minute walk to the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mountway Holiday Apartments

Address: 36 Mount St | West Perth, Perth, Western Australia 6005, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range: $83 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mountway Holiday Apartments 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountway Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountway Holiday Apartments Perth
Mountway Holiday Apartments Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mountway Holiday Apartments staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Mountway Holiday Apartments staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles noelj747, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Dont expect the Hilton , its an old building but clean.”
 of 5 bubbles Photographer892, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here”
 of 5 bubbles csprau88, 23 May 2016 | Read review
“Recommend against staying here”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgePortland_OR, 13 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Mine was 301. Amazing views...remember this is a CHEAP place to stay, but noisy!”
  • Kitchen
  • really impressive views from rooms ending w 01
 of 5 bubbles RakkiToo, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5