We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Alderney on Hay

Save
Share
193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004 Australia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (44)
Room & Suite (29)
Dining (7)

About

#69 of 72 hotels in Perth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre. Our 4 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with free WiFi, dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line, private balcony and to top it off free parking - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Coffee shop
Books, DVDs, music for children
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Paid private parking nearby
Car park
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Vending machine
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
ATM on site
First aid kit
Clothes dryer
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Dining area
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Safe
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Sinhala
321Reviews10Q+A60Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 76
  • 61
  • 47
  • 84
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
gds199 wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia204 contributions69 helpful votes
I wish management will read this review and fix their attitude! *Check in:* We arrived on a Friday around 7pm and got our keys via the lockbox. Only one of the two keycards worked on the lift. Upon finding our room, the functioning key card did not work either. What to do? There was young man cleaning up, and we approached him. He was very very friendly and understanding. He opened the room for us with his access card and said he will get out cards fixed. His name was Kieren. He had excellent customer service attitude! I entered the room and in front of me was a little girl, starring, shocked and frightened to see me! It was clearly the wrong room..! The parents of that family were in the adjoining room, and they settled the little girl. Luckily Kieren was still there and seeing the situation, he made several phone calls. It turns out the wrong room number was written on our card...He took us to the correct room (empty!). Phew! Kieren apologised profusely and we were very grateful he was there. *Room:* Large apartment with balcony. Separate bedroom with two way accessible large bathroom with separate toilet. Great hot water in shower! Room and lounge has aircon, which both worked very well. The TV in the lounge was small but worked. The blue 3 seater sofa was very old and very uncomfortable. The red single arm chairs were ok. Large kitchen with full utensils, cups, glasses, cookware, dinnerware etc. Microwave, stove, oven and large fridge. Tea, coffee and sugar was provided in standard quantities, however only a single serving of milk was provided. Behind the kitchen was a very generous laundry, with washer and dryer. Overall the room felt like a worn out cottage. No glamour or comfort, but functional. *Management* We were out by 9am on Saturday. The reception was closed when we left. Around 10am we received a text asking us to come to reception before 12noon. We had to adjust our travel plans to cater the management timelines! When we came in around 11am, the lady at reception had no idea of the ordeal with the wrong room. She processed the payment and that was her sole aim. She was not interested in hearing what happened. When we checked out on Sunday, again the guy at the reception checked all payments were done, and when we told him about the check in ordeal and our praise for Kieran, his response was "ok" while looking at the desk ... through one ear and out the other! That attitude of "take money" and no customer service whatsoever leaves the worst after taste of this place. We have to follow their times and rules and inconvenience ourselves to do as they say, and if any errors we make, we must pay, but if they stuff up we should just put up with it. That attitude is the sole reason I will not come here again. Kieran would run this place must better if they give him the chance.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Anthony, Guest Services / Front Office at Alderney on Hay
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Hi gds, Our previous response seems to not have gone through however. When inspecting the key card holder you have attempted to enter the wrong room and have assumed a code on your parking permit was your room number which it wasn't and Kieran apologized for his error in opening the wrong room to yourself and the occupying guests at a later time. Prior to your arrival you were sent the details and requirements for a late arrival which you agreed to. One of those requirements was to visit reception the next day during operation hours (not before or after) If these times did not meet your requirements they should have been brought up well before your arrival as you had this information weeks in advance. Each staff member reported your comments to upper management, advised you that they would pass on your comments however we are not sure what more you expected from them. The lady at the counter updated your keys as well as completed your check in while you complained and ensured she collected all details and submitted a report, The gentleman processed your check out and bond refunds and while trying to do everything in an efficient manner you continued your complaints which he also noted and submitted to management, i am not sure how this refers to in one ear and out the other but they clearly have not danced for you while doing their jobs in an appropriate manner. You have already been advised that you have been blacklisted from the property for your abusive nature towards staff members so we are glad to hear you are not returning and as previously advised to find a property more suitable that meets your requirements. We operate on limited hours hence why the rates are not as high as other properties operating 24/7 which should be self explanatory.
Read more
rochelle944 wrote a review Nov 2020
Bunbury46 contributions16 helpful votes
Stayed for one night can’t fault this hotel. Great room price and service once again. Will be back again in April. Highly recommend . Parking a bonus and convenient store good value. Thanks again for the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
JP wrote a review Sep 2020
Geraldton, Australia76 contributions30 helpful votes
Never in my life have I been this disappointed in an accommodation provider. 2 night stay Check in: We were sent confirmation via sms that we were required to check in before 4pm on our arrival. We attended at 2.30pm. The lockbox number we were provided was wrong and the person on duty had to provide us with a new one to get access to the key. He was very helpful, but made no mention of any paperwork we needed to sign. Full payment for the stay was taken approximately 7 weeks prior to the stay. The following day: We recieved a message on our message bank at 4.58pm to say we need to call them by 5pm. We returned the call straight away at 5.19pm when we saw we had a message. We were informed we need to present prior to 8pm to sign some forms and provide copies of our ID. We explained we were far away from the city and we had plans as we are on holidays and we wouldn’t be able to make it back in time but we could provide id and sign forms via email. We were told this was not possible and if we do not present before 8pm we will no longer have access to our room and we will be charged extra. We changed our plans and made it back just after 7pm. We Signed some paper forms and Ashan took a photo with a mobile phone of one of our drivers license. We explained to Ashan we were disappointed in how we have been treated as we had followed the instructions sent and we had to change our holiday plans to sign some paperwork. Ashan informed us that we should have received an email stating what we were required to do, which we advised him that we did not receive any emails only some sms. He advised us that no sms were sent. Even after showing him the sms we recieved he still denied that we had received any sms from Alderney on Hay. Check out: The Lady on duty couldn’t find the paperwork that we signed a mere 13hours earlier, but she was lovely and polite. This poor customer service portrays poor company values and really put a dampener on our holiday. I have never experienced such a painful ordeal with an accommodation provider. Management needs to reassess thier polices, procedures and processes and implement some major improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Anthony, Guest Services / Front Office at Alderney on Hay
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Dear JIC101, Please check again the documents that were sent to you, It clearly advises reception hours and that on Sundays it does close at 1pm, The lock box number was changed as you did not complete the credit card authorization documents for the late arrival which was sent to you through your booking agent as well as email, We do not send confirmations via text message either. It is also advised on the website you book that they will take the full accommodation at the time of the booking, This has nothing to do with the hotel itself and is the policy of the agent you booked through. You have contacted the after hours service for assistance and they have waived the $150.00 call out fee for you not providing the documents for After hours check in and assisted you to collect your keys as they were already on site. The next day the property has attempted to contact you at 10am, 12noon, 2pm and 4:30pm as you had still not come to reception to complete your check in. The staff member showed you the text was not that from the Alderney on Hay but from your booking company. Had you followed the correct procedures that were sent from you and arranged the late check in correctly you would not have had any issues and had you followed the instructions advising after collecting the keys from the After hours box to check in with reception during operating hours you would not have had to be inconvenienced with coming back to the property.
Read more
LWLoong wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
If you are a tourist, this place is NOT for you! Good luck if you come in after their reception hour of 7pm. They'll give you a code to get the keypass, but what they don't tell you is the keypass is good for one day even though you booked and paid in full for 4 nights. When you tried to get to your room the next day after reception hours, you will be LOCKED OUT! Calling the management results in some guy in pyjamas coming down to let you in and threatening to leave you in the streets! Complains to management is useless as they will claim it is a third party service. Icing of the cake is... this rude guy that came down in pyjamas will be charging $150 to my room and will be taken out of my deposit! I suspect this place is run by a family as they all speak poor English with a strong accent. You probably get better service if you speak the same language I guess! If you don't... then good luck!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Anthony, Guest Services / Front Office at Alderney on Hay
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Good Evening LainWLoong, Please note this Trip Advisor page is set up for Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. This is not the page for the privately managed apartments at the property which you have stayed in. Please always check you have the correct companies pages prior to writing reviews. P.s. Our staff members all speak fluent English and do not attend the property in their pajamas.
Read more
Heather_Laflamme wrote a review Feb 2020
Quindalup, Australia167 contributions88 helpful votes
My husband and I stayed here in a 1 bedroom for the RnB Fridays concert. We had a great time, the apartment was clean and in a great location but the room smelled like cigarette smoke. We accidentally left with a room card key and were charged 10$ but were credited when we brought it back later that month.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Richard Anthony, Guest Services / Front Office at Alderney on Hay
Responded 8 Oct 2021
Hi Heather, Thank you for your feedback. Should you ever face any issues such as these please report them immediately to reception so that we may arrange something else for you E.G. another room. We do not allow smoking in any rooms and understand some people may be more sensitive to these smells. We are happy however that you have enjoyed your stay with us and collected the refund for the returned key, We only charge the costs to replace the keys and do offer a refund if returned.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$62 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
alderney on hay hotel perth, alderney hay, alderney on hay east perth
LOCATION
AustraliaWestern AustraliaGreater PerthPerthEast Perth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
80
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Alderney on Hay
Which popular attractions are close to Alderney on Hay?
Nearby attractions include The Perth Mint (0.4 km), n mQueens Gardens (0.3 km), and WACA Ground (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Alderney on Hay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Alderney on Hay?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Alderney on Hay?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Alderney on Hay?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and paid private parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Alderney on Hay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wok & Ladle: Thai Eatery, Maruzzella Restaurant Pizzeria, and Red Opium.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Alderney on Hay?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Alderney on Hay?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Alderney on Hay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Sinhala.
Are there any historical sites close to Alderney on Hay?
Many travellers enjoy visiting The Perth Mint (0.4 km), The Bell Tower (1.4 km), and Old Court House Law Museum (1.3 km).