We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Alderney on Hay

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Alderney on Hay
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alderney on Hay
See the most recent reviews
Showing 255: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 12 May 2015 via mobile

Reception only open between .8am and 7pm. Staff are rude. Don't get fooled by cheap price. Not worth not getting bond back because they don't open early enough for people going to work. I won't stay again

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kate D
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving a review on TripAdvisor. As advertised on all affiliated websites, our reception opening hours are from 8am -10pm Monday - Friday and 9am -10pm Saturday and Sunday. If a room is left in an acceptable manner with keys returned and no noise issues we always refund the whole bond. In cases where a Credit...

Reviewed 4 May 2015 via mobile

We stay here often and love it! Perfect for us as a family but there is a girl at reception who is the rudest person I've ever encountered. I wish I got her name as the way she spoke and treated me after asking a simple question regarding MY credit card was absolutely disgusting. Other than that we will continue...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank criticextrodinate
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. I am glad to hear that you enjoy staying with us frequently, however I am not happy to hear that you left dissatisfied with the service you received on your last visit. If you could please contact me on...

Bunbury
Reviewed 3 May 2015

Was sceptical after reading some of the reviews, some good and many bad. Found the apartment to be lovely and clean and very roomy. Bed in main room a it sunken in the middle and pillows hard but over all was ok. Only things I would like to comment on was the smell in the toilet, very strong smell of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gypsys40
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay, I am glad to hear that you found the room to be lovely, clean and spacious. If you could please email me at info@starwest.com.au so that I can look into which room you stayed in and how I can rectify these issues for future guests....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 April 2015

You should read on if you are looking for a casual and convienant stay at this hotel! It's not a 24/7 reception so I had to collect my room keys through entry of the back door. Finally, I made it to my room when I noticed that my room keys didn't work!!! I had to ring someone (lucky me I...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank SabrinaSyd
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I apologise for the system error regarding your keys, the night staff member rushed to ensure that your wait was only 20 minutes. The backdoor entry has been a long time policy of the property which is for the security of guests. Our night staff member re-coded your keys and notified you of the need to display the...

Bunbury
Reviewed 17 April 2015

Stayed with my family for 4 nights over school holidays. One of the best apartments we have stayed in. Excellent room warm pool great gym convenient parking and staff were very helpful. Did not want to leave and will definitely be back next time we are in Perth. We highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rochelle944
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay! We look forward to seeing you again, and if you have any suggestions please feel free to contact me at info@starwest.com.au Kind Regards, Management Please feel free to like us on Facebook for exclusive deals and offers!

Reviewed 12 April 2015 via mobile

We were having a few drinks in our room before we went out when two police officers and the hotel manager knocked on our door telling us to pack our bags we have been evicted leaving us with know accommodation or way home as we had been drinking. They gave us no warning or second chances. They clamped our car...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Joshoreed
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would first like to point out that this review is an outright lie. I shall go into detail regarding your apartments activities, so that people on TripAdvisor can see that behaving in the manner in which you did is not appropriate in any hotel or venue. Firstly, your group had come back from a bucks night and...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2015 via mobile

Stayed over night in 1 Bedroom Appartment for 1 night for only $97 . Great set up. Free parking . Free use of pool and spa. Only down falls are pool was a little cold . A few stains on the carpet . But overall well kept property . Great value for money ! Will stay again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jimmrycricket
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay! If you could please email me your room number at info@starwest.com.au so that I may look into the stains issue. As with the pool, the temperature is always set to 28°C for the comfort of all guests. We...

Bridgetown, Australia
Reviewed 12 March 2015

Convenient location but dirty and unkempt. Parking was a bonus and easy access to walk to work. However, the air conditioning units in the apartment 4 level 1 spat out black charcoal like substance all the time; onto my bed, my friends bed and we only found out when we awoke in the morning and the stuff had rubbed into...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fjbullo
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your stay at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. Could you please email me on info@starwest.com.au so that I may fully look into these issues. Kind Regards, Management.

Reviewed 9 March 2015

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. We found it quite comfortable, decent size clean and tidy with all amenities for a good price. Good, easy location in the city. The balcony could have done with a bit more privacy, all very open. I didn't like walking out and having the guests next door a metre away from me. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaegs90
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay. Thank you for notifying us regarding the shower head, if you could please email me at info@starwest.com.au with your apartment number so that I can have maintenance look into this issue. Once again, thank you for allowing Starwest Apartments...

WA
Reviewed 9 March 2015

I was a bit skeptical after reading reviews saying how poor this property was. We stayed in a clean and neat 2 bedroom apartment. It was great! Check in was fine. Right near different restaurants and cafes. Can't complain it suited us.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WaCal
Roshan G, Manager at Alderney on Hay, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am glad you gave us the opportunity to accommodate yourself! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Management. Please feel free to like us on Facebook for exclusive deals and offers!

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (86)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (85)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
East Perth
Mont Clare Boutique Apartments
East Perth
City Waters
City Waters
#65 of 79 in Perth
145 reviews
Mantra on Hay
#23 of 79 in Perth
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Perth
City Stay Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Starwest Apartments Alderney On Hay is leading the way in offering affordable, fully self-contained quality apartments that are close to the city centre.Our 3.5 Star property is conveniently located in East Perth approximately 1km from the Perth City Centre. Starwest Apartments Alderney on Hay is located just minutes from the Perth CBD, shopping, entertainment, restaurants, the WACA cricket ground, Burswood Casino, Gloucester Park, Ascot and Belmont horse racing tracks and the Swan River. Featuring spacious non-smoking self-contained two bedroom apartments with dining/living area, separate laundry and bathroom, direct phone line and a private balcony - it's the perfect accommodation whether you're on holiday or travelling for business. Standard Apartments:Spacious 2 bedroom apartment, fully equipped kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. Deluxe Apartments:Each Deluxe Apartment has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, television, DVD player, lounge, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer.Platinum Apartments:Our Platinum Apartments consists of two bedrooms and one bathroom; it has a fully equipped granite-top kitchen, dishwasher, lounge, television, DVD player, spacious dining/living area and separate bathroom and laundry with washing machine and dryer. The modern platinum apartments also include a daily housekeeping service.The property also offers:• E-Sense Cafe open Monday-Friday 7.30am-3pm.• DVD hire available at $7 per movie.• Cot Hire at $10 per night.• Local and International calls are chargeable. • Vending machines with snacks. • Dry cleaning / laundry service.• Indoor pool – heated.• Spa and gym facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alderney on Hay

Address: 193 Hay St, Perth, Western Australia 6004, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth > East Perth
Price Range: $96 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alderney on Hay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Alderney on Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alderney On Hay Hotel Perth
Alderney Hay
Alderney On Hay East Perth
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alderney on Hay staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Alderney on Hay staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Take towels for the pool; request Northern side of the hotel as it is quieter.”
  • View from our 4th floor balcony.
 of 5 bubbles 152rhondas, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Away from lift if you can”
 of 5 bubbles Saltwater-living, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay here geta room as far away from the lifts as possible”
 of 5 bubbles 80warrent, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Platinum or Deluxe.”
 of 5 bubbles 49buddhij, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles nikki888522, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay