We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Emperor\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

297 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 268: English reviews
Start your review of The Emperor's Crown Hostel
 Click to rate
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was fit for purpose with reasonably clean ensuite, although shower could have been cleaner. Staff were happy to help and kitchen was useful whenpreparing meals. Overall a good place to stay for the price paid

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lm123452016
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to review us :) I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for giving us feedback on the showers, I will bring it up with our cleaning team. Kindest Regards, Natasha.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were good. The rooms were small especially when you have to stay together with three people you have never met before! The kitchen was dirty but it worked. I had a great stay!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmamM3218QZ
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review. We're happy that you've had a great stay! Yes, our 6 bed dorms can appear a bit small, especially if the guests don't use the lockers or the drawers underneath the beds to store away their stuff. Our 4 bed dorms however are quite spacious, especially in comparison with most of the other hostels...

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

The rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The only problem we had was that when we were checking out the staff refused to give our deposit for keys and plates back because they hadnt written down that we had paid them. Got one of them back when I showed them my netbank. Also sometimes the staff was a bit rude...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kiia K
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Kiia, I'm sorry to hear that there was a problem with the refunding of your deposits. If you could get in touch with me about this matter I would look into it and see what I can do to resolve it. I'm also sorry to hear about staff being rude to you and apologise for it. Whenever I find...

Bullsbrook
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Great location, friendly staff. Christmas party going on in the social area when I arrived yet the rooms still nice and quiet. Very clean. So far this is my favorite hostel in Northbridge, will stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank juileo
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hello Juileo, We always appreciate to hear from our guests how much they enjoyed their stay at The Emperor's Crown Hostel. Thank you very much! Kind regards, Stefan

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 21 December 2016 via mobile

First night I had a room that smelled very bad due to transpiration/dirty clothes. Clothes were everywhere in the room. There were 2 long stay roommates and an other new guy. According to one of the roommates this happens frequently. Next day I switched rooms. New room was clean and tidy. Stayed 2 more nights. The hostel is centrally located...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ErikG_NL
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Erik, Thank you for your review and insights. We agree that smelly and untidy rooms is nothing any of our guests should put up with and as soon as we are aware of guests that do not adhere to our standards we kindly remind them that they share a room with others and ask them to tidy up and...

Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

It was very cheap... which was the only positive! The man that checked us in didn't speak English very well and was so useless and unhelpful! It's not in a great location... we got there at about 8 in the evening and we're really hungry so went out looking for somewhere to eat and found absolutely nothing! The closest thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria N
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Victoria, It's disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, especially in regards to our staff. We are located close to both the Perth CBD and the Cultural Centre of Northbridge where many food places are located, and our staff on reception should have told you where to find them (I'm not sure if you...

Perth
Reviewed 30 November 2016

The kitchen close at 9:30 pm so you can't use it after that. Toilet not always very clean and a deposit for dishes .. One more thing, no wifi in the room Personal friendly and the hostel is very good located

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomcP2896TJ
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Tom, Thank you for the useful feedback :-) Unfortunately we do have to close the kitchen earlier than some may like, but we are trying to find a sweet spot where it doesn't disturb rooms closer to the kitchen and availability to guests. We do take a deposit for dishes as it's surprising how often we receive back incomplete...

Steinhagen, Germany
Reviewed 27 November 2016

I was there for the World Masters Athletics Championships. The hostel is very central, the staff ist friendly and helpfully. If I will ever come back to Perth, I will stay there again. The kitchen is okay, but sometimes a bit late open for "early birds" like me. WiFi is excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robertrP8612ZX
Stefan W, Receptionist at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review us, we really appreciate feedback. It's great to hear that you would stay with us again! :-D Apart from opening later than you would like, are there any other suggestions that you may have to help us improve the kitchen? Kind Regards, Natasha.

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

When I first arrived staff were very friendly and helped me settle in attimosphere was excellent sort walk to city restaurants and entertainment centre, I felt secure and safe and staff made me feel welcomed very cheap and 5 star it was clean and tidy I recommend this accommodation to anyone beat price and excellent location

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason S
Stefan W, Receptionist at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jason, Thank you so much for saying that we are 5 star! We do try and aim to have hotel standards for our little hostel so that are guests can have the most enjoyable stay possible, and I'm happy to hear that you thought we were very friendly too :-D Kind Regards, Natasha. (Receptionist)

Ponorogo, Indonesia
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Comfortable and clean and centrally located, I have stayed at the hostel now on a couple of occasions as I have been transiting through Perth on an extended layover with flights. I have found the hostel easy to access from the international airport by public bus and short walk, the staff are friendly and attentive staff and the environment is...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank damiandonohue
Stefan W, Manager at The Emperor's Crown Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Damian, It's great to know that your stays with us have always been pleasant and comfortable. We are aiming to be a hostel with hotel standards for comfort, cleanliness and atmosphere so that people like yourself are always willing to come back. We look forward to your next return. Kind Regards, Natasha. (Receptionist)

111 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (92)
Viewed
Room/Suite (34)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
Pensione Hotel Perth
#10 of 79 in Perth
1,106 reviews
Perth CBD
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel
#6 of 79 in Perth
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perth CBD
Kangaroo Inn
Kangaroo Inn
#5 of 59 in Perth
127 reviews
Perth CBD
Perth City YHA
Perth City YHA
#12 of 59 in Perth
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Emperors Crown brings to Perth a new concept in quality budget accommodation. Just 5 minutes walk from Perth CBD and the night life of Northbridge, The Emperors Crown makes you feel right at home with the city at your fingertips.We have a range of rooms available, from dorms to private rooms - contact us to find out more! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Emperor's Crown Hostel

Address: 85 Stirling St, Perth, Western Australia 6000, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth
Price Range: $23 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Emperor's Crown Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your The Emperor's Crown Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emperor`s Crown Backpackers Hotel Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Emperor's Crown Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“the room could be cleaned more regularly, people were move from rooms, and things left behind, obvious not con tool on that.”
 of 5 bubbles eliseorabbi, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would avoid room 6 as the smoking area is located just outside the window and even with the window closed the room can be smokey and noisy after hours.”
 of 5 bubbles grenada36, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“rooms upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles FranchiMe, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a lower bed of a bunk bed for a power point.”
 of 5 bubbles aamackl, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Don't get the mixed dorm if you can afford something better”
 of 5 bubbles Tintinrahman, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5