We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Traveller (365)
360
Panoramas (3)
Video

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Laundry Service
Meeting Rooms
Multilingual Staff
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Safe
Quiet
HOTEL CLASS
1,203Reviews
489Photos
25Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 531
  • 324
  • 92
  • 39
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
we stal recently at ACH for 11 nights, room was lovely , clean with windows. , we really enjoy our stay in this hotel. all staff (Reception, Restaurant, Housekeeping .. ) was friendly and helpful. Ideally located in the city, close to restaurants, sky city ,convenience stores
Read more
Rooms were lovely and ideal for a short break. We were given a complimentary drink on the first night which was a nice touch. Staff very obliging and hotel very clean. Great position for the centre. The hotel reception were able to give us lots of assistance when booking trips
Read more
Myself, my husband and my daughter stayed in a standard queen suite.. if was nice, quite small no microwave or kitchen.. the bed was a king so that was a bonus. Where our room was it was quite noisy.. and we weren't told at check in that the room key has to slot in by the door
Read more
Location is great. Hotel very pretty & well decorated. Room is small and very hot even with the airconditioning on. Airconditioning unit very old and not coping. Staff helpful. Dining room & bar lovely & airconditioning works well here. Well appointed Cafe next door.
Read more
Hotel was in a great location, coffee shop was good. Restaurant breakfast buffet did not look appealing for the price. Our room was clean but one of the pillows smelled moldy. We removed it from the room. The keeys did not work. The most disappointing event happening on the
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorAuckland City Hotel-Hobson St
The Exceutive Room at the Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Photo provided by managementAuckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Studio Room
Simple normal twin bed room, but neat and clean.
The "fix"
Stove
PreviousNext
12345648
Hi Global, Sorry for the delayed. Hotel was not aware of this additional charges hence we contacted the taxi company about it. They mentioned that the additional cost is due to above average luggage load. Anyway, we told them that this should be mention and convey to guest in advance. In conclusion, the taxi company is happy to refund the additional $20. Tripadvisor does not allow email or contact number in this chat room, hence please contact hotel and ask for Mr AK to process the refund. Sorry for the inconvenience caused Victor
0 votes
Show all answers
The waterfront is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel. However if you want to swim, the nearest beach is in Mission bay which is 8.7km from hotel. Thank you
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi Silviazsm, All our rooms are non smoking. Many thanks Victor
0 votes
Show all answers
do you also serve breakfast
There is a small coffee shop in the foyer where we ate breakfast it was really good
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
12345
"The standaard room is suitable for 2 people with 2 big suitcases. There is coffee and thee on the room and a refigerator."
"Rooms not facing apartments, and off the Main Street because of traffic noise"
"It isn ‘t an hotel with a nice view anyway"
"Find a different hotel."
"All of the rooms are much the same"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$106 - US$317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
auckland city hotel-hobson st hotel auckland central
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
150
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing