We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Travellers' Choice award winner
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,534: English reviews
Surrey England
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. First class experience. Room superb. We had a street view which was fine. The bathroom was lovely. Room extras were great.nespresso coffee machine, lovely bath toiletries and overall well received. Breakfast was first class. Wifi was free and worked well. Parking was good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sashaSurreyEngland
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour sashaSurreyEngland, We highly appreciate that you take your precious time to provide your experience during your stay with us. Your uplifting review has truly bought a smile to my face. I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was absolutely first class! It is pleasure to read that you enjoyed our luxuriously appointed rooms, our excellent service standards...

Russell, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2016

Right in the middle of the Viaduct Entertainment and Dining area this hotel ticks all the boxes - despite not being on the cheap side - but I would not expect it to be at 5 stars. I must admit - it is a class of it's own in terms of the luxury hotel market in Auckland - I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R_G_Baker
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour R_G_Baker, Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was top notch! Thank you for all your kind compliments about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour and I am pleased that our team made your stay such a beautiful experience. I would like to thank...

Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Staying only two nights here was a lovely way to end a fabulous trip. With two rooms having great views over the harbour and walking distance to town, the only thing missing unfortunately was the weather! On arrival we were fortunate enough to get a table in the Lava restaurant, which was excellent. The decor of the hotel is wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hannah07041999
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Hannah07041999, First of all, I would like to thank you sincerely for devoting your precious time in sharing your experience. It is a great pleasure to know that you enjoyed our harbour location, our signature Sofitel MyBed and our luxurious lobby decor. However, let me express my sincerest apologies about the disappointment you had about your breakfast at Lava...

Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

A 5 night get away and was well looked after by the staff at this lovely property. Great location and well appointed rooms. All the standards of service one would expect from this establishment with attention to detail and a commitment to make the stay as pleasant as possible. Housekeeping certainly played a key role with immaculate presentation of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott T
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Scott T, First of all, I would like to thank you sincerely for your precious time taken to write such a positive review! I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was excellent! Thank you for all your kind compliments about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Habour and I am pleased that you enjoyed our excellent service standards, our immaculate...

cheshire
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Location is great and room was spacious and well positioned overlooking the harbour. Concierge service was very helpful and efficient. We have done a separate review of the 'Lava' restaurant which was a 'mixed' experience. Only real criticism was the housekeeping service which although thorough and the staff courteous, arrived far too late in the day. We stayed three nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrissyhan
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Chrissyhan, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for devoting your precious time in sharing your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, and that you appreciated our tranquil harbour location, excellent service standards and our relaxing atmosphere. I am sincerely sorry to hear that your room...

Walsall
Reviewed 5 January 2016

Continue to be more and more impressed with 'Accor' as a brand. We have just spent 5 days at the Sofitel Auckland Harbour, one of which was Christmas Day, for which we had booked Christmas lunch for four including our daughter and 'nearly 3' granddaughter. It was all excellent and beautifully presented. I was not totally happy with the first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobwood
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour bobwood We highly appreciate that you take your precious time to provide your experience during your stay with us. Your uplifting review has truly brought a smile to my face. I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was top notch! Thank you for all your kind compliments about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour and I am pleased that...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016 via mobile

Stayed here last night as an anniversary getaway on holidays. The concierge and reception staff were excellent and really nice. Shower didn't work properly when toilet was flushed sound like construction work was going on. Tv was all pixelated. Tv made funny noises. Room wasn't cleaned properly . Windows and table had finger marks literally every where.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank slm3001
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour SIm3001, Thank you for your time in sharing your experience and choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us. It is pleasure to read that our Reception and Concierge teams were able to provide you with an excellent service during your stay at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Nevertheless, please allow me to express my sincere apologies about the inconvenient experiences...

Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2016

This was a great start to our holiday with an overnight stay in Auckland. We were only able to book a city view superior room as the hotel had sold out of the marina view. I received an email after making the booking to upgrade the room type should there be any no shows for an additional cost. Fortunately on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D D
SofitelAuckland, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Cheryl D D Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated our excellent service, the luxuriously appointed rooms and amenities. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 January 2016 via mobile

Only spent one night at the Sofitel en route to the Bay of Islands. The road works didn't do much for the drive in but that's hardly the hotels fault. Inside it has an unusual but very nice design. Kind of moody with darker colors than we Aussies are used to, interesting ponds bottomed with natural stone and lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dellick
SofitelAuckland, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Dellick We highly appreciate that you take your precious time to provide your experience during your stay with us. I am absolutely delighted that you thought your experience was top notch! Thank you for all your kind compliments about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the...

Cambridge, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2016 via mobile

Myrtle and I have stayed here quite a bit and this time round was somewhat and rather disappointingly below par. It started with the gentleman (names are withheld for discretion) on reception informing us our Accor card wasn't applicable in the restaurant due to Saturday the 2nd of January being a public holiday (which incidentally it was not) as this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Viv W
Rose_Johnstone, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review

Bonjour Viv W, First of all, I would like to express my sincerest gratitude for your loyalty and choosing to stay with us. Also, thank you very much for spending your valuable time to share your experience. I am delighted that you liked your comfortable room and the turn down service. Nevertheless, please allow me to apologise for the very...

919 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (680)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
View from Room (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (134)
Viewed
Bathroom (48)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
Other (306)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (167)
Viewed
Amenities (56)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
The Hotel (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.7 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,366 reviews
1.5 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,957 reviews
0.9 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
2,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
2,133 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#2 of 68 in Auckland
1,126 reviews
0.9 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Lava Dining
Lava Dining
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Sabrage Bar
Sabrage Bar
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Inspired by New Zealand's landscape and culture and boasting panoramic views of Waitemata Harbour, this beautifully designed hotel is a true landmark destination.Superbly located on the waterfront in the heart of the Viaduct, Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour harmoniously blends French spirit with the best of New Zealand culture. Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour offers 172 chic and luxurious rooms all with juliette balconies and floor to ceiling windows. Oversized bathrooms feature separate rain showers and deep soaking bathtubs. Each guest room also offers Sofitel's famous 'My Bed', LCD televisions and Bose sound systems. Services include valet car parking, dedicated Concierge team, luxury airport transfers, Guest Relations Manager and 24 hour in-room dining. Sofitel's luxury day spa, So SPA offers six private rooms with a wide range of beauty and wellness treatments. Guests can also make use of a sauna and steam room, and adjacent gymnasium. A 20-metre indoor lap pool and spa pool are also available. Lava Dining delivers flavour & flair with an innovative menu, tastefully blending the best local produce with a refined French touch. Serving breakfast, lunch & dinner, visit Lava Dining for an intimate dining experience & breathtaking views. A bright & casual eatery, 21 Viaduct Cafe offers waterside seating to allow guests the chance to enjoy the Marina vistas. Savour expertly made espresso, French pastries, and a daily selection of healthy choices filled with fresh, local ingredients. In an unofficial toast to Sofitel's fine French origins, Sabrage invites guests to revisit the art of 'sabrage'. A sophisticated bar serving the finest champagnes, signature cocktails, local and international wines and beers. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour

Address: 21 Viaduct Harbour Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly Lighter Quay Hotel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $230 - $534 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour 5*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Auckland
#2 Spa Hotel in Auckland
#3 Green Hotel in Auckland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#3 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#6 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The rooms overlooking the marina are a little noisy at times.”
 of 5 bubbles wdbentley, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a marina view room for a little extra”
 of 5 bubbles 545vladl, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the quay offer great views but with floor to ceiling windows offer very little privacy without closing the drapes”
 of 5 bubbles 779bobt, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best View of the harbor and out sitting for duct..”
 of 5 bubbles kmlbarik, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room on the far end, closest to harbor facing city and marina”
 of 5 bubbles 532pierrel, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5