We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Scenic Hotel Auckland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

823 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 753: English reviews
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The Scenic Hotel is ideally situated if you fly into Auckland and catch the bus that goes to the city. It's final stop is about 50 metres from the Scenic Hotel and you don't even have to cross the street. The Aotea Centre is just a few minutes walk way also. The restaurant has very nice meals if you want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

The room was spacious and well laid out. There was a microwave, cutlery, plates and a kitchen sink provided, making it easy to heat up food from outside. However, the beds were a bit uncomfortable and the pillows were flat. Even stacking two pillows didn't really help. The shower was warm and comfortable, with delicious smelling soap provided. The shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C_Yang_YR
Invercargill, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We chose this Hotel as it was only a Hop Skip and a Jump form the ASB theatre were we had booked to see a show at. the Sky Bus if you are from out of town like us stops just down the road from the Hotel. As we were only staying the one night we found the staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alister L
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for giving our team such positive feedback I will make sure that they are aware of your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Scenic Hotel is located in a mid-1950's office building that used to be the MLC life building. Great post-industrial style has been preserved. We were running a conference at the nearby AUT and it was literally a 3 minute walk. The hotel offers large suite-style rooms, each with separate bedroom and lounge. There are many different layouts of this configuration....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ashley G
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very mixed and bad experiences here. The location could not be better as it is central to downtown Auckland with a lot of amenities nearby including the SkyBus dropoff from the airport at the front door. The rooms are big and roomy with an extremely comfortable bed. But, the service is absolutely terrible. Two days my room was not even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Columbus Jerome R
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you taking the time to review our hotel and sorry some aspects did not meet your expectations, we will certainly discuss your comments with our team and appreciate that you have taken the trouble to advise us. kind regards, Ken

Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I stayed Scenic Auckland on arrival in New Zealand. The Skybus dropped us off right at the door. The location on Queens street was excellent. Our only complaint for our room was the mildew smell coming out of the bathroom drains. I don't know if it is just our room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjr1531
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Hi Sorry about the smelly drain, we do treat them from time to time but we still seem to get the occasional comment about that issue. Thanks for letting us know. Kind regards, Ken

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are large and well appointed with kitchenettes and large bathrooms. However, we had booked an extra night beginning the night before we arrived because our flight landed at 5am and we wanted to be certain that we could shower and rest. When we arrived at the hotel, they seemed confused by our reservation and it took some time...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debra S
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for advising us of these shortcomings we will certainly discuss them with our team. Our parking fee is $30 per day. Again thank you for your comments, most appreciated. Kind regards, Ken

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights on business while in Auckland. I don't normally stay too far away from the harbour but there were a number of events happening in the city during the week which mean that room availability was limited or that room prices (for the usual places I would stay), had sky-rocketed! So a central/upper Queen St location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank _Paul_W_1968
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

We really appreciate that you chose our hotel and took the time to review our hotel, thank you so much. Kind regards, Ken

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is not a flash hotel , and it needs some repairs( broken tiles in the lifts ) the decor is dated yet I would stay here again ! The rooms are spacious and my room was reasonably quiet. The bed is Very comfortable and the room was clean and well maintained . The staff were pleasant and helpful ....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter T
Dallas
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I found the personnel really warm and helpful, our room clean and well appointed with a very comfortable bed, check in and out friendly, especially the kind attention of the rooms manager, Mr. Amaritya. We will gladly stay here again when we return to New Zealand!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DallasTrippy
Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments. Kind regards, Ken

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
1:14
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (126)
Viewed
Amenities (2)
Viewed
Lightwell Queen room (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Studio Queen (31)
Viewed
Superior Queen (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.6 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
1.2 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.4 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.7 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Scenic Hotel Auckland

Address: 380 Queen Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $162 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scenic Hotel Auckland 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Scenic Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Scenic Hotel
Scenic Hotel Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Auckland
#20 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Scenic Hotel Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on hotel front look out on Art Deco City Hall and Sky Tower if higher floor.”
 of 5 bubbles DallasTrippy, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you want a good night's sleep ask for a room not facing Queen street!”
 of 5 bubbles seano838, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room, high floor, on the side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Int_Academic, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“higher the better - the street can be very noisy”
 of 5 bubbles Sonnie_dee, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check the room out before accepting it don't stay !!!”
 of 5 bubbles theresa12013, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay