We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Auckland

Booking.comUS$119*
View Deal
#15 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$222*
US$119*
US$222*
US$119*
US$222*
US$119*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
Panoramas (3)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,962 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,856: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Auckland
 Click to rate
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were very happy with our city/harbour view room with king bed. One of the most comfortable hotel beds we've ever slept in. The air conditioning was quiet and there were the usual facilities - hair dryer, iron etc.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnotherKiwi
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is in the centre, well located and close to queen street. I however do not recommend it except if you are ready to waste your money. For the price, the room we had was quite small and with a view on a parking lot. Do not expect a view on sea, only one corner of the building have....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexis P
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you Alexis P for taking the time to share your experience. I have shared your feedback with the team and I am sorry that overall you did not find the team to be friendly. It is a core aspect of what we pride ourselves on is ensuring our guests feel welcome and find us easily approachable. I do hope...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have stayed in many hotels around the world and the thing that always defines a great place to stay is the attitude of the staff and at this hotel the attitude was perfect . Well trained and smiling engaging staff nothing was a problem and that people is the key.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisandkarenc
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you chrisandkarenc for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly appreciate the kind feedback and we collectively work very hard on ensuring we convey the correct attitude at all times to not only our valued guests but each other. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future, Kind...

Papamoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Greeted by friendly staff from start to finish. Room lovely and clean. Location suited us fine, although it may be a bit hard for some walking up the hill from Queen Street. Breakfast good, dinner wasn't so good, but staff brilliant. Would stay again

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you Barbara B for taking the time to share your experience. Whilst the team were thrilled to read your comments around service and breakfast, I am sorry that dinner did not measure up. Please do feel free to share any further comments directly with me, my email address is james_billing@rydges.com. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to...

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent location in city centre, close to restaurants and attractions, all within walking distance, public transport options close by. Clean, modern hotel with unusually good breakfast buffet; very helpful and cordial staff. Rooms reasonably spacious, well furnished, and very clean. Moderate prices make it a very good value for the traveler. Strongly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 101coastie
James B, Front Office Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you 101coastie for taking the time to share your experience, the team and I truly appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Well presented hotel - breakfast/restaurant absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast menu outstanding. We'll be back - cant wait to bring the kids - they will love the menu. Bathrooms clean and tidy. Not booklet with hotel facilities in it though. Menu for room service reasonable. Free breakfast April fantastic - definitely made it attractive to stay. Same when we stayed in your...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nadinew38
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you nadinew38 for taking the time to share your experience. It was pleasing to read that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you both back to the hotel with the kids on your next trip to Auckland. Kind Regards, James Billing

Greater Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is convenient to central Auckland, close to Sky City and some great restaurants. Enjoyed the in house restaurant The Cut for dinner one night. Very comfortable bed and we were in a quiet room on 9th floor.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosieNsam
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you rosieNsam for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I truly appreciate your feedback in particular the team in The Cut Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, James Billing

Essendon North, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here for two nights. After our horrible accommodation in Rotorua this was heaven, free wifi (limited), comfortable bed, our view was not so good but we were out so in no need for a view. The room was well appointed with couch and nice desk area, clean bathroom and decent tv. Would recommend to friends. Little Auckland tip,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frangipani44
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you Frangipani44 for taking the time to share your experience. The team and I were thrilled to read your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Auckland. Kind Regards, James Billing

manchester uk
Reviewed 1 week ago

Staying as part of a group of 25 couples all ariving at the same time check in was fast and smooth and luggage delivered to room. The room was very clean well furnished and comfortable ideal location for city and its attractions. If not going out in the evening hotel bar is worth a visit reasonable prices and comfortable surroundings....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael161
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you michael161 for taking the time to share your experience. It was great to read that you and the group you were traveling with had a seamless stay with us. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next trip to Auckland. Kind Regards, James Billing

Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewed 1 week ago

No whatsoever management, organization or clear information. Staff is not service oriented and there is no communication between the staff. No introduction when first arrived. Only good thing was the comfortable bed.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank corceta_acar
James B, General Manager at Rydges Auckland, responded to this review

Thank you corceta_acar for taking the time to share your experience. I am sort that you felt the experience was so poor and I would appreciate if you could please contact me directly so I can learn more about your stay. My email address is james_billing@rydges.com, I hope to hear from you. Kind Regards, James Billing

442 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Bathroom (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (100)
Viewed
View from Room (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (104)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (25)
Viewed
Twin Studio (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland
2,410 reviews
0.2 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,199 reviews
0.2 km away
SKYCITY Hotel
SKYCITY Hotel
#11 of 66 in Auckland
1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland
1,698 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.7 km away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Accommodation and Breakfast packages available; Long stay Accommodation prices available; Modern furnishings and fittings; Complimentary Newspapers;100% Non smoking; For genuine caring hospitality and service please contact Rydges Auckland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Auckland

Address: 59 Federal Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $179 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 267
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Rydges Hotel Auckland
Auckland Rydges Hotel
Rydges Auckland New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Auckland
#14 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#16 Family Hotel in Auckland
#19 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Auckland staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Auckland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel was chosen for its central location , we opted for a city view , great breakfast and great dinner at Cut resturant”
chrisandkarenc, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Requested a quiet room, upgraded to city view room (had a glimpse of harbour).”
rosieNsam, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“higher rooms are quieter.”
519frankj, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 1308 was just fine.”
Raffi1946, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you are staying more than one night and are happy not to have your bed made one morning, put the green card on your door and you will get $10 off any lunch or dinner you buy from the hotel café/restaurant. ”
jenniferbeatty, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$119* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$119
Orbitz.comUS$119
HotelQuicklyUS$222
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates