We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

772 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 618: English reviews
Start your review of Base Auckland Central Backpackers
 Click to rate
Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights as we had come up for the Adele concert and only lack of any other accommodation kept us there. Bathrooms were disgusting with overflowing sanitary containers with flies buzzing around. I asked twice for the bathrooms to be cleaned but when we left, the same rubbish was on the floor of the showers from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbara20012017
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback, am very disappointed to hear about your cleanliness experience. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, and believe me your comments will not be ignored. Hope you enjoyed Adele, Kind Regards, Darelle Jenkins.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

So the location is amazing and the staff were friendly. The facilities on level 3 were good, free wifi, luggage storage, job search help etc. The cleanliness on the floor i was staying on was not good at all (I was in a room with 3 other people and the bathrooms were down the hall). I was there for 3...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BulgerRuth
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your comments. I would really appreciate it if you could email me with what room you were staying in if possible so i can investigate this sheet issue. My email is aucklandgm@stayatbase.com. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, and believe me these issues will not be ignored. Kind Regards, Darelle...

Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the third time I've stayed at BASE and possibly the last, while it's cheap.. this was gross.. the room was musty and had damp stains on the ceiling. The bed sheets had not been changed!! And when I pulled the sheets of the.. the state of the mattress protector!!! Not to mention the iron.. it doesn't work :(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey P
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback, am very disappointed to hear this! I would really appreciate it if you could email me with what room you were staying in if possible so i can investigate this sheet issue. My email is aucklandgm@stayatbase.com. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, these problems will not be tolerated....

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

To be fair we arrived prior to bathrooms cleaned but I actually physically started heaving with eyes running- the dirtiest smelliest toilet I have ever been in. Whole place felt grubby- eg pillowcase looked dirty and had to get changed. Auckland was full for Adele and we not your average backpackers - it was only place left or we would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaytee127
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback, am very disappointed to hear about your cleanliness experience. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, and believe me your comments will not be ignored. Hope you enjoyed Adele, Kind Regards, Darelle Jenkins.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If the rooms where professionally cleaned, ie a proper carpet clean they would look a lot cleaner, has lots of stains. The bathrooms need to be cleaned more often with the number of people using them. Best part was the great hot showers and the central city location is so close to everything. Very good price too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulineevans2017
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, Thank you for your feedback. Our bathrooms are cleaned at least 4 times a day, and each one has a cleaning checklist in for us to track this. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week which will result in a higher standard of cleaning. The room you were in is scheduled for new carpet...

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked through Booking.com (2 bunk beds in a female dorm for myself and my 14 year old daughter) but when we arrived the very nice young lady behind the counter informed us that it was against their policy to allow children in shared rooms - fair enough, but Booking.com knew how old my daughter was when I made the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maralco
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm glad we were able to accommodate you. Sorry to hear about the toilet incident, and thank you for letting us know about the smoke detector - it has been resolved. Kind Regards, Darelle Jenkins.

Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed with our daughter for one night. The only positive is it's central location however that came with its issues too. Dirty! Is how I would describe the ABC. Broken toilet seats and toilet roll holders. Disgusting shower and toilet areas. Having to navigate around undesirables to enter the accommodation put us right off. Yuck!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, your comments are appreciated. Kind regards, Darelle Jenkins.

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The only good point to make about the Base Auckland is its location. Sorry guys but the place is very dirty. The linen and pillows had stains, one sheet even had a blood stain! Thankfully we had taken our own sheets and pillows. We only stayed one night so decided against using the showers! When we checked in, the lady...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foxtepuna
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback, am very disappointed to hear this! I would really appreciate it if you could email me with what room you were staying in if possible so i can investigate this sheet issue. My email is aucklandgm@stayatbase.com. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, these problems will not be tolerated....

South Otago
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

When our group of 4 checked in at night there was only 1 person on reception. 1 other lady was on the computer at the desk but didn't come to help as more and more people cued to be assisted. Finally after waiting for 10minutes we were told to present our passports but being from NZ we didn't have them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank drummerlass
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear about these issues, cleanliness is one thing as that can be resolved quickly, but there is no excuse for bad customer service! Your comments are appreciated. Hope you enjoyed Adele. Kind Regards, Darelle Jenkins

Invercargil
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Sticky lolly attached to sheet in full view, not sure how a cleaner would have missed it whilst changing sheets, so makes me wonder if sheets are not always changed! I know this is a backpacker and budget accommodation but basic cleaning like a vacumn not even done, sticky, dusty and obvious rubbish still in room (tissue and bottle cap...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kjmemc
Darelle J, General Manager at Base Auckland Central Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you for your feedback. I am astonished to hear about the lolly! So sorry to hear about your cleanliness experience. Our housekeeping team are under new management as of this week, these issues will not be tolerated. Sorry that you couldnt find the ladies, i will make sure there isn't a sign missing. Thats a shame as...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#49 of 68 in Auckland
308 reviews
0.5 km away
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
0.5 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#49 of 107 in Auckland
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 107 in Auckland
261 reviews
0.7 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 107 in Auckland
260 reviews
1.2 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 107 in Auckland
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Award-winning Base Backpacker Auckland is located in the heart of Auckland city, less than 5 minutes walk to everywhere. We have fun working here so we know you'll have fun staying in our hostel. Former ACB, Base Auckland hostel is located in the heart of the city - central to shops, cafes, museums, Sky tower and only a few minutes walk to train, bus and ferry terminals and Vector Arena. The airport bus (Airbus) stops right outside our door! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Base Auckland Central Backpackers

Address: 229 Queen St | Cnr Queen St. & Darby, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $30 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Base Auckland Central Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 460
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Base Auckland Central Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Auckland Central Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Base Auckland Central Backpackers New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Base Auckland Central Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms are not insulated so you hear everything..”
 of 5 bubbles , 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do no tbook a 4 bed dorm, no windows and dirty, ladies toilets not near by”
 of 5 bubbles Kjmemc, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The smaller rooms are often filled last, so even if you book a 4 or 6 person dorm, it's possible to be the only one in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles FernwehLisa, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else!”
 of 5 bubbles SilvaniaBV, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Insist on seeing the room and checking the bed.”
 of 5 bubbles F327WVroberth, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5