We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Auckland International

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
YHA Auckland International
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for YHA Auckland International
See the most recent reviews
Showing 179: English reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This is a very noisy hostel with a VERY long wait for showers and the toilet. In all honesty I am glad I was only here for one night. It was horrible and the sanitary bin was overflowing onto the floor - gross.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amos Vira G
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Amos, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations at the hostel. We try hard to manage the noise in the hostel, I will talk to our staff team with regards to this. Unfortunately if the noise is from the City there is little we can do about this.We will also work with our housekeepers with regards...

Reviewed 9 June 2016

Great place to stay in Auckland for families or backpackers! Staff are friendly and welcoming. Dorms are a good size (I stayed in a 4 and an 8 bed). Bathrooms were always clean. Kitchen was big and there was plenty of space to put your food on the shelves. Wifi was fast and free. Great location at the top of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth H
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Ruth, Thank you very much for your kind feedback, we are pleased you had a great stay with us and I'll pass on your compliments to our team. Steve Collier Area Manager

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 6 June 2016

My flight was delayed coming out of Sydney due to horrible weather, and i wasn't able to get to the hostel until 1am. Thank god Venic the night manager was there to check me in and put a pleasant end to a long tiring day. Simple check-in and he gave me some suggestions on where to grab a late night...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mdenci
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for your feedback and it's great to hear you were so well looked after. I'll be sure to pass your comments on Venk. Steve Collier Area Manager

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

After checkout, we cannot use the storage room anymore, one has to pay 5$ to use a locker even for 1hour only ! Big, quiet common space, (although nicely equipped), unfortunately medium social/friendly atmosphere between travelers Missing a little furniture next to one's bed to put your phone, water etc when sleeping Checkout at 10am for a checkin at 2pm......

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AdeleLLL
Belo Horizonte, MG
Reviewed 20 May 2016

Nice room, shower and the staff are great! They are very supportive helped me to book the tour to hobbiton, very pleasant! The hostel has a shared kitchen, we could use for breakfast, lunch and dinner and everything was very organized and clean!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PatNeves
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Pat, Thanks very much for your very kind feedback, I will pass this onto the staff. Steve - Area Manager

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

My son and I stayed for two nights the room was comfortable and clean we had our own bathroom that had a great shower. My only complaint would be the grumpy staff at the front desk on check out the guy was incredible rude and not one bit helpful made us leave with a bad impression even tho up until...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacksonh91
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thanks for your feedback and apologies for the way you were treated on your departure. We will address with our staff team. It is unacceptable and we're sorry it spoiled the weekend. Thanks for the great rating despite this and we hope you give us another chance at some point in the future. Steve Collier - Area Manager YHA New...

Swansea
Reviewed 20 April 2016

The staff and hostel were great, there was a really relaxed vibe and the food was good. At night there was always something to do whether there was entertainment on or as the hostel is on the smaller side everybody got to know each other and we'd all just hit the local bars. Would certainly stay again if I was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank swiftearth
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for your kind words, we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Auckland. Steve Collier - Area Manager YHA New Zealand

Domazlice, Czech Republic
Reviewed 20 April 2016

I was always happy with YHA hostels, usually YHA hostels offers modern facilities, plenty of space and quiet accommodation. YHA in Auckland was exactly what i was looking for after long flight from Europe. Friendly staff, very good location and nice athmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pavleek
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2016

It's a hostel like all the others, but it looks like in the late 1980's :D I have been here twice - on my way down to Christchurch and on my way back to Australia so I had a few nights here. Most of the travelers are from Germany which makes it hard for me to enjoy - I'm a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Philipp791
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Hi Philipp thank you for your feedback following your stay with us. It may not feel like it but German guests only make up a fifth of all our guests at this hostel and we have a broad range of nationalities stay with us from New Zealanders (10%) to Nepalese. This year we are undertaking a full refurbishment of our...

England
Reviewed 6 April 2016

As a couple we try to get the ensuite rooms, and this was great here. Very good value for money as well. Clean, not too small and we had a fan provided. The kitchen was also well managed. It is large enough to cope with the demands and I would be very happy to stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank barrow4
YHANewZealand, Manager at YHA Auckland International, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind comments we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Steve Collier YHA Area Manager

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#28 of 68 in Auckland
594 reviews
0.2 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
3,632 reviews
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.1 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#25 of 94 in Auckland
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
YHA Auckland International is 5-star Qualmark rated, staffed 24 hours and offers excellent amenities. Backpacker accommodation includes small and large multishare rooms. Twin, double and ensuite rooms are also available. There is a large fully equipped kitchen as well as a spacious and relaxing lounge area with Sky TV and a pool table. Other amenities include gear and luggage storage, video library, stereo and a great book exchange make this backpacker hostel a complete facility. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Auckland International

Address: 5 Turner Street | P.O. Box 68-149, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $28 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — YHA Auckland International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Auckland International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland International Hostel-Yha Hotel Auckland Central
YHA Auckland International New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from YHA Auckland International staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from YHA Auckland International staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe ask about room noise when you book if you are a light sleeper or dont like earplugs!!”
 of 5 bubbles KellnSteve, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Private facilities are worth paying extra for”
 of 5 bubbles FathomBruce, 21 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dorm rooms are too crowded. No room to move.”
 of 5 bubbles , 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“1st level very loud and hot, can't recommend”
 of 5 bubbles Philipp791, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ensuites are well worth the little extra for couples.”
 of 5 bubbles barrow4, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay