We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Agoda.comUS$70*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$91*
US$70*
Great Deal
US$71*
US$71*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

516 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 433: English reviews
Start your review of Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Horrid hostel, one of the worst I've stayed at. Rooms were so cramped, with four bunk beds in such a small room meant there was nowhere to put your bags or stuff once in there. Only one plug socket between 8 people as well so be sure to pack an extension cable. Kitchen was tiny for the amount of people...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank callumtyson1
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

clean, nice, friendly staff yet no free internet available but you can get connected to SPARK wifi from the main street. the kitchen gets really busy in the morning and after 5pm - a bit small for such a big hostel. during the weekend expect a lot of noise coming from the streets as the hotel is located directly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petr Z
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you for leaving us your comments, we appreciate all feedback and it really helps us make improvements where due. I am super stoked to hear that the staff treated you well and I will pass this information along as they will be so pleased to ehar to. I am so sorry you weren't aware of our free...

Alberta
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Unfortunately, it was not a great stay at Nomads. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room, with 4 people, was incredibly hot and we had to open an window, but in doing so we could hear all the noise outside. It was a Saturday night, so very noisy all night long from the bars in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeCanada
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, I am sorry that your stay with us was less than satisfactory, that is definitely not the feedback that we like to hear. We are located in the heart of the CBD so unfortunately we are surrounded by the hustle and bustle of downtown Auckland. I do hope you made your concerns aware to our 24 hour reception...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Relatively clean - front counter staff was kind of knowledgeable - beds were clean, mattress very average (I stayed at Nomad's Auckland, Wellington and Queenstown and they were fairly crappy in each one). I would've appreciated more hostel-specific amenities like electrical outlets/powerpoints next to each bed, a light/lamp by each bed, a mini locker by each bed, little shelf etc....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thanks for taking the time to leave us your comments. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay but I am disappointed it was not as comfortable as it could have been, but thank you for letting us know your thoughts, I will take all points on board and hope to use them to make the necessary...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here 3 different times, and none of them was fantastic. Every single room smelled pretty gross (like sweat and dirty feet). The beds are pretty much always squeaky, and if you have the bottom bunk you can't even sit up on it because the bed above is way too low. Also, the first time I stayed there, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rsmi7428
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, I am sorry that on all 3 occasions that you had a bad time. I do hope that you came down and highlighted your discomfort to our 24 hour reception team, we would have definitely gone above and beyond to ensure that your issues were seen to, we would have had housekeeping make up the room and have...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Awesome location, friendly staff, can tell it's upkeep is taken seriously. No complaints but would recommend installing new power points in the rooms and also wifi for guests- most hostels offer this.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you so much for leaving us your comments it is much appreciated and we are really glad that you had a great stay with us. We do offer free wifi in our adjoining travel shop from 8am - 7pm so I am really sorry that this was not made aware to you and you missed the opportunity...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hostel was clean. The beds were uncomfortable, but did the job for the night. Check in and out was easy. The highlight was by far the rooftop, which had a nice view, lots of seating, and a hot tub. It was delightful to relax up there after an active day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank triximarx27
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you so much for leaving us your feedback we really do appreciate it and we are really glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pretty proud of our rooftop deck so we are very glad you also loved it. We wish you all the best. Kind Regards Laura

Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good location, however this hostel is generally on dirty side, particularly the showers. Huge amount of guests use this hostel, particularly tour groups such as kiwi experience, yet the kitchen is oh so tiny, awful. Generally quite cheap for a nomads, however, I am sure you could probably find a hostel for a similar price with nicer facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry D
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, we appreciate all feedback and it definitely helps towards making improvements. Our sheets are sent out daily to a commercial cleaners, so to hear that you found them dirty is not great. I do hope you came and advised our reception team and we could have got...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a concert and Nomads was in an awesome location but were disappointed that the bathrooms on our floor were being renovated and it meant we had to go up or down a floor to use bathroom. Felt we should have been advised of this. Bathrooms were not that clean either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank djboct1964
LauraFlaunty, Trainee GM at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey There, I would like to apologise that you were not made aware of the renovations on your floor, you should have been advised at check in so I am sorry this was not the case. I will pass your concerns on to our housekeeping supervisor as we take great care in our cleanliness so to hear this is quite...

Placerville, California
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I absolutely loved Nomads in Queenstown so I had high expectations for this place. Right off the bat the person manning the reception wasn't too friendly--- not a good sign. The bed was comfy though, but all bunks in the room i stayed in were really creaky, it woke us up several times each night. Perhaps the worst thing is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah D
LauraFlaunty, Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Jeremiah, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your comments. I would like to apologise that you didn't have the most comfortable stay and your expectations weren't met, we undersand that having come from a brand new hostel such as Nomads Queenstown expectations are high unfortunately we are just a little older and we do...

85 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Grand Windsor Hotel Auckland
0.2 km away
Mercure Auckland
Mercure Auckland
#29 of 66 in Auckland
2,585 reviews
0.4 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#51 of 108 in Auckland
141 reviews
1.3 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#20 of 108 in Auckland
265 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#57 of 108 in Auckland
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $28 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Mid floors are quieter.”
lizninfante, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The end shower (closest to the window) has a window ceil to put your belongings on so they don't get wet or sit on the floor.”
lisa92x, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“High floor and not faced on the big street”
kazuya2017, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“private double bed room is worth the price. especially ones that comes with private bathroom.”
11perc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Make sure your room has a proper window”
LeeT90, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$70* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$71
TravelocityUS$71
AMOMAUS$91
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates