We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

448 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 376: English reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I have stayed in a few nomads while I have been traveling around New Zealand and I usually much prefer them to Base, however this Nomads hostle is just rubbish. The staff were slow and rude and the rooms were very warm and the kitchen was a mess. The only positive thing to this hostle is its excellent location. Apart...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bethan J
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nomads has a great central location just off queens street and is really easy to get to from the airport using the SkyBus. It is a large hostel with rooftop seating area, which gives you a really good view of the city. It also has a pool and large kitchen area. The staff were really friendly and helpful throughout my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred R
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed in a private room the night before my tour started, I wasn't expecting much at all and it was very basic, wouldn't say it was very clean and the bunkbed was wonky which created a lot of noise whenever you moved! The second night my tour started and I was in a dorm of 6, the noise outside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebeccavilday
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Located at heart of the city. Overpriced for the way room looks. Cramped room and tiny washroom with shower. Not what I was expecting but with budget this is what u get. So I can't say it's bad or good but location matters. Also nights could be loud as there are pubs and bars around and you can hear ppl...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Revanth R
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location but the hostel is a little bit run down. At the time 4-5 toilets and showers were out of order in my floor. And the working ones were little bit dirty, mold on the shower curtains. The rooms are smelly, but that's a part of the backpacker experience, shoes smell!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The rooms are mostly clean but smelly. You definitely need more than 1 small window that you can open when there are 8 people sleeping in this room. The bathroom is OK as long as you are not looking to much around you. The kitchen is small but there is a cool roof terrace. The staff tries to clean up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steffen S
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Our bathrooms are getting cleaned 3 times a day and are also undergoing some renovations in the new year. It does get a bit crowded at times and we do appreciate your thoughts on this. Our staff try to keep everything as clean as refreshed as possible....

Costa Volpino, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a classic hostel. I spend 5 days in a 12 bed room. No problems with the other guys, very nice company. Room was clean enough. If you go on top the hostel there is a beautiful view around Auckland. When I was there the spa was broken. If you want Wi-Fi, you must pay, bat I suggest to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mattia B
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We are stoked to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are sorry that the spa was out of order during your stay but unfortunately we had to wait for a part from Australia which was delayed. Hopefully you are back soon so that you can make use of...

Innsbruck, Austria
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the privates with shared bathroom. Mattress was clearly at the lower end of the quality spectrum. Room didn't have a window but the ducted ventilation was sufficient. TV is so old and non-functional it shouldn't be in the listing. Hot tub seems to be permanently out of order, so also shouldn't be in the listing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank racingsnail
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your review. We have a big variety of different room types and some have windows and some don't. We are in the process of upgrading our room facilities like the mattresses and TVs. We are sorry to hear that you weren't able to use our Spa pool - we were waiting on a...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 December 2016 via mobile

Decent budget backpackers. No wifi in the room was a nuisance though, and there was only one small window in the room which made it quite stuffy and hot. Spa was out of order. Kitchens decent. Staff weren't super friendly but seem nice enough. Great central location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank irm93
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We offer free WiFi in our travel shop next door as advertised and our internet inside the hostel is $4 for 24/hrs and $12 for the week. We are sorry that you weren't able to use our free Spa - we were waiting on a new part that has now been...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 December 2016

The odour from the carpet , and my shoes sticking to the floor, and the brown stain on the Bed sheet was enough to make me stay out all night and not return to my bed in this hostel. Not a good impression for tourists. The place is a health hazard and should be shut down and replace the carpet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnbooy826
Nadine T, General Manager at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi there, thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry that your experience with us didn't turn out to be a pleasant one. I am happy to let you know that our carpet replacement has started already and will be ongoing in the new year. We hope to see you again and you will enjoy a better experience...

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 km away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
0.1 km away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#54 of 97 in Auckland
136 reviews
1.6 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 97 in Auckland
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#23 of 97 in Auckland
244 reviews
1.1 km away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#17 of 97 in Auckland
246 reviews
0.1 km away
Quest on Queen
Quest on Queen
#44 of 97 in Auckland
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Backpack in style at Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel. We're located in a beautiful historic building in downtown Auckland, near everything you need for your stay in this fantastic city. Come stay at our stylish, upmarket hostel in the central city, We have some female-only dorms as well as mixed dorms and private rooms! We have great facilities, with a friendly atmosphere and crew who will cater to your every whim. Our travel staff were hand-picked to ensure you will have a trip to remember!We're in an awesome downtown Auckland location, close to Vector Arena, Skytower, Viaduct Harbour, the train station and all the downtown shops - it's the perfect place to stay in Auckland. Our facilities include 24-hour reception, Global Gossip internet and Wi-Fi, and a rooftop kitchen with panoramic views of the city and harbour. We have free tea and coffee, free travel advice (no booking fees) and free 2-for-1 drinks vouchers at check-in. Hang out on our rooftop sundeck, communal kitchen or our lounge with Sky TV. Chill out in our free sauna and rooftop spa then head down to Fort Street Union Bar to meet travellers from all over the world. We put on free and cheap daily activities all around Auckland. FREE 30min WIFI each day. FREE Tea & Coffee FREE Sauna FREE Heated Spa FREE Travel advice (no booking fees) FREE/Cheap daily activities around Auckland ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel

Address: 16 - 20 Fort Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $27 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 390
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hotel Auckland Central
Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel New Zealand
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Nomads Auckland Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in a room with less beds as it may be tidier. But would NEVER stay here AGAIN.”
 of 5 bubbles 747skyet, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“6th floor is closest to the kitchen, spa, sauna and deck”
 of 5 bubbles Z5543WJkennetht, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Fifth floor is best in my opinion”
 of 5 bubbles alex17242, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pick the room with the most people - You meet more people and it is the people you meet when travelling which make the experience.”
 of 5 bubbles W9419GTrobm, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I had very good neighbors with pin drop silence around the day and night. I assume there's nothing very particular about rooms here.”
  • Tiny little room
 of 5 bubbles Mumbaikar_Biker, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay