We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

VR Auckland City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
Panoramas (1)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 994: English reviews
Start your review of VR Auckland City
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

welll what can i tell abt my stay in this hotel i came here few days back with my friends for second time and it's was more enjoyable then before . ALL members of this hotel are very friendly nd cooparetive .The best thing of this hotel is that it's very close to the shops that become very helpful for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Preety D
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

The Hotel Facility is very good and awesome.No doubt, In future it will be 5 star hotel in the auckland.The staff is very friendly and cooperative..They also maintain the cleaniness in the room as well as out room Fablous place to stay!! I will definately stay next time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deepak K
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 5 people. Room was spacious with dining table, lounge and tv. Bathroom had washing machine although ours didn't work. Hotel was accomodating and did our laundry over night for us. Check in was easy. Close to everything in CBD.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dohntcha
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, VR Auckland City!!

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Can be a bit chaotic checking in and out, but staff are good. No way you can check in before 2 pm, but you can leave your luggage in a locked room The rooms are well appointed, comfy beds, good size balcony. My hotel of choice when I stay in auckland

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HKinsey
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, VR Auckland City!!

Adelaide
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our apartment was spacious and clean - 2 big bedrooms, living area, dining table and chairs and well equipped kitchenette. Had everything we needed for preparing meals. Free WiFi, safe and washing machine. Unusual breakfast of sandwiches, juice and fruit delivered the night before. Reasonably close to city centre, and extremely close to the Bus terminal. Staff friendly, polite and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pasqualie
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Positives- close to city center and sky city casino which was worth a visit. Cooking facilities adequately equipped to prepare a meal. Washing machine and dishwasher available all very good. Negatives Hard as rock bed I have never ever in my life slept on a harder bed then the ones supplied here it makes it worse that I have chronic...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank NatFrequentTraveller
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide...

East Midlands
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here one night at beginning of holiday and 3 nights at the end. I would consider staying here again. It is fairly central, the 2 bedroom accommodation we stayed in was roomy. The beds are large and comfortable. Sheets clean. Mattress protector used. A few coat hangers and space to hang clothes and shelves for clothes. There is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JoEastMidlands
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards, VR Auckland City!!

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for two nights at this motel. We had flown from Toronto through Sydney to this place, and quite frankly were not that impressed. It is very basic, with an unusual breakfast of egg and onion sandwiches, yougurt and apples! Not the best location, but was adequate enough for the short time that we stayed.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fred G
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top notch. We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. We are disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay. Once again we thank you for taking the time to provide...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for two night and it was ok don't order breakfast as it comes up the night before it was two sandwiches and yogurt the beds was as hard and un comfortable the bathroom was very basic the toilet seat was broken a lot off broken tiles throughout the room and if you have a car you will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol G
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. We have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Further to your concerns, we would like to...

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2017

The location of this hotel is it's biggest enemy. A short distance from the Auckland Mission, we experienced somewhat disheveled men sleeping on the pavement, and on one occasion a full blown fight. Our room was fine and offered all that was needed for a two night stay, however, the 'breakfast' was slightly bizarre. Ours comprised egg and onion sandwiches,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank roseglen1
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Auckland City, responded to this review

Dear Valued guest, Thank you very much for your feedback!! As you have rightly mentioned, Auckland City Mission is a government organisation that is located 500 meters away from us close to Auckland Sky Tower - we have no control on where the City Mission is located and instead encourage the Mission that is in place by the government by...

261 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (94)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Other (71)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.6 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
0.5 km away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
1,199 reviews
0.5 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
661 reviews
1.4 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about VR Auckland City

Address: 188 Hobson Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $136 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — VR Auckland City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Auckland City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
Oaks On Hobson
VR Auckland City New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Auckland City staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Newcastle
4 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from VR Auckland City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Non roadside facing room - though you cant hear much traffic with window closed”
JoEastMidlands, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“close to aminities”
chathurikak, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
johnwY9626MK, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“make sure it cleans”
B95_Junior, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher the floor the better the view”
314margieh, 20 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5