We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SKYCITY Hotel

Show Prices
#12 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
SKYCITY Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,714 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SKYCITY Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,568: English reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Started with a very helpful and polite porter. Check in staff were slow. Room (deluxe harbour view) was fairly average for a 'deluxe' room. Nicely furnished. Had to pay to watch movies. Excessively priced at $320 a night, though this did include buffet breakfast. We did however receive a bill for breakfast that we had to sort on check out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alison H I would firstly like to share my gratitude for taking the time to post your honest review of your stay here with us on Trip Advisor. All forms of feedback we truly appreciate as it is only a means to improve all those areas our guests feel we may be lacking. I am pleased that you did...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 23 July 2015

Skycity hotel exceeded my expectation, the location is perfect. Easy to get around the city, everthing you need is at your doorstep. Our room was perfect, clean spacious and comfortable. The lobby smelled delicous. would stay here again. Staff is very friendly and prompt to fix any problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelbuyfamily
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Travelbuyfamily Thank you so much for taking the time to leave an excellent review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to learn that you and your family had a great time here at SKYCITY Hotel; I hope that you had just as much of an enjoyable time in Auckland. We are a very fortunate hotel to be not only...

Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

It was an amazing two nights spent here, we got a complimentary upgrade and wow it was lovely in the king suites. The Fortuna buffet was yummy, it had a variety of dishes which was good. Make sure you book a table prior as it books out fairly quickly and the service was spectacular by all staff around casino and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aleesha S
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aleesha S I would like to firstly share my gratitude for the great review you have posted up on Trip Advisor. It is so great to learn that you had an ‘amazeballs’ time here with us at SKYCITY Hotel and I am even more excited that our team were able to make your stay even more enjoyable with the...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Another great two night stay. From check in to departure it all went so easily- including a very accommodating late check out at no cost. We requested a room within a certain location in the accommodation wing and they made it happen. Room lovely clean, bright, clean and spacious. We are not gamblers but just love the buzz of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dazza63_13
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dazza63_13 Thank you for leaving a fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I have shared these lovely comments with our team as it is always such an encouragement to receive such positive feedback for their hard efforts. I am thrilled that you had a smooth, comfortable, beneficial and excellent stay from check in till departure. It is so great to...

Tweed Heads, Australia
Reviewed 18 July 2015

An absolute fiasco which panned out after an error at check-in left us with mixed memories of Sky City. The rooms our group stayed in were fine, the included breakfast was fine, the location of the hotel is ideal and being able to park the car under the building was a bonus. We booked through WOTIF and all our paperwork...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KandK2486
Colin_McClean, Hotel Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We were very disappointed that we made your check-in and check-out experiences difficult and unnecessarily complicated. We expect the transition into and out of our hotel to be seamless, refreshing, and professional. None of these terms would apply to your experience and we take responsibility for that. We have identified the mistakes we...

Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 16 July 2015

When I arrived quite early in the morning, my room was already available which I appreciated. The room was rather spacious and furnishing was convenient. Both, the room and the bathroom were perfectly clean. The location of the hotel is perfect as I could walk to the various sights and shopping in just a few minutes. I also enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank particular_travel
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear particular_travel Thank so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review on Trip Advisor. I am so thrilled to learn that your time spent here with us at SKYCITY Hotel was a pleasant and beneficial. I hope that during your stay here with us you were provided with the high standard of service that we pride...

Reviewed 14 July 2015 via mobile

Room comfortable - no wifi in room and no view of note either . Complained about wifi so were moved rooms . Wifi better in new room and view better too.. Slept well . Went to leave room next morning - safe not working , reported to reception at 11 not fixed when back by 4 . Also wifi down...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan B
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan B Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I would also like to share my gratitude for bringing these concerns you have raised to our attention as this is the only way in which we can improve ourselves in every aspect, including those which may not be so positive. I...

Reviewed 13 July 2015

The accommodation was comfortable, however for a family of two adults and two children (aged 11 and 7) we had two double beds. While my kids happily curl up together to sleep, we like a queen size bed, so we had a kid each for two nights. The internet was not working and while we were promised someone would fix...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann M, Thank you for your very honest review on Trip Advisor as we appreciate all forms of feedback, to assist us in improving all those areas our guests may have found we are lacking. It is very disappointing to learn that our team here at SKYCITY Hotel were unable to meet your expectations during your time here with...

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 13 July 2015

The hotel is in a great location. There are numerous restaurants, cafes and shopping stores surrounding the hotel. It is about a 10 minute walk to the harbor. The lobby is very busy since there is a casino on the 2nd level. However, once you get to your floor, it is very quiet. On our floor (and I assume every...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flipmc
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear flipmc Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great and descriptive review of your stay here with us at SKYCITY Hotel. We are very appreciative as I am sure so are those that read your review of the detail you have gone into. I am so delighted that our central location and all our great...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Very good stay, close to city, casino and entertainment. Very helpful staff. Can park car at facility. Rooms and hotel facilities very clean and modern. Would stay at this hotel again on a future visit.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianDB84
Helena_Ikitoelagi, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AdrianDB84 Thank you very much for your fantastic review on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled to learn our location and all the great amenities we have around SKYCITY complex were to your enjoyment and benefit. I do hope that our rooms were to your comfort and that you were able to get a good comfortable nights rest after an...

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (451)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (100)
Viewed
Bathroom (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (162)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 km away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#3 of 68 in Auckland
2,222 reviews
0.6 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
1.0 km away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 68 in Auckland
3,625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#7 of 68 in Auckland
1,050 reviews
0.4 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.2 km away
Rydges
Rydges
#14 of 68 in Auckland
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Centrally located, SKYCITY Hotel facilities are top-class, rooms are spacious and the iconic Sky Tower is right on your doorstep. Choose to dine in style at one of 20 plus restaurants, café and bars and experience the thrill of the world-class Casino. Wi-Fi is complimentary. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SKYCITY Hotel

Address: Corner Victoria & Federal Streets, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Price Range: $219 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SKYCITY Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your SKYCITY Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SKYCITY Hotel Auckland, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Auckland
#8 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#14 Business Hotel in Auckland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from SKYCITY Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Most rooms don't have a good view, but its location is hard to beat.”
 of 5 bubbles darrenhO7899WQ, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Views better from the higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles leoniew5558, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“H1 would be a good level to suggest”
 of 5 bubbles KarleyKat, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Do you homework before visiting”
 of 5 bubbles zoes76, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room with renovated bathroom.”
 of 5 bubbles YvonneTA, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay