We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.
Save
Share
373 Karangahape Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010 New Zealand
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
US$64
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/06/22
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Priceline
StayForLong
eDreamsUS$57
View all 12 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (5)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#4 of 132 Speciality lodging in Auckland Central
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Located in one of the best locations in Auckland, Haka Lodge brings a new class to the upmarket style of backpackers. This historic building has been meticulously redeveloped/restored to create a new industrial loft style backpackers with the newest furnishings, custom made beds and brand new hotel style mattresses. Make sure you stay at the best!
Read more
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
24-hour security
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
571Reviews8Q+A71Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 359
  • 159
  • 37
  • 13
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
coolguynz wrote a review 16 Jan
1 contribution
I Stayed last night in a Double Ensuite Room and wow it was beyond expectations. Firstly I was greeted by a friendly gentleman who assisted with my wifi and locating/entering of room/lodge everything was perfect the shower had hot water and the bed was comfy with a fan providing maIn air conditioning the tv was useful too positioned safely no problem with carparking found one easily in daytime the only downfall was would have been ideal see private kitchen facilities and utensils a microwave ? Maybe also advise when you are deducting payment beforehand as I had no idea it was paid apart from that I would indeed stay there again in future and I did not mind the noise on Saturday evening right thru after midnight
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: January 2022
Helpful
Share
saski0sen wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
Stayed here for the first time about five years ago and stayed again in 2021 for a couple of nights just before Christmas and it was super clean, perfect location and friendly staff. Seems like it's all well organized. Will definitely stay again.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: December 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 2 weeks ago
Kia ora SaskiOsen, Thank you for your wonderful review, It's a great location right? and even though we are biased we think our staff are pretty great. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you again someday soon. Nga mihi Kirsty
Read more
matildabhowe wrote a review Aug 2021
Whangarei, New Zealand1 contribution
It was alright for the price we paid considering we only stayed there to sleep but the bathroom smelt like mould and you could see it coming from the air vents, my partner said he could smell weed from the room next door and the flusher on the toilet was broken. BUT can’t complain that much considering it 80 for the night compared to 400 for a hotel or airBNB
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Kia Ora Matilda, Thank you for taking the time to share your review, We will look into the bathroom, and review our cleaning practices. we apologise for the behaviour of the guests next door, this is certainly not the norm for our lodge. Ngā mihi, Kirsty
Read more
Yomama2021 wrote a review Aug 2021
Wellington, New Zealand1 contribution
The black heather in the room didn’t work. Got back to the room at 1AM and froze my ass off in there. Didn’t get any sleep. Too cold to sleep. I wouldn’t recommend the place even if it’s cheap. Not worth it unless you like the freezing cold.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: August 2021
Helpful
Share
Response from Kirsty Malone, Other at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 29 Aug 2021
Kia Ora Yomama2021, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, We would like to apologise that the heating in your room was not working, if you would like to get in touch with us and let us know which room your were in so we can address this issue please flick us an email auckland@hakalodge.com Ngā mihi, Naomi and the team at Haka Lodge Auckland
Read more
Meg wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
Stayed two nights and enjoyed my time. Despite being in a busy area hostel is quiet. Adequate amenities clean and tidy and super friendly staff. Pricing is fair too for the budget conscious traveller. Highly recommend and will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Colette Leonard, General Manager at Haka Lodge Auckland
Responded 1 Jun 2021
Kia ora Solo_megs, Thanks for the wonderful feedback - we are so pleased you had a great stay with us and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back again soon! Nga mihi, Naomi and the team at Haka Lodge Auckland
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$26 - US$73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandAucklandAuckland Central
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Haka Lodge Auckland
Which popular attractions are close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Nearby attractions include Real Groovy Records (0.5 km), Karangahape Road (K Road) (0.3 km), and Eagle Bar (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Haka Lodge Auckland?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, laundry service, and self serve laundry.
What are some restaurants close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Conveniently located restaurants include Azabu, Apero Food & Wine, and Sri Penang.
Are any cleaning services offered at Haka Lodge Auckland?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Haka Lodge Auckland?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Parnell (2.6 km), Eden Garden (2.3 km), and Auckland Town Hall (0.8 km).