We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Emerald Hotel

Show Prices
#11 of 27 Hotels in Gisborne
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Emerald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

264 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Emerald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 259: English reviews
Gisborne Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 March 2015

Happily recommend the Quality Hotel Emerald and top marks for some excellent customer service from staff that made all the difference. Big thank you to Sophie and Kyle who really made our stay even better and went out of their way to ensure all possible done that could have been. We will be back again without a doubt!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C S
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear C S, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and our staff's customer service was notable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next stay. Regards, Guest Relations

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 19 February 2015 via mobile

The moment we opened our door we were blown away. The room was gorgeous and had everything we needed. From the bath to the extra bedroom to the plunger coffee. Great value. Will stay there every time we travel to Gisborne.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily W, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoy your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Regards, Guest Relations

BAY OF ISLANDS, NZ
Reviewed 3 February 2015

My husband and I spent a night in Gisborne in mid-January, and chose the Quality Hotel Emerald & Conference Centre for it's central location. On arrival we were warmly greeted, and then told we had been up-graded to a river view suite. Wonderful. It was a very spacious suite, and it was great to shower and freshen up after a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank RUTH S
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruth, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in your complimentary upgraded Executive River View Room and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Gisborne. Regards, Guest Relations

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 26 January 2015

I arrived during a blackout but the staff coped quite well. I was given a suite with two bedrooms and a large balcony...it was very spacious. Business travel and conferences are their bread and butter and I'm sure that audience appreciate the space. Everything - bed, shower, towels - was okay, not spectacular but good. There's a fridge, tea &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ThePackedBag, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we do look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next trip to Gisborne. Regards

Reviewed 25 January 2015 via mobile

Loved this hotel! Very handy to CBD, amazing pool and facilities. Huge, comfy bed, very clean and the girl on the front desk was lovely and helpful. This may be me being very picky but I have only given 4 stars because while our room was lovely, there was a weird smell... Like commercial cleaning products in an office building....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kataly
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kataly, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the smell from our cleaning products, we will review these to see if there is another option. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Gisborne. Regards

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 January 2015

I was disappointed by the lack of basic good service. Simple requests were not acted upon. I ended up leaving earlier than planned. The impression is that the hotel is struggling judged by the low number of clients for a hotel with 50 rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PietervdW7
Reviewed 9 January 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room was Spartan in its amenities. There was only one small waste bin. There was no pen or paper supplied. There was no bath mat. When a bath mat did appear a towel disappeared! The toiletries were scant and not replaced with each room service. The bar fridge was designed purely to vend mini bar...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Wandiemoo
Guest_RelationsQHE, General Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wandiemoo. We appreciate your feedback. We sincerely apologise for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. We are currently reviewing our service standards and product delivery. Kind Regards, Stuart Geddes

Reviewed 7 January 2015

Have stayed here a few times with business and it is always great. Clean and tidy room with great facilities. This time visited with family and had a great double room with pool view and huge balcony. Unfortunately due to rain the pool was closed! Tiles slippery so made pool area a hazard, kids very disappointed but I understood the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jason P
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jason, Thank you for your feedback. We love to hear from our regular guests and that you have the chance to experience the hotel with your family. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next trip to Gisborne. Regards

Campinas, São Paulo, Brazil
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We had a very nice stay! The room was amazing and we had a view to the lake. Not to mention the friendly staff, who made our experience even more pleasant! The hotel is also very clean, central, and great value.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaristelaBento
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaristelaBento, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next trip to Gisborne. Regards,

Reviewed 5 January 2015 via mobile

We had a two night stay and were impressed with the enormous room. It had a separate bedroom and a large terrace, which had a six seater outdoor table overlooking the pool area. The room was clean and modern, with lots of cupboard space and drawers that would be good for longer stays. The restaurant opens out onto the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RaqueDD
Guest_RelationsQHE, Guest Relations Manager at Emerald Hotel, responded to this review

Dear RaqueDD, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our spacious rooms and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel upon your next visit to Gisborne. Regards

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
0.5 km away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
3.3 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#2 of 27 in Gisborne
192 reviews
4.4 km away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Senator Motor Inn
Senator Motor Inn
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
175 reviews
0.8 km away
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
Captain Cook Motor Lodge
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
84 reviews
1.4 km away
Ahi Kaa
Ahi Kaa
#10 of 27 in Gisborne
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
In the heart of beautiful sunny Gisborne you'll find the very welcoming Emerald Hotel & Conference Centre. It's a hotel that offers all the benefits of boutique accommodation right in the midst of the city centre, and is the Gisborne's first fully-integrated hotel and conference facility. Spacious rooms overlook stunning vistas across the inner harbour through to the historic Kaiti Hill, to the surrounding hills, across beautiful rivers and, from the executive apartments, out to Young Nick's Head. It's the perfect place to host conferences, meetings, weddings and gatherings. As a full service hotel guests don't even need to leave the hotel for anything, although it is close to other cafes, restaurants, shops and city attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Emerald Hotel

Address: 13 Gladstone Road | PO Box 2143, Gisborne 4010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: $127 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Emerald Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emerald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Hotel Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Gisborne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Emerald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room not on the main road.”
Leahmac09, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view over the river”
818bevanh, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Pay attention to the bed type.”
  • It is really this close.
  • this is 2 beds put together.
TheGreatBumble, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“AVOID a room facing on to the main street”
Humphrey_Wright, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“River view side”
29colleenc, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5