We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hicks Bay Motel Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 286: English reviews
Tauranga
Reviewed 16 January 2015

Clean and tidy with a swimming pool and bush track down to beach below. What made this memorable was the onsite restaurant. It was like stepping back in time although the wind choice was great. Clearly the Cook had not heard of herbs as a garnish, on food anyway as the scallops came with a dollop of cream on top....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We send out an automatic email after departure to clients to review us on trip advisor. Thank you for your comments.

Auckland
Reviewed 9 January 2015

Wasnt quite sure what to expect from previous reviews so my advice would be to go with an open mind and definitely worth the stay for the good nights sleep in the most luxuriously comfortable bed I have slept in. It is definitely like something from a time-warp with the mid-century furniture (Formica) and kiwi No.8-wire ingenuity with regards to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank benson45
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

High season rates run for three weeks and do not reflect our regular season rates, please check online. All the best to you and thank you for your candid comments.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2015

Hicks Bay Lodge is a one-off! Built 50 years ago on a bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean, it is still in original condition. But that doesn't deflect from the extraordinary scenery, native bush, nearby bays and beaches. It is surely one of the most idyllic spots in the North Island and certainly well worth the long windy drive to get...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Maggie D
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Oh do we like you! Thank you for expressing yourself.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We booked into a one bedroom (3 people) for a recent family event which was held locally. For the cost of the room we thought it was very reasonable, we had the bedroom, our daugher had the lounge. Our last minute cancellation of another room for two other family members was received with no drama & the friendly staff didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pigandrooster
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We have always been a convenient stop over on the Pacific Coast Highway. Thank you for taking your time to review us.

Reviewed 4 January 2015 via mobile

This place is a "blast from the past", but partially modernised and spotlessly clean, with abundant linen & comfortable bed. If you want The Ritz or the latest mod-cons then stay in a city somewhere and miss the spectacular views, abundant bird life (I slept through an amazing dawn chorus my wife tells me), remote location, and friendly hosts. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David P
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We welcome all happy travellers at Hicks Bay. Embrace each other and create those memories everywhere you travel. Thank you so much for contributing online for us.

Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 January 2015

There was no TV's in the rooms - probably not replaced with the digital changeover as the cable was still laying on the floor. The wait staff and cleaning staff were always happy to help There is a 20 - 30 minute walk down the cliff to the nearest beach. At the restaurant my wife ordered the $20 vegetable platter...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RussRascal
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

With government regulated time and one half plus day in lieu we have no other choice than to dramatically increase our rates over the three week holiday period. Hope you have nice memories of Hicks Bay.

Auckland
Reviewed 3 January 2015

We tented at the back with a stunning view over the bay with access to a room for toilet/shower. Despite booking & paying for 3 nights we got a refund because we wanted to leave a day early. That was nice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jaklnz
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We offer a powered site and if you choose to tent we give you a key to a small room with toilet and shower facilities. Thank you for your time online.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We knew the lodge would be basic accommodation, despite paying a premium for the time of year. However we felt these were unacceptable: No smoke alarm 5 buzzing blow flies that we needed to use fly spray for Dirty cups - overlooked by cleaner - there were still the dregs of coffee in them Dirty floor in bathroom, particularly in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Garnick
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your honest comments. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey on the Pacific Coast Highway.

Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 December 2014

This was our second time staying at the Hicks Bay Hotel, the first time, 7 years ago, the pool was out of commission, but thankfully was OK this time. The rooms were clean and well appointed, with adequate utensils, mugs, plates etc. One towel & facecloth provided per guest, these were not changed during our three day stay! The Restaurant:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana C
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We don't intend to change the motel much as a lot of refurbishment has been accomplished. We keep it the 60s style and look forward to anyone who wishes to enjoy this type of motel. Thank you your helping us manage client expectation.

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 December 2014

Great! Just modernise your showers, get an Italian espresso machine for the restaurant and training from a barista in Wellington (don't trust anyone who doesn't have tattoos!) and you'll be perfect. :-)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FarmersSon
Patahi, Manager at Hicks Bay Motel Lodge, responded to this review

We offer the ability to interrupt your daily expected routine and enjoy what the local ngati porou have kept in a natural state. All the best to you.

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gisborne hotels
121.4 km away
Emerald Hotel
Emerald Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gisborne
261 reviews
121.9 km away
Portside Hotel - Heritage Collection
123.1 km away
Motel Oasis
Motel Oasis
#1 of 27 in Gisborne
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
121.9 km away
Waikanae Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
123.0 km away
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
Ocean Beach Motor Lodge
#6 of 27 in Gisborne
163 reviews
121.9 km away
Beachcomber Motel
Beachcomber Motel
#7 of 27 in Gisborne
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
...where the morning sun first meets the horizon...1960s Kiwiana - defining what it is to be Kiwi. Set on a 14 acre bluff, 250 meters above sea level, in historic and botanical protected -- unspoiled -- countryside. where peace and tranquility abound. Overlooking the beautiful Hicks Bay Waterways 40 rooms with 175 person total capacity. AMENITIES. Outdoor Swimming Pool. Bush walks. Restaurant -- 60 person seating capacity. Breakfast and Dinner prepared by Maori chef with freshly prepared sauces, vegetables - served homestyle. Shop and Bottle Store. Internet access, Payphone, and Guest laundry. Playground and Pool Table. Glowworm Grotto and Rock Fishing. East Cape Maritime Lighthouse accessible to the public, 35km.Located midway between Opotiki and Gisborne on the Pacific Coast Highway. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hicks Bay Motel Lodge

Address: 5198 Te Araroa Road, Gisborne, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Gisborne Region > Gisborne
Price Range: $136 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hicks Bay Motel Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hicks Bay Motel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hicks Bay Hotel Gisborne
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gisborne
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hicks Bay Motel Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Hicks Bay Motel Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Motel rooms close to the glowworm grotto seem to be quietest”
 of 5 bubbles 290grantn, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't stop here.”
 of 5 bubbles 155richard81, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“great view but choose one with its own kitchen and take your own food rather rather eat in the restuarant”
 of 5 bubbles nzmarkb, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“units closest to the sea have outside decks and views”
 of 5 bubbles , 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get one of the front units with best sea views”
 of 5 bubbles jamesk631, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5