We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ashwood Manor

Show Prices
#15 of 64 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ashwood Manor
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

99 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Ashwood Manor
See the most recent reviews
Showing 97: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

What a great hotel at a great price. Wanted to stay another night instead of moving on to Auckland, but booked out. Friendly helpful staff at reception, gorgeous bed, clean kitchenette and great huge bathroom. Towels beautiful and fluffy, hot water and great pressure, free milk at arrival, ample parking. Great location. Can't fault it! Didn't want to get out...

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Evaliiiiii, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your positive feedback. Our beds are made by NZ's best, Bedpost, thus we are happy that you enjoyed it. Have a nice holiday, we are hoping to see you again. Light

Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Stayed here for 5 nights, 3 of which were with our 5 year old son. The room was smaller than I anticipated and the advertised kitchenette was only a microwave (although oddly, cooking utensils were supplied). The room needs a bit of maintenance - loose switches, a buzzing light, and a very noisy fridge. The broken chair was replaced immediately...

Thank Ed R
Evaliiiiii, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your positive feedback. We do provide extra kitchen supplies as required. We share our parking with another two companies, hence we cannot assign parking spaces to our customers, but after 5pm the parking spaces belong to our customers. Have a nice holiday, we are hoping to see you again. Light

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2016

It’s really cheap for a nice room with a private spa. It smelled a little strange hence why I gave it four stars instead of five but besides that I absolutely love it and will be going back. For the price, I think it's perfect.

Thank WiniFM
Evaliiiiii, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hello, thank you for your positive feedback. We do try to provide our customers with a quality stay for a cheaper price. Have a nice holiday, we are hoping to accommodate you again. Light

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Greeted by a pretty lady who checked us in made my day! The accommodation was basic and clean. The hotel offered a range of services, cooked breakfast restaurant billing etc. The hotel is right on the edge of town but within walking distance. At $90 per night is good value!

Thank Alfa353
Evaliiiiii, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for your positive feedback. It is good that we were able to provide you with an accommodation that you enjoyed. Have a nice holiday, we are hoping to see you again. Light

New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I have never been so disappointed with a stay , and we have had many, Mouldy ceilings in the bathroom, floors not vacuumed around and just under bed, dirty scum formed in the spa in bathroom, I emptied it and cleaned it first, NO PARKING by your unit, anyone parks anywhere, even around the back down the bottom of the...

Thank faysie62
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Faye, I am sorry to hear you had such a terrible stay with us and you found everything so disappointing. If only you had said something to us about our cooking facilities as we have table top hot plates, mini ovens, electric frying pans, pots and pans and extra utensils available on request. We do have fans and heaters in...

Reviewed 22 August 2016 via mobile

Have just returned from a trip to Hamilton for a training course. I stayed 3 nights at Ashwood Manor Motel after making a last minute booking on wotif. It was within 10mins walk of the venue I was training at, had great parking, a comfortable, clean, large and fairly peaceful room (given I was on the ground floor). Daily service...

Thank Laura H
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words Laura. There's nothing better than a nice cup of coffee in the mornings :-)

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Nice room, clean comfortable with everything you may need for a night or two. They offer a massage service for $80 an hour. Didnt try it, seemed unusual to me. Two double beds in the room, great if you had kids I guess. Some road noise could be heard, sirens and loud exhausts. I'm sure the opposite wing wouldn't get...

Thank shakey999uk
AshwoodManor, Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hi the massage service is for some long-driving guests ,who want to have a relaxation in the room.We are pleased to provide it for all the guests~

Reviewed 6 August 2016

Needed somewhere for a one-night stay on-route from the Northland down towards Napier. The Ashwood Manor was easy to find and was very comfortable for our one nights stay. While it looks close to the hospital, we were not disturbed by any traffic noise and found that we arrived in time to take a walk around the river and through...

Thank Anna C
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Many thanks for your lovely review. Just to let you know, we are also close to Hamilton Lake which has a great walking/running track plus cafe :-)

Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

Good clean stopping place. The jetted tub was amazing! The rooms are big, complete with a mini kitchen and seating area. The beds are fairly comfortably, if a bit soft. The breakfasts are very overpriced for what you get. The staff is nice and helpful.

Thank Alyse M
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Hi Alyse Thank you for the great review. Our jetted tubs are amazing and we hope to see you back again real soon.

Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Stayed one night on a business trip with a colleague and found the place very comfortable. The air freshener smell was a bit strong but acceptable. The location is within walking distance of the main restaurant street in Hamilton, which makes it convenient. All in all a good experience.

Thank Ignimbrite
AshwoodManor, Front Office Manager at Ashwood Manor, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Room/Suite (13)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
View from Room (6)
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
907 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
220 reviews
0.7 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#11 of 64 in Hamilton
148 reviews
1.6 km away
Arena Court Motor Lodge
Arena Court Motor Lodge
#6 of 64 in Hamilton
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ashwood Manor is quality motel accommodation situated in the heart of Hamilton's CBD, only a 5 minute stroll to the main restaurant and entertainment centre. Our central location makes us handy to Waikato and Braemar Hospitals, Hamilton Lake, Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, & so much more. We have 27 modern Studio and Studio Spar Suites, 18 of them with in-room self-filling deep water Spa pools. Our rooms are comfortable and private, each with Sky TV, a Flat Screen TV, Free WiFi (conditions apply), Kitchenette & En suite. So, whether you are in town for business or leisure then Ashwood Manor is an ideal home away from home during your stay in Hamilton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashwood Manor

Address: 16 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $91 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ashwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashwood Manor staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“upstairs rooms probably preferable”
 of 5 bubbles bianca5699, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Away from the entrance”
 of 5 bubbles DandB53, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 12 ground floor with car parked outside door.”
 of 5 bubbles RayJ506, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“i prefer ground level to save lugging bags upstairs”
 of 5 bubbles 563lindyj, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 24 has an awesome view”
 of 5 bubbles DellyJelly, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5