We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador
See the most recent reviews
Showing 187: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 27 December 2015

Pretty much like the title says. We had a really bad feeling about it judging by the buildings themselves, but the room inside was clean and reasonably newly renovated, although pretty basic. There's not an awful lot to do in Hamilton itself, so if you're looking for a cheap place to sleep overnight (like we were), it does the job.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rob H
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. Kind regards

Burpengary, Australia
Reviewed 16 December 2015

The price was right and the hotel is located within walking distance to the main city precinct. Our room was located on the 4th level of the newer block. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom is very small. The complex is dated and despite advising reception as soon as we arrived that there was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kris_is_here
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. Kind regards

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff, gave useful information for the surrounds and even helped me get a map for the local bank. Cheap rates Good sized rooms, got a free upgrade. Very comfortable. Rooms were exceptional clean, vey happy. Next to a big food mall, convenient for food. No complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wutosama
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. Kind regards

Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 November 2015 via mobile

Old and falling apart, With mold and rotten bathroom. However roomie and cheap. Catch 22. Front door couldn't open and couldn't be properly fix till next day and no other rooms available. Just first impression so we will seen how the next 2 nights go.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dan R
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. Kind regards

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Being central is about the only thing going for this property. Price is good if you just want basic. Right across the road from Pak n Sav which is good for food shopping. Room had been a little bit modernised, but could do with some more refurbishment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stubbies35
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. Kind regards

Waihi Beach, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

Loved our stay here.. Room was nice and spacious clean and comfortable.. Not noisy only if you have yr balcony door open... Everything was great just didn't go to the restaurant here.. But they have the Helm across the road and paknsave..

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shiann T
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. Kind regards

Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights it was so cheap I wasn't expecting the room to be so good for the price so happy the room was clean plenty of space Sky TV free wifi across from pack and save has a spa and a pool amazing customer service will be staying here again and huge breakfast in bed for good...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Bianca M
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and work hard to constantly increase the quality of our guest’s experiences. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you return in the future. Kind regards

Harstad, Norway
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

We grabbed a last minute deal when we suddenly went to spend a weekend in Hamilton. That made the price worthwhile and the location is quite good. There's also a large supermarket and an excellent bar across the road. There was a bit of traffic noise but not bad enough to keep us awake. A guy who might have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seadragon99
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad service you experienced when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. Kind regards

Auckland
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Check in okay and room itself was fine on an upper floor of the tower block. However the fact toilet paper and soap and shampoo came from a dispenser gave the place the feeling of a budget youth hostel. The bathroom was in dire need of a makeover and the cups for making coffee were filthy. Left bags there for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequentflyer861
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again. Kind regards

Hastings, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 October 2015

On booking in we were given a room on the top floor. ( great views and a lift ) but we weren't informed about any road noise. We didn't arrive to after 5pm and went straight too the bar restaurant. On our return to our room we found the car noise was bad even ear plugs didn't eliminate it. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Doug H
Ambassador_Team, Manager at Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate your feedback. We truly apologise for the bad experience you had when you stayed with us recently and are grateful for you bringing it to our attention so we can quickly work to ensure this doesn’t occur again.

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (84)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.0 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.4 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
193 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 65 in Hamilton
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 65 in Hamilton
139 reviews
1.7 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#14 of 65 in Hamilton
88 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 65 in Hamilton
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Central to Hamilton Events and Entertainment.Located in the heart of the city amidst shopping, entertainment and the CBD, Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is within short walking distance to Waikato stadium, Claudelands Event Centre, Seddon Park cricket grounds and only 20 minutes from Hamilton International Airport.Relax in one of 51 guestrooms and suites, cool off in the pool, enjoy a wine in the house bar or dine in Retrospect, the family friendly restaurant with fresh seasonal cuisine. The Quality Hotel at The Ambassador is the ultimate location for the corporate traveler to large sporting or tour groups looking for that iconic touch. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador

Address: 86 Ulster Street | Whitiora, Hamilton 3240, New Zealand (Formerly The Ambassador Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $115 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Hamilton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Quality Hotel @ The Ambassador staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book directly with the establishment, get a better room. .Request a room facing away from the roading intersection”
 of 5 bubbles Sutton58, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel rooms overpriced for basic room.”
 of 5 bubbles ToniB165, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“easy access to CBD”
 of 5 bubbles fairyLondon_Uk, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with air conditioning during the summer.”
  • View from our room. No AC and that fan didn't help too much.
 of 5 bubbles katiesP6263QW, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Free internet was the only bonus”
 of 5 bubbles Jackie771, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay