We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

57 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton
See the most recent reviews
Showing 57: English reviews
Hamilton
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for one night in a spa room and it was great. The service was fantastic, the staff were very helpful. The room was clean and very comfortable and the huge spa was great! Very good value and handy to town

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alw82
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

I am really happy that you enjoyed you stay! we hope to see you again in the future :)

Levin, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stumbled on this hotel through this site and noticed that it had poor reviews up to about 6 weeks ago, so we thought we would try it for ourselves and see if it had improved. The Hosts and owners Pete and Sandy are very friendly and very accommodating. They have only owned the hotel for a couple of months...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glen S
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Wow... that's lovely of you to say, we are making steady progress toward our goal of making this a go to destination in Hamilton , I hope you will come again soon and see for yourself the improvements we have done since your last stay :)

Wanaka, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 May 2014

stayed one night and found the staff and owners really friendly and helpful. They have recently brought the complex and have a huge challenge ahead but in a short time have made significant improvements. The rooms are tired but present very well with new curtains and very pleasing accessories. Unlike previous reports everything worked well, the shower was great and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Pauline B
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

its great to hear that you were pleasantly surprised with our upgrades... and we have made so much more improvements since your stay we would love for you to come back and check them all out :)

Whangarei Heads, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Nothing worked : Sky TV, Internet , Refrigerator , microwave ... sad old worn ...window locks broken , one window cracked ... we checked in late about 9 PM and office closed so we were left with no recourse but to accept place " as is " Skip the place and stay at a well maintained place instead so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard1901
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

I understand that you were "aggravated" with the state of some things in your room, At the time of your stay with us we had owned the hotel for 4 weeks and lived on site - there for the office was and is always open ..... , we have spent the time since making numerous improvements. I'm sorry you've not...

Studley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Four of us stayed here and we're very disappointed. The list of problems are to many to list, but our main gripes were ventilation fan in toilet/shower didn't work and the window opened into the bedroom! Very shabby throughout kettle had to be filled from sink in toilet and cups washed in basin. Holes in bedroom wall etc.etc. give this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mutly999
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is now under new management and we have made substantial improvements in the last 12 months. we would like the opportunity to change your mind.

Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After staying in this hotel we were disgusted at the service, cleanliness and also paying for a room we did not get. We payed for a King and got what they said was a queen but we believe it was a double. My wife had to sleep in the single bed as there was not enough room. They were both...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca H
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Masterton, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

While that guy on reception was nice enough the rooms were pretty appalling We had a holethe wall above the bed. The form of heating in the room was a very old very loud fan type heater. The decor was very dated, although appeared clean. The bathroom was not so clean and the bath was rather hard to get in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionna O
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Got to agree with most of the reviews. If New Zealand is CLEAN as is promoted by government then this type of accom should not exist, but it does and its not the only one on the golden mile strip that should be taken to the cleaners. My room although good size has had very little done to it since...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waikatosflyingkiwi
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Lady on reception was pleasant and friendly. However, my unit was dark, dirty and with a bad smell. Interiors shabby and outdated. Did not want to use the shower because of the grime. Couldn't wait until morning so I could get out of the place - terrible!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina K
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Didnt enjoy - exterior door lock broken. upgraded - security card didnt work, tv had 1 channel, bath tap fell off, steamed out (no extraction fan), jug couldnt fit under tap. Dropped key off to be greeted a woman who didnt even smile. Wont be back .... so dated:-(

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ally A
Peter C, Owner at Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton, responded to this review

Alcamo Hotel is under new management and we have made vast improvements in the last 12 months we would like the opportunity to change your mind

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ai piedi del Monte Bonifato, immersi nella natura a 3km dalla città, unico B&B con possibilità di pagare le ore effettive di pernottamento, servizi disponibili come il trasfert aeroportuale da e per PA/TP, escursioni Isole Egadi, Terme Segestane e tanto altro, possibilità di pensione completa. Tutte le camere con bagno interno, parcheggio custodito privato. Area meeting e conferenze. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton

Address: 290 Ulster Street, Hamilton 3200, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $131 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcamo Hotel Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alcamo Hotel - Hamilton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The wifi was not strong, the room was definitely needed an upgrade; looked like it was straight out of the 1980s”
tearikit, 7 Dec 2016 | Read review
“You can have wi-fi in some room, insist with reception and check first thing in the room”
Flipper095, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Budget $99.00 rooms or rooms with deep spa baths or by pool.”
834karinaf, 9 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Our tip, don't go there until the place is smartened-up”
olddog460, 17 Apr 2015 | Read review
“If you are travelling as a couple, grab a bottle of your favourite wine and try out the spa bath.”
GlenS361, 8 Jun 2014 | Read review
5 of 5