We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

VR Hamilton Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
VR Hamilton Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

283 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for VR Hamilton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2016

The first room we were given on a not busy Monday night was unbelievable. It was dark due to having one small window to the side of the room and smelled when we walked in. We later saw this was down to the huge area of black mold all over and thick on the entire window sill and all over... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CeeChap
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

" I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. It was very easy to find to the city, rooms were clean, staff are very pleasant and helpful, breakfast was plentiful and included in room rate. Love your City!" Every thing was really convenience.

Helpful?
Thank KendraMaxwell
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The worst place we have stayed at, as far as cleanliness goes. The receptionist was lovely and the location is good - but seriously they are no reasons to stay again. How on earth is it rated 4 ⛤ (star)??? People don't let the website pictures fool you.

Helpful?
Thank EFFISHIENT

Travellers are raving about these Hamilton hotels

Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Had to stay here on business for two nights. The room was very filthy. The bathroom towel rails were gone, just the brackets on the wall, toilet seat broken, toilet roll holder comes off the wall, shower had not been cleaned properly for a long time and grime everywhere. We founf a beer bottle top just inside the door in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Disappointed255114
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve our service to other guests. We are sorry that your stay with us was not top notch and we would certainly like to make it up and welcome you back again. We hope to see you back again and do drop me an... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2016

My partner and I got a groupon deal and stayed on a Saturday night. The music from the nightclub across the road started booming at about 8pm and the noise from the drunks did not stop until 4.30am. The night club closed at 3am but despite pouring rain the very loud noise continued. There were noisy cars racing up and... More 

Helpful?
Thank FGWW
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your feedback as it helps us to improve our service to other guests. We are sorry that your stay with us was not top notch and we would certainly like to make it up and welcome you back again. We are happy to note that you liked the breakfast and restaurant... More 

Brisbane
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on two seperate occasions. The first night was great! Huge room,quiet and reasonably clean. The second time however, we had a outside room that looked down on the Main Street and being a Saturday night, it was sooo noisy!! Fights, yelling, police! So ask for an inside room if you like the quiet. Also, the walls are... More 

Helpful?
Thank AmandaNAva
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you liked our room and cleanliness. I am sorry to hear that your second stay was not upto your expectations. As you know we are on the main and busiest street of Hamilton and we have no control on outside noise. The... More 

Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

After booking a secret deal online we read the reviews and were extremely scared, they were all true, rooms are very run down, we had the one with the hole in the bathroom roof, mould, car park access from dodgy alley via kitchen entry and staff not so friendly which I understand as they must receive many complaints. I guess... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norris3
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not upto your expectations. We at the hotel try our best to avoid any discomfort. However we make every effort to provide a high degree of customer service to all our guests. The points highlighted by you have been attended... More 

Taupo
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

This hotel is really convenient for the CBD and has some great eateries right on its doorstep. My room had the potential to be very noisy - at time of check in, I could hear every sound from my neighbors room perfectly and I cringed at the thought of them having a late night interrupting my sleep. Luckily this didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank C_Croft
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. We are happy to note that you liked the location of the hotel and comfortable beds. The points highlighted by you have been attended to and we wish to thank you for the same. We now look forward to your next stay. Kind Regards, Ashwin More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is a living remnant from another era, struggling to compete but doing so with its own quirks of personality and with some dignity. You'll either love it or loathe it. We were intrigued by it and so grateful for the absolutely huge room as we were travelling with our grandchildren. Bring your sense of humour. Things are not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dee M
hco_reservations, Manager at VR Hamilton Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that. I shall certainly convey your complements to our staff. Its good to... More 

Katikati
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The hotel is located in the city centre which is great as you're near the restaurants however it is also opposite a night club which is open until the small hours of the morning! The hotel does not have double glazing - in fact the windows do not close properly so it's very noisy. The room itself was large but... More 

Helpful?
Thank susanh1958

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (66)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 km away
Quest on Ward
Quest on Ward
#13 of 65 in Hamilton
135 reviews
0.4 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 65 in Hamilton
885 reviews
0.3 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 65 in Hamilton
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
Sudima Hotel Hamilton
#46 of 65 in Hamilton
99 reviews
0.5 km away
Ashwood Manor
Ashwood Manor
#14 of 65 in Hamilton
88 reviews
1.8 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 65 in Hamilton
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
VR Hamilton Hotel is located within a stunning heritage listed building in the heart of the Hamilton city. With its beautiful surroundings, VR Hamilton Hotel continues to impress and satisfy its guests through providing the warmth and genuine hospitality that has become the hallmark of the Hotel. A versatile set of function rooms, comfortable and high quality accommodation, combined with our attentive and friendly team makes VR Hamilton Hotel a great venue for business or leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about VR Hamilton Hotel

Address: 237 Victoria Street | Corner Victoria & Collingwood Sts, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand (Formerly Hamilton City Oaks)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $96 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — VR Hamilton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your VR Hamilton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Grand Hamilton
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from VR Hamilton Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid at all cost !”
 of 5 bubbles ThomasT772, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Another Hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Glyder69, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“On the street upstairs at the front was good for us, and those who like a view.”
 of 5 bubbles 842brucec, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't ever stay here”
  • window sill in the better room
 of 5 bubbles CeeChap, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles deemI1331XD, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay