We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 219: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Stayed here 2 nights. Location is OK for travellers but no decent restaurants within easy walking distance - had to drive to a shopping mall, not exactly fine dining. Can't comment on the meals at the hotel, its a large place and there weren't many guests so the atmosphere wasn't very appealing. Very large rooms and plenty of space in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin D
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Wouldn't recommend this accommodation, very misleading with its advertising. Went to check in after 2.30pm to be told our room was not ready. After checkin, we had to walk through white plaster dust to get to our room,, as it was all over the carpet, a guy was sanding, with the door wide open, across the hallway, very dusty ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindiloo1
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed one night in their standard room. The room was out dated, but clean with basic facilities. The bed was awfully uncomfortable as were the pillows. The duvet between the sheets was yellow. The walls were thin as we heard chatter from the rooms around us. The bathroom carries basic facilities. The pool/spa that were available to use were somewhat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebony A
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We are currently undertaking room refurbishment in 55 of our rooms. This includes relining all the walls and ceiling to make the level of noise proofing very high. The rooms will be completely brand new and once the first 55 are complete we will continue to upgrade the other rooms. I...

new zealand
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Love the pool Love the price Hotel rooms are ok, look bit old but are comfy. We went there for couple nights for a family get away from auckland Great hotel for the value. They got lots of rooms to acommodate big events as well. Definitely will be back :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dith96
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are very proud of our facilities and are very glad you enjoyed the pool. Our rooms are currently undergoing major refurbishment and the first of the refurbished rooms will be available in the next few weeks. Its very exciting. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Limerick, Ireland
Reviewed 9 December 2016

This hotel is a large hotel on the outskirts of Hamilton. I was here in November and only for one night. When I arrived I was greeted by a friendly receptionist who could not do more to assist me in finding my room. I made my way to the room and was pleased to see that I had a large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren_R_Beckett
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. The Hotel was purchased by Distinction Hotel Group in February this year after being under the same ownership for 18 years. We are currently undertaking major refurbishment in our accommodation rooms. These will be available early next year. Thank you for your kind remarks about the staff- they are certainly a great team. This is...

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 December 2016

this place looked very nice i wish i had stayed here with the team looked much nicer than the place i stayed at, as family members of the team we where made very welcome Thankyou, My son Matty who stayed here said the room he had was very nice and a very good bed and the food was very very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank supergranny59
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. All the staff at the hotel really enjoyed having the special Olympics teams stay with us. We would love to see you all again.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 November 2016

I went to this hotel to register myself for Special Olympics on 24 November 2016 and collected handbooks from this hotel! I also got to see my Special Olympics group there and there was sweet popcorns which I snacked on and did not like these sweet popcorns!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sonali B
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thanks for the review. We hope you had a great time at the Special Olympics event.

Auckland
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We recently had our trade conference at this function Centre. The food was below standard, often cold, unappealing. They served burgers to us at an Awards dinner. I found the cleanliness of the room very poor also. There were stains in the bath that I wiped away. My colleagues found their sheets had not been changed. The decor is tired...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank egeka844
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments differ greatly from the bulk of the feedback we received. The organisers made a point of telling us how well the conference had gone and how good the food and service was. Please remember that it is the company having the conference that selects the food served- not...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 23 November 2016

We were pleased with the outside, the foyer and the staff but that's where it ended. The 'block' our unit was in was on the road so it was noisy. The corridors are long and hae carpet patches where other carpet tiles have become worn or damaged....the original carpet is beige...the patches are blue. The room was dirty, the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz G
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. You will be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of refurbishing 55 of our accommodation rooms. The carpet tiles you refer too are actually the pattern- beige and brown. They are not patches that we have tried to fix. However there is no excuse for your...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Originally Kinsgate, booked for 5 people for 3 nights and got a written quote. When we arrived, found Hotel had changed ownership. They verbally said they would honour original agreement, but then overcharged us and refused to negotiate. Would NEVER stay here again or recommend it to anyone wanting a honest friendly Hotel. Complained in writing, got a phone call...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank br0wnkat
DHHManager, Manager at Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

We are disappointed that you feel like this. At check in your party asked for the booking to be changed to include breakfast. Your original paperwork showed that you had booked a room only rate. We changed the rate type to be one that includes breakfast but obviously the charge increases. When the phone call was made we were thanked...

62 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
2.4 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
2.0 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 64 in Hamilton
220 reviews
4.3 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#7 of 64 in Hamilton
1,083 reviews
2.5 km away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
3.5 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 64 in Hamilton
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 100 Garnett Avenue | Te Rapa, Hamilton 3241, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Hamilton)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Price Range: $142 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Hamilton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Hamilton Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms on level 5”
 of 5 bubbles sonalib730, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother...if our room is any guage, I wouldnt recommend you stay there at all.”
  • The hand basin tap.
  • The tap in the shower.
  • The bathroom tap.
  • The shower.
  • Dirty, damaged tiles.
  • Unclean floor.
  • Disgusting exhaust fan.
 of 5 bubbles cazbar62, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if having no lift is an issue for you.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan0753, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor if you have heavy luggage, as there are no lifts to the next floor.”
 of 5 bubbles xoz, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Wing 600 is great, close to the resturant, swimming area and gym.”
 of 5 bubbles , 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5