We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Nautilus

Travellers' Choice award winner
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
The Nautilus
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Nautilus
See the most recent reviews
Showing 557: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 September 2014

The Nautilus has excellent views east over the ocean. It is the newest of a number of hotels/motels on Marine Parade and the rooms are well equipped. Mine had a king sized bed in the main area and two king single beds in a separate bedroom. The bathroom was bright and modern with a large circular spar bath and a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kalql8
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the excellent review. We are so pleased that you had a great time when you stayed with us. We at The Nautilus are here to offer quality of accommodation and service. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Reviewed 2 September 2014

Great location - spacious room & a great spa!! Bed was huge and the balcony great for fresh air. Parking looked like could be an issue - so get in early. Ocean across the road and a running/bike path through the park. Lovely town and good accommodation

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marg D
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you for the taking the time to post a review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the facilities. We offer off street parking which is complimentary and is not allocated to individual rooms.

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Great service, very friendly and accommodating, spotless room, lovely layout, spa was almost as big as the bed! Shower was awesome, loved every minute of our stay. Will be back again, actually looking forward to it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akaira C
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had a great experience when you stayed with us. We look forward to being your host the near future.

Ohsweken, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2014

While touring the North Island of New Zealand in September of 2013 we stopped in the sea side city of Napier on the East Coast. What a beautiful little city right on the ocean. We stayed a couple of days at The Natilus and we loved it. Very spacious room with clean modern bathroom. A jacuzzi hot tub was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MohawkEagle
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a positive review. We are so pleased that you had such a great time and appreciated the property.

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Great location on Marine Drive. Parking really tight! Reception staff friendly enough but not very helpful. Housekeeping was very mediocre with some good days and some bad days. Despite booking months in advance the Motel had very special rates for walk-in customers. Tells you something. The room was full of cheap faux pas leather furniture. The large jacuzzi occupied a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank hotelreview77
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

We apologise that you had a disappointing experience when you stayed with us. It is unfortunate that you didn't mention that you were not happy with the room as we could of offered you other options. As you booked several months in advance the room rate was clearly stated our website tariff for that particular suite. The board located at...

auckland, new zealand
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed two nights in a second floor suite which had a decent size balcony that got the morning sun. There is a luggage lift to get bags up to the second and third levels. Bed was very comfortable with good linen. Good heavy drapes kept the room dark which were great for a sleep-in. Bathroom was super-clean with nice but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karel57
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thankyou for taking the time to post a review and we do appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the property and the facilities, the comment on the water temperature has been noted and has been looked into. We are sorry the you were having trouble with the internet but during your stay there was a power...

Taranaki Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Hawkes Bay and the quality of the room contributed to that pleasure. All rooms face the sea just across the road. We were on the 2nd (top_ floor which was even better. All rooms have a nice balcony with full width glass/doors which was nice to sit at after a day testing the wines...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Umfoloz1
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comments and for the positive feedback. So glad you were able to relax on the balcony. Its great seeing you making the most of your time in Hawkes Bay experiencing the wineries. Hopefully on your next visit the sun will be shining.

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here on the weekend for a weekend getaway and wanted to stay somewhere nice and its safe to say we got that. Lovely spacious room, very modern clean and tidy. Lots of comfortable seating and the spa was just lovely. The only thing I would comment on was that there was no hair dryer (...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalie F
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend getaway and the facilities in the room. Sorry you didn't find the hair dryer as there is one in every room located in the bedside cabinet. Reception would of been most willing to assist you to advise where it was. On arrival we could of relocated you to...

Australia
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here very much. A nice big room on the top floor which had a big spa bath in the bedroom (not in the bathroom). Warm and cozy. Comfortable bed, kitchenette. We ordered a meal from the restaurant next door and it was wonderful. We were able to take the meal up to our room and return...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SpikeAustralia
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thankyou for your lovely comments from your recent stay with us. Pleased that you enyoyed your stay and the wonderful views from your room.

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights and were thrilled with our stay. The room was spacious and well furnished, clean, warm and light. The spa bath was one of the reasons we had chosen this hotel, along with the fact that the hotel had been recommended to us by my brother and sister in law when they had stayed there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Neal D
nautilusnapier, Manager at The Nautilus, responded to this review

Thankyou so much for taking the time to post a glowing review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved the time you spent in the spa. The ocean view from the room is wonderful and the morning sunshine rise is spectacular. We at The Nautilus enjoy meeting people and were only to pleased to help you.

137 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (136)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.9 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
853 reviews
2.6 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
1.0 km away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
1.2 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#9 of 47 in Napier
768 reviews
0.2 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 47 in Napier
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Nautilus Restaurant
The Nautilus Restaurant
Cuisines: International, European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to The Nautilus Napier, New Zealand. The Nautilus is a sophisticated, Art Deco-inspired waterfront accommodation, designed for the discerning traveller. The Nautilus offers self-contained executive studios and suites, one bedroom apartments and premium suites, and a fully-licensed restaurant and bar. All 41 luxurious rooms offer stunning panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean, gorgeous double spa baths, private balconies and decor, furnishings and fittings with a contemporary twist on Napier's 1930's Art Deco theme. Designed for privacy and comfort, The Nautilus Napier is a world away from a traditional hotel. The apartments are spacious and beautifully decorated, offering the perfect choice for corporate travellers, couples searching for romance or those attending one of the many exciting events, concerts and festivals held here in vibrant Hawkes Bay, New Zealand. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Nautilus

Address: 387 Marine Parade, Napier, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $92 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Nautilus 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nautilus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nautilus Hotel Napier
Nautilus Hotel Napier
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#5 Business Hotel in Napier
#6 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Nautilus staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Nautilus staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First floor rooms would obviously have a better view of the bay, but we were happy in our ground floor room (No. 105)”
  • The view into our room
  • Our room (No. 105)
KKGoldCoast, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dont pick a ground level room here.”
KeithM360, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great, they look out towards the sea”
653AnnFrank, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“make sure you get an uppe story for lovely views.”
Robynandcraig, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“First floor to get the views.”
theoldone, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$139* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$143
Expedia.comUS$138
TravelocityUS$138
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates