We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fern Motel

Travellers' Choice award winner
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$50*
US$47*
Great Deal
US$50*
US$48*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Fern Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

149 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 144: English reviews
Start your review of Fern Motel
 Click to rate
NZ
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We only stayed one night but would of happily stayed longer. Easy to find and nice location. Great value for money! Beds were comfy, all rooms were spotlessly clean and the presentation was A+. Will definitely be back to stay again, highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank livspencer
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 March 2017

Staying in the caravan for 2 nights and I just gotta say, it's one of the flashiest ones around! Toilet doesn't work but the guest toilet is right around the corner along with the laundry.. How good is that?? Besides that, it's fully decked out with heating/cooling, full kitchen setup and even SKYTV.. What's more, is that the (Free) WIFI...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reymaster66
Picton, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Pretty basic motel, quite expensive for what was offered, although possibly prices were raised for the Art Deco weekend. Plenty of children's activities and a swimming pool, but not specially good for adult couples. No extras like shampoo etc provided. One side of the double bed had broken springs - this should be discovered when making up the room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loreen B
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

The shower dispenser is all in one Shampoo, conditioner and body wash. We find it very popular and green friendly. We were unable to fault the mattress on inspection.

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2017 via mobile

We recently stayed here with our children and grandchildren - we had 3 units. Steve and Caroline were very welcoming and helpful and we found the facilities excellent for our holiday. Great having the pool during the hot summer weather too and we appreciated the aircon and free unlimited wifi. I have no hesitation recommending. Thanks, Fleur's and Rex

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FleurMorris
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 January 2017

There was six of us (couple with four kids) had all the stuff you need. Kitchen tv, etc. linnen was clean and smelt good. Had swimming pool, only problem the kids didn't want to leave the pool it was too good. There is a great play area for the kids to have a heap of fun in probably one of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brigham-Anderson
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

Taupo, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

My little family stayed here for a night and found it perfect for us with fantastic facilities. Room had everything we needed and was spotless and well decorated and the kids had so much fun in the pool and playground. Lovely hosts aswell would highly recommend staying here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat88888
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thanks

Wellington
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Clean and roomy. Pool and trampolines for families to use. Can walk to supermarket and quick route in car from motel to get Napier city. Taradale village nearby is worth a look. Friendly, helpful owners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dante3
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

Highly recommend, Beautiful spacious rooms Great service and beautiful people . Owner definitely made sure we well taken care of. Very Quiet and close to shops. Would definitely come back. Has everything you need. 10/10 from our family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anastysia S
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

Reviewed 11 January 2017

Great accomodation. Enjoyed a very tidy,cozy family room. Excellent space for a family. Steve squeezed my family in at the last hour - Thank you! Recommend this place to everyone looking for Top quality accomodation in Napier.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elias09
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Fantastic family friendly motel. Very clean and tidy with daily services. Fabulous pool and play area for the children. Room had everything we needed for a week long stay. Owners very friendly and obliging. Handy location. Really enjoyed our time here and look forward to coming back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank holidaycouple577
Steve G, Manager at Fern Motel, responded to this review

Thank you

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
4.3 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
4.6 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 47 in Napier
839 reviews
4.2 km away
Beach Front Motel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Albatross Motel
Albatross Motel
#11 of 47 in Napier
546 reviews
3.8 km away
Cedar Court Motel
Cedar Court Motel
#20 of 47 in Napier
132 reviews
4.2 km away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#7 of 47 in Napier
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fern Motel offers you Family Friendly Kiwi Hospitality. We have 18 ground-floor units with natural surroundings. They all have fully equipped kitchens, en-suite bathrooms, heat pump / air con & free wireless internet. So that your stay is pleasurable we provide Standard and Deluxe Studios and Family Units –the Deluxe units have been beautifully refurbished with new kitchens with dishwasher (Family Units), flat-screen TVs, new beds, carpet, linen & modern decor.We also have one new 2 Bedroom Unit.It has a beautiful large kitchen with dishwasher, big fridge/freezer and large ceramic hob. Bedroom 1 has a queen and bedroom 2 has 3 singles.Both bedrooms and the lounge have flatscreen tv’s. The lounge is stylishly decorated and has a sofabed and a nice dining area. All units have secure off-street parking and their own private courtyard where you can sit outside or entertain in the BBQ area. You can watch the kids swim in the large pool and play in the children's fenced playground area. Just off the HB Expressway, Fern Motel is conveniently located between Taradale & Napier City, close to Napier Airport, Park Island Sports Complex, Pettigrew Green Arena, Onekawa Aquatic Centre & Church Road and Mission Estate Wineries. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fern Motel

Address: 4 Westminster Avenue | Tamatea, Napier 4112, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $73 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fern Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fern Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Napier
#4 Family Hotel in Napier
#15 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fern Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you're planning to book the Caravan, DO IT! $$$”
  • The caravan is a nice cozy option for two
reymaster66, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some road noise but double glazing blocks most of it.”
Dante3, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms would be great”
gissygirl, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 9 was wonderful, dark curtains, modern decor.”
X70TZalisonm, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“I have been in a family room which is great if ur on holiday with kids or a studio if u just want some chill time both well worth it”
, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Agoda.com
US$47* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$50
TravelocityUS$48
Hotels.comUS$48
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates