We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Tennyson

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Tennyson
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

15 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 14: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I stayed here as part of a tour group traveling the east coast. The location was excellent, a short walk to the shops, restaurants and the ocean. The room I stayed in was very good. The service from the Manager and the staff was excellent. Everyone was very friendly. Sure, the decor was a bit dated but there was nothing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank PJS-from-Oz
Wasaga Beach, Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We had a lovely time in Napier. Only wished that we could have stayed longer. We had a Family room which was good. Free Internet service which was a real plus. The service that we had was excellent. The hotel staff very helpful and friendly. The hotel is centrally located to shops and restaurants. We would highly recommend. Would love... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hess63
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We ended up at the Tennyson because it was Art Deco weekend in Napier and everywhere else was booked solid. We expected it to be below average in quality - and we were not disappointed. The location however is excellent - very central. Most new hotels are strung out along the waterfront - the Tennyson is by the town square... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Kalambaka
Bernard_Burke, Manager at The Tennyson, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly do apologise for our modem blowing up that weekend. It was replaced with a newer, better model immediately, and we have had many happy internet users since. Our free broadband station, however, was available and working the entire weekend. A laundry was available, unsure what keys the guest refers to and due to... More 

Travellers are raving about these Napier hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We just stayed here with Kirra Tours. The hotel states it is recently refurbished - but it did not look like it! The lobby smell like someone had been sick. The rooms are dingy, bathrooms dirty. The breakfast was OK but the milk was off, as was the yogurt. I plan to let the tour company know. In this economy,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank travellady54_11
Bernard_Burke, Manager at The Tennyson, responded to this review

We take on board the comments of the writer. They are correct with the fact that there was a bad smell at reception, due to a member of their own bus tour being violently ill upon entering our hotel foyer. Our staff immediately assisted the sick guest, and proceeded to clean up. A commercial cleaning company was also engaged immediately... More 

Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

First impressions are the most important. The outside of the building gives you an indication of what's inside. On walking through the main doors the smell of cigarette's hit us. Not just a whiff, but a strong permanant smell. En-suite Bathroom was dated but very clean. All the usual hotel items there for the comfort of the traveller including shampoo,... More 

Helpful?
Thank steelblue86
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

This hotel is conveniently located and that is its only virtue. It is dirty, not maintained with old dilapidated furnishings, curtains falling off the windows and general all in an unacceptable condition. Its only saving grace is that it is located only a few metres from Groovey Kitchen. That meant we did not have to eat the toast bread that... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank NZtraveller08
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I traveled the north island of New Zealand in April 2010 for 10 days, and we thankfully stayed for two nights at the Tennyson. The Tennyson was easily the best hotel we stayed at the entire trip, and the entire group was grateful to stay at such a nice hotel for more than one night! The breakfast was excellent, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank IndianaFSL
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2010

This hotel is ideally situated in the heart of the city. We were delighted with all it offered. The proprietors were charming and very hospitable. The room was large with a truly comfortable bed with pristine cleanliness in all respects. The free internet was a great bonus. The breakfast was fine also and we were given off street free parking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dializa
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

Was very close to the town centre, dont think you could get any closer, we could park the car and walk everywhere. The price was reasonable and the room was clean and had sky, free wifi and buffet continental breakfast standard for all bookings. A little bit on the old side but well maintained. I'd stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank sydmik
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I stayed for two nights. Great location in the city next to a gorgeous park and a few steps to the city center. Older hotel with a friendly atmosphere and helpful staff. Value for money. Didn't make it down to breakfast because the bed was so comfortable!!!!

Helpful?
Thank AnnieNZ

3 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.0 km away
VR Napier Hotel
VR Napier Hotel
#14 of 48 in Napier
218 reviews
0.6 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
665 reviews
0.4 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The County Hotel Napier
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Napier Travel
0.5 km away
City Close Motel
City Close Motel
#41 of 48 in Napier
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about The Tennyson

Address: 2 Clive Square East, Napier 4110, New Zealand (Formerly Tennyson Motor Inn)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $114 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Tennyson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tennyson Hotel Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Tennyson staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay