We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Edgewater Motor Lodge

Show Prices
#15 of 48 Hotels in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Edgewater Motor Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edgewater Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 164: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We loved staying here, it was just what we wanted. It had a small kitchen, that's clean and well suited to what we wanted. We loved the balcony, that looked out to sea. The bed was amazing, so comfortable and big.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl R
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Tuffy9682. Thank you for taken the time to write a a review. We are glad you enjoyed our proximity to the Rugby ground and the view from your unit. You get the same view from the ground floor as all our units face the ocean. Regards Roy

New Zealand
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed here for a weekend to attend a rugby match. The motel is conveniently situated near Good restaurants and it was a short walk to the rugby grounds. We had a room with a sunny balcony overlooking the beach. The town centre is just a short walk away too. Would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tufty9682
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Very clean and tidy place. In-adequate heating during the exceptional cold weather in July. Presume they don't get these sort of cold weather very often. However, they do have electric blanket so that is quite helpful. Can be noisy due to all rooms facing the beach with traffic on the main marine parade road.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pink L
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Pink L Thank you for your review. As we do not know which unit you were in we will monitor your heating concerns. We have extra heaters available at reception if required and yes, the electric blankets do make the bed nice and warm. The road is normally pretty quite at night time and there is not much we...

Wellington
Reviewed 5 July 2015

We recently stayed 5 nights. Room 18 was very spacious. A very convenient location and lovely ocean views from top floor. Great room service. However several things they should look at changing in this room. Unfortunately the bed in the bedroom wasn't up to our comfort level. The 2 grey couches are so uncomfortable we would either lay on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adriane P
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Pink L Thank you for your review. As we do not know which unit you were in we will monitor your heating concerns. We have extra heaters available at reception if required and yes, the electric blankets do make the bed nice and warm. The road is normally pretty quite at night time and there is not much we...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 June 2015

We called in after a long day driving and just took a chance. We stayed two nights here. The room was spotless and offered everything from dining in facilities if you want to cook yourselves, to an iron and hairdryer.. Very comfortable bed.. Ray the owner was very helpful in telling all the local restaurants and tourist attractions, very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elaine r
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Elaine R It is really good that you took the time to review our property and a real boost for our staff to know that we get it right most of the time. I hope you enjoyed you trip to Napier. Regards Roy

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 24 June 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Edgewater overnight and were really impressed with this lovely motel. It was spotless, modern decor, spa bath and amenities. Warm and cosy, with a bed that was soooo comfy! The owners were fantastic to deal with, friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. I would highly recommend staying here and we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello Amanda J. Thanks for the great review and yes, the new beds do work well. We are glade you enjoyed your stay in Napier. Regards Roy

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This was an older property but very big and clean. The upstairs room was ideal for looking at the water. I think downstairs the view would be restricted due to cars parked in the street. We were worried the apartment would take ages to heat as there was only an oil heater but to our surprise it was very effective....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 376di08
Romaxbert, Owner at Edgewater Motor Lodge, responded to this review

Hello 376dio8 Yes, some of our units are quite big and spacious a you do get an excellent meal at the RSA which is only 2 mins walk from here. Cheers Roy

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 June 2015

arrived later then we expected, but kept in touch with reception to advise we were running late. When we did arrive (cold and tired) we found that the blinds had been closed in our room and heater left on for us, so lovely and cosy. great location with an easy stroll to town, restaurants and bars. ample parking on site...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynda S
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 June 2015

I stayed here with friends and was happy with our stay (except for the bed). The room was immaculately clean, we were very impressed with this. It had a lovely view of the ocean (except for the large truck parked outside our room overnight but that can't be helped I guess and once it had moved the view was lovely)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becz-Awa
Nelson, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 April 2015

Stayed here for 2 night and it is a little noisy with trucks passing through. The rooms are a good size with a nice private outside area from the upstairs rooms. Bed was a little hard for my liking, and the ranch slider was very noise, and old. Rooms have been revamped, older style motel but still good value for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danjonelson

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Napier hotels
0.2 km away
The Nautilus
The Nautilus
#6 of 48 in Napier
533 reviews
0.8 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 48 in Napier
644 reviews
0.9 km away
The County Hotel Napier
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#8 of 48 in Napier
668 reviews
2.4 km away
Navigate Seaside Hotel & Apartments
2.5 km away
The Crown Hotel Napier
The Crown Hotel Napier
#3 of 48 in Napier
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Edgewater Motor Lodge offers superb, affordable beachfront accommodation with spectacular sea views. Our great location on Marine Parade in the heart of Napier NZ gives easy walking access to the city centre, National Aquarium of New Zealand, Rotary Walkway, the Ocean Spa complex, Napier Municipal Theatre, Conference Centre, McLean Park Sports Ground, Intercity bus station, RSA, Cosmopolitan Club and a variety of restaurants and cafes. All units at our beachfront motel in Napier have ocean views, tea/coffee making facilities (full cooking facilities in 12 units), microwave, ensuite with shower (spa bath in some units), hair dryer, queen size beds, phone, free WiFi, 5-channel Sky Digital, flat screen TVs with 20 channels, electric blankets, iron/ironing board. Select from basic studio, spa bath studio, superior studio, one bedroom or two bedroom motel units (ideal for families). All motel units are non-smoking and are serviced daily. Guest facilities include a salt water plunge pool, BBQ, laundry, free off-street parking and free Wi-Fi internet throughout the motel. Cooked/continental breakfast available to unit. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edgewater Motor Lodge

Address: 359 Marine Parade, Napier 4110, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region > Napier
Price Range: $113 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edgewater Motor Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Edgewater Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Napier
Edgewater Motel Napier
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Napier
#12 Romantic Hotel in Napier
#15 Luxury Hotel in Napier
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Edgewater Motor Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If planning to use the BBQ like us -perhaps a room close to it. The BBQ is located near the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Bigruss57, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor units facing the foreshore really help one feel "right on target with Napier beach"”
 of 5 bubbles 176lyndas, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bottom floor is nice as there is a nice spa. Traffic noise virtually nil at night. Rooms quiet through the day anyway.”
  • Sunrise from beach right across rd
  • Beach right across the Rd (Marine Pde).
  • In room spa.
 of 5 bubbles darrenmasters2016, 8 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Up for views, down for easier access.”
 of 5 bubbles M8999XTmichaelk, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
“If you want to catch the sunrise from your room, the second floor might be better”
 of 5 bubbles Sue2416, 10 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay