We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Show Prices
#14 of 44 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
See the most recent reviews
Showing 404: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Just spent 3 nights at this hotel which is situated on the waterfront at Paihia. I was one of a group of 30 and despite this number, all our suitcases were brought to our room promptly. The rooms appeared quite tired looking on first impression however they have everything you need. There is a huge bathroom with separate shower, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you enjoy the rest of our country while on tour.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2016 via mobile

The restaurant was recommended by a friend, so we wouldn't have discovered it on our own. We had to book, so again our usual approach of just finding somewhere on the spur of the moment would not have worked. The buffet style seafood dinner, although not cheap was very good value. The choice of seafood including some of the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

So glad to hear you were recommended by a friend to come and dine with and happy to read we didn't disappoint.

Hanslope, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 February 2016 via mobile

We got an excellent deal on our hotel for a last minute booking (when we were still driving south from Cape Reinga at gone 5pm) We had a ground floor room which was a typical motel where we could park the car right outside the room, v handy for all our sandy luggage! The hotel staff were welcoming and friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishm79
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am glad we made your night a nice stay especially after a long drive from Cape Reinga.

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

You will need to book. Great selection of food, hot and cold, Seafood to stews, pasta, nice deserts.Pick what you like and go up as many times as you like.The restaurant can be a little busy with coach parties staying in the hotel, but worthwhile putting up with for a great buffet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrGozeldog
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Yes definitely need to book our buffet as we can get quite busy, I am happy to read you enjoyed your meal with us. All are welcome to visit our restaurant.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We have stayed here twice on deals during off-peak season. Great spot on the waterfront and walking distance to everything in the quaint town. Very near the Waitangi site and to Russell. Rooms were nice and clean with comfy beds. Spa pool was clean but the surrounding area could do with a touch up.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RnR_275
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for comments, we hope to welcome you back soon

Longview, Washington
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Kingsgate was very comfortable, right across the road from the waterfront, and easy walking distance to restaurants and the grocery store. They worked with our coach company to store and deliver our luggage before check-in and after check-out. We did have trouble a couple of times with not enough hot water for our showers, though. And the free wifi was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we will look into the hot water situation.

Tasmania
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Overall, a nice stay, but the rooms are quite small - it really is a motel, so the 3 of us (9 yr old in tow) were quite snug in the room. Staff friendly enough. It was a bit disappointing to find some guests had paid 1/2 what we had paid because they got on some "Grabone" site, or something...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RooboyTasmania
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback

New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The Kingsgate by far exceeded my expectations having stayed in numerous others around the country. Would definitely recommend this place as a deluxe place to stay. The suite was spotless and the staff were friendly and more than helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear we meet your expectations during your stay with us.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2016 via mobile

The Kingsgate is centrally located and a short walk to the cafes and restaurants in Paihia. However I was disappointed with a the complimentary wifi as it was only valid for 30 minutes a day, before you had to pay for additional connection time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth D
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our wifi is set at a national level with the chain and is out of the hotels control.

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2016

A basic motel room. Adequate but nothing fancy. Staff all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner in the hotel were very good. Nice outdoor pool area but quite small. Very close to the pier where all the trips leave from.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterW2804
Kirsty G, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, room suggestion for a view is to book our junior suites.

151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.5 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.8 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#4 of 44 in Paihia
420 reviews
0.0 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Scenic Hotel Bay of Islands
0.1 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 44 in Paihia
575 reviews
2.8 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 44 in Paihia
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the waterfront and only 100 metres from Paihia wharf and township the Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia is the ideal base from which to explore the scenic and historic Bay of Islands area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia

Address: 104 Marsden Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $116 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Paihia
#18 Romantic Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Auckland Region, New Zealand
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suggest upgrading to ocean front suite”
 of 5 bubbles Lostsoul92, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for sea views”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW895, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view”
 of 5 bubbles Merg_5, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Great location handy to everything.”
 of 5 bubbles DawnC479, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms starting 300 have balconies but no outlook......”
 of 5 bubbles 314barbs, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5