We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bayview Motel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bayview Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

110 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 110: English reviews
Start your review of Bayview Motel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This incredible view is something not to be missed, but it was overshadowed by the sheer rudeness of the staff at the motel. After travelling for more than 3 weeks, Bay of Islands was our last stop before jetting off home and we were really looking forward to a nice relaxation at the end of our journey. However when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ash B
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review

We did make a small error in placing the guest in the incorrect apartment and did apologise for the error offering to carry their 2 bags to the correct apartment for them. They refused our help as it was not really necessary and happily changed apartments. However the unhappiness came with mother who arrived the next day and preferred the...

Ilkley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on the last night of our recent trip to New Zealand. The location of the motel is brilliant - right on the seafront. The room was great - more of an apartment with a small kitchen and dining area. However, the star of the show was the balcony that looked out over the Bay of Islands. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisatobm
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Magnificent view over the Bay from well-appointed studio, and as helpful and friendly at reception as one could possibly hope for (thank you, Jo!). Fridge, microwave, cooker and cutlery/crockery/glasses for 4, spacious, good shower

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James H
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Location the only good thing about motel. Would rate 2 star at best not worth the price! Shower overflowed so bathroom floor rotting and smelly. Toaster cord taped up , dangerous. Rude manager who made snaky remark when we booked cruise elsewhere and not interested when advised of shower issue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
baywatcher2, Owner at Bayview Motel, responded to this review

Only one comment is valid,the rest being padding.The shower outlet did block due to a new housekeeper not reassembling the outlet correctly after cleaning. This was rectified immediately Mrs. Susan Smart brought it to my attention. As for rotting floors....I have never seen rotting smelly concrete. Bayview Motel has just been awarded The Guest Review Award 2016 by Booking.com., the...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017

Fabulous location - easy walk to everything. Comfortable room with just the right facilities for our family. Not totally new but everything functioning, useful and clean. Well looked after room, great views, quiet but close to everything. Hope to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Contikivicki
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we had booked it for 2 weeks. We had the best room(room 34) at the top of the motel with floor to ceiling windows looking straight out at Paihia bay (see photo). The room was very clean and had everything we needed. We slept well on a comfortable bed. Our host, Jo,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigZed52
Reviewed 24 October 2016

We stayed for 6 nights on vacation and loved the location, views, and one bedroom apartment on the top floor.. It was exactly as we expected, no surprises. Jo was very helpful and friendly. We could walk to everything, including the Waitangi Treaty Grounds and Museum, the harbour, cruises, and ferry to Russell. One highlight was the bus tour to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We booked a studio room which had a fabulous view of the bay. Very clean and tidy comfortable bed and great views straight out over the water. Really well priced. The manager was friendly and the room was serviced daily.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DEBB1964
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

We booked for 2 nights and wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was spotlessly clean and was very comfortable with lovely views of the Bay of Islands. The area was very quiet but only a few minutes walk into town restaurants and shops as well as the pier for the Russell ferry. The reception staff were very friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank harryandchris
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

Tucked away, just outside Paihia this B&B provides a welcome retreat with stunning views out across the magnificent Bay of Islands. Mike the host provides spotless, comfortable, well appointed rooms with good quality beds and a first class breakfast to start the day. Possibly a little far to walk to the cafes and restaurants of Paihia but only a few...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alanbF7073VB

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
0.9 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 44 in Paihia
420 reviews
0.4 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.1 km away
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Swiss Chalet Lodge Motel
0.3 km away
Outrigger Motel
Outrigger Motel
#5 of 44 in Paihia
202 reviews
0.2 km away
Austria Motel
Austria Motel
#25 of 44 in Paihia
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The best location!!! On the picturesque waterfront and one of the closest motels to the town centre, Bayview's waterfront units offer fantastic sea views overlooking the nearby islands. A superior aspect offers all day sun. Bayview has a range of large yet cosy and comfortable units, each with full kitchen facilities. They are serviced daily and are renowned for their cleanliness. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bayview Motel

Address: 2 Bayview Road | Corner Marsden & Bayview Road,, Paihia 0247, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $112 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bayview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bayview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview Hotel Paihia
Bayview Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bayview Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Views are beautiful from the rooms facing the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles 939ashb, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We really liked the top floor with the best view and furthest away from the street.”
 of 5 bubbles tomsE9577SF, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room Eight is the best ,if just for two...”
 of 5 bubbles 449philp, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Do not pick a room with views. Paihia is a very small town and those views from the motels are seen in EVERY corner of the town.”
 of 5 bubbles 270ryanc, 22 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Top Floors No,1 or 2”
 of 5 bubbles tasidrive, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5