We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bounty Motel

Show Prices
#13 of 43 Hotels in Paihia
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bounty Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bounty Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 181: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Great value and short walking distance to the town centre. Very friendly and helpful staff. The studio was warm, comfy and handy to all amenities within the motel. The king bed was excellent and very comfy -that was the best. A breakfast service was available at a very affordable price, very well done. No complaints about our stay at all.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnandKaylene B
BountyMotel, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks John and Kaylene it was a pleasure to have you stay.Look forward to seeing you again in the future. Paul

Reviewed 30 August 2016

We stayed at the Bounty motel over the weekend as we were driving around the Northland. The location was fantastic, just 5 minutes walk from the wharf where the cruises leave and the town center, shops, restaurants, bars... We rented an apartment with a massive bed in the main room and 3 single beds in a separate room. The kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara G
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hello Barbara many thanks for your review.Much appreciated.Hope you return to see us someday.Good to have known you were a light sleeper and we could have shifted you to an upper unit.We were very busy that weekend. All the best Paul

Reviewed 10 August 2016

Recently a small group of us wanted some peace, quiet, good food and an easy time. The motel is central to the beach and shops but blessedly quiet. The rooms were large, warm and inviting with plenty of deck space when the sun shone. The manager was a mine of useful information and arranged a fantastic tour to Waitangi for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette B
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks Jeanette for your great review its was most appreciated.Hope to see you back in the Bay of Islands and stay at our motel.Hope you have a good trip back to the UK. Paul

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 August 2016

This place was fantastic for a great weekend away with mates. Rooms close together meant it was easy to catch up with each other on the balcony. Paul was incredible helpful with advice on places to eat and things to do, he even arranged the tour of Waitangi for us, meaning we rocked up and things were organised! The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LQM123
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind comments and rating it was a pleasure to have you stay at our motel. Hope you come back some day to the Bay of Islands and enjoy our hospitality. Paul

Staffordshire Moorlands
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We had a two night stay at the Bounty Motel, where we found everything good. It is situated in a residential area just a few minutes stroll from the sea and centre of Paihia. The rooms were spacious, clean and furnished in a modern style with a very comfortable bed. Liked the reading light fixed on the headboard. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerryshut
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Hi Gerry glad you enjoyed your stay at our motel.Yes we have a buffet continental breakfast available at $7.50 which is good value and fills one up for the day ahead. Mind you we have a Supermarket a hop skip and jump away and close walking to anything(dont need to take a car) All the best Paul

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We arrived at the tail end of a cyclone weather system, lots of rain and strong winds, as the roads were starting to flood and it was getting late in the afternoon, we rang the owners to let them know we could be late. They were fantastic told us not to worry and to drive carefully and take our time,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grubbaldd
springfield9, General Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your great review.Yes indeed we are very close to everything and no need to take a car.Look forward to seeing you or friends in the Bay again sometime. All the best Paul

Tasmania
Reviewed 23 June 2016

PAul was most welcoming on arrival and couldn't do enough for us. The room was basic but clean and roomy. A good shower and plenty of facilities. The bed was great, and the location was convenient. Wifi was advertised, however not working very well in the rooms. PAul told us he was having it looked at. It worked ok near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TassieGrammia
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks it was a pleasure to have you both stay.Glad you enjoyed our facilities which we know it is a good standard and we are in walking distance to everywhere. We have now updated the Wifi system and all seems working well and unlimited as well. All the best Paul

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Very nice place to stay. Rooms are clean and good atmosphere. Its a budget hotel so bedrooms are little small but convienient. No regrets for staying there. Balcony is lake facing and ambience is good. Recommended for budget stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mayurharia
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments.I was puzzled when you mentioned "lake front"as we have no lake here only the sea/ocean,so was wondering whether you are reviewing the right place. The unit if you stayed here in was our newly renovated rooms which do have a balcony. One thing though you would have found that we are in easy walking distance to...

New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Nice place with an owner that actually cares about whether you had a good stay or not. Rooms are clean and tidy and the internet is very fast and free and depending what deal you are on has a free continental breakfast thrown in which is basic but good. Overall very nice place to spend some time.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Mozzroom
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

thank you, we certainly do care that you enjoy your stay, that is all important to us and I am glad you noticed!

Cooma, Australia
Reviewed 28 May 2016

Breakfast , studio,clean friendly staff. Close to township and all the action in walking distance. If not happy with this abode you are very hard to please. We got the sandwich board deal which had a king size bed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank andybibb
BountyMotel, Manager at Bounty Motel, responded to this review

Our aim IS to please, so thanks for that. By the way, ALL our rooms have super-king size beds, and even most of our single beds are king-single too.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Bounty is a Kiwi owned and operated property, located in a quiet suburb approx 100 meters from the Paihia Beach, shops and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk to the wharf for dolphin watching, fishing trips, sightseeing and ferry to Russell. Tours to 90 mile beach and Cape Reinga pick you up at the motel entrance.We have a conference area for small groups up to 60 with catering facilities and kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bounty Motel

Address: 42 Selwyn Rd | PO Box 170, Paihia 0200, New Zealand (Formerly Paihia Central Motel)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Price Range: $84 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bounty Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bounty Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bounty Hotel Paihia
Bounty Motel Paihia, Bay Of Islands, New Zealand
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Paihia
#19 Family Hotel in Paihia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bounty Motel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
over a year ago
Paihia, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bounty Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need an elevator to move your bags up then stay on the first floor. The parking lot is very convenient.”
Janaroonie, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“upstairs 1 or 2 bedroom units”
, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Think I would choose upstairs facing the water but at the end away from passing guests.”
Kiwibluebird, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is two stories so if you need ground floor ask the question.”
158tomo, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 22 is ground floor and at the attractive front of the property.”
Pepster56, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5