We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Lake Rotorua Hotel

PricelineUS$102*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$131*
US$102*
Great Deal
US$108*
US$108*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Rotorua Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

234 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Lake Rotorua Hotel
 Click to rate
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Enjoyed the stay, room was a good size with separate lounge and bedroom. Some basic kitchen facilities, a microwave, kettle, cutlery and crockery, handy if you want to prepare yourself some basic food. Very helpful and friendly staff at Reception, plenty of parking either next to the units of behind them.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mathilda J
Auckland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a pleasant stay here - the heated spa was a nice surprise when checking in late on a cold night! Kids enjoyed the pool too. Bedrooms where quiet, comfy and warm Heater in lounge didn't work but bedroom heater was sufficient as it was quite compact.Parking is a bit of a nightmare - bit of a first in first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dzire
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dzire, Thank for the feedback. We are glad to know that you have had a good stay. We do look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you just want a place to sleep and you'll be out the entire day, this will do. Room is clean. Large with one queen bed and two twin beds. Wifi is really bad. You have to go near the front door to get any signal. That was disappointing. There is not much around it so we needed to drive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aileen A
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aileen, Thank you for your feedback. Sorry to hear you had troubles with the Wi-Fi. Please do stay with us again.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Room is filthy cushions are stained, rubbish left outside room. Windows are so dirty surfaces have not been wiped down properly and no toilet paper left on roll. This lighting is awful. I'm happy we are only staying one night. Not adequate blankets or pillows. Save your money and sleep in your vehicle it will be much cleaner.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgiastevenson
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile

The room was clean, linens were rough, wi-Fi would only work in lobby! It was quite conviene to city. Pillows were not varied, not soft. Parking was okay. Non-smoking rooms available. The continental breakfast was mainly toast, juice, & cold cereal. Enough to hold us over until we could get to a restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JelliBellyRN
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JelliBelly RN, Thank you for the feedback. We would like to know more about the wi-fi connectivity problems that you have faced, as we have upgraded our Wi-Fi facilities recently. We would appreciate it if you could contact us directly so we can make sure the same will be actioned. As for our breakfast, we serve a standard continental...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 April 2017

Nice hotel. Set up with a room and living room. Had a queen and 2 twin beds. Room was clean. Nice hot tub. Not very convenient to restaurants in Eat Street area. Across the street from a gym that you can use for $10 NZD. Would try and stay closer to downtown if we were to take this trip again,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jake K
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that you find our location very convenient to nearby establishments. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed in an apartment with 2 double beds and a kitchen/ living area. Great location, staff were so friendly and the pool was easily accessible. The apartment was spacious and clean and the beds were very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen M
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Eileen, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you find our hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay. We sincerely hope that we will have the immense pleasure in welcoming you back to the Lake Rotorua Hotel for many more memorable stays in the years to come.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Very nice and clean room. Basic decoration. The front desk staff were lovely. Harry (forgive me if I didn't hear his name properly) was very polite and quick to respond. Great location, about 20 minutes walk from the center of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kat T
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kat, Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. You are spot on, I will convey your regards to Harry.We look forward to accommodating you again in the future.

Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We only stayed here for a night. The rooms were ok, but nothing special. We had some issues with the management. We were late checking out and they charged us $20 for it. First of all, check out time is at 11:00 am. Internationally, the standard is noon. Many hotels allows you to check out as late as 4 pm....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chane_Steiner
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Is this place luxurious? No. But are you paying luxurious prices? No. This place suited our needs perfectly. Good location, easy to get everywhere and lots of free parking. Perfect. The beds were comfy and the apartment pretty comfy, The cleaning service offered was minimal, but thats no big deal really. Staff were friendly, and we enjoyed our stay. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orla B
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Orla, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you find our hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again.

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.2 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.0 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 93 in Rotorua
810 reviews
2.0 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 93 in Rotorua
383 reviews
2.8 km away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#45 of 93 in Rotorua
1,180 reviews
1.7 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#34 of 93 in Rotorua
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a geothermal wonderland, the Lake Rotorua Hotel offers 38 rooms, including a family rooms, one bedroom units and studio rooms. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute drive to Rotorua CBD, amenities include a swimming pool and heated spa. Private parking is also available for guests' convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Rotorua Hotel

Address: 131 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inn Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $93 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Rotorua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Rotorua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#35 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saint Joseph, Missouri
over a year ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms off the street are much quieter”
jakebrake54, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Back rooms not Lake Road frontage”
j0kenny, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room behind the pool area, a little away from main road, nice and quiet”
hansromer, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“only if you have to”
585JohnY, 3 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chinese Owner runs a tight ship and this is reflected in the facility!”
LisaBrickell, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$102* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$108
Expedia.comUS$108
AMOMAUS$131
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates