We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Rotorua Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Rotorua Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 191: English reviews
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had to do an urgent booking and weren't sure what we will get. But this hotel met most of our needs. Spacious rooms and nice location. Standout was their manager, Harjap. He was quick to come around to help us setting the heater or to arrange a feeding chair for our 5-month old baby. And as luck had, we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucky83m
LRH-Team, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your feedback. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and accessible as possible. We are looking forward to seeing you again. Have a good day.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room was a little grubby and could do with new carpets. Location is OK if you have a car, no noticeable noise from the nearby road. We were disturbed by a large group of very noisy Chinese tourists leaving early, shouting right outside our door but you could get that anywhere. Staff were freindly and it was cheap but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
LRH-Team, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for your feedback. We acknowledge your concern and we assure you that it is being handled. We are looking forward to seeing you again and making your next stay even better. Have a good day.

Auckland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disappointing given my expectation of a 4-star hotel in Rotorua. The ambiance of the place is very lacking, with no view to speak of and an internal courtyard area with a swimming pool & spa that can become very noisy due to sound reverberation. Parking is limited but available. The room was very spacious and well laid out. Wear and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AaronNz
Queanbeyan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel which is on the main road and is easy to find is clean and tidy the only thing to fix would be the carpet needs a good clean but this is a friendly motel to stay at with free parking and fast free wifi

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ricki475
LRH-Team, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Ricki, Thank you for your feedback, It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our friendly services. We do get carpet cleaned on regular basis and we realise that we need to change the colour of it – which will happen in near future. We look forward to host you again.

Blenheim, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Greeted warmly by Yogi on a Saturday morning and allowed access to our (triple bed) room early. This was great as we wanted to get to the Gondolas before mid-day lunch rush. Room and services fully explained. Hassle-free Wifi. Comfortable bed. Adequate continental breakfast which I took back to our room as dining room busy. Enjoyed hot pool and spa....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CFD20
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi CFD20 I and the team at lake Rotorua Hotel is pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for a lovely review. We look forward to see you again.

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016

Reasonably priced accommodation a 5 minute drive from the lake. Walking distance about 30 mins from the museum. We had a one bedroom room unit with separate lounge area and microwave and fridge. Shower and separate toilet but only one sink. There is a supplement to pay by credit card so I paid cash for our overnight stay but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlynch841
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi jlynch841, Thank very much for your feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed free Wi-Fi and swimming pool. Preauthorization of $50 is our policy and part of check-in process, alternatively we do offer that guests could pay a deposit in cash or eftpos which can be refunded at the time of check-out. Thank you once again and we look...

Reviewed 25 October 2016

A lovely hotel, friendly staff who definitely know their stuff. Made to feel like you are important to them. Hotel was lovely and clean. Spa pool nice and warm, a bit cold for swimming in the pool maybe next time. Only negative - not enough sachets of tea or coffee. well done Lake Rotorua Hotel

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline O
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Caroline O, I have passed your feedback to our housekeeping team – response like this does boost the motivation in the team. Thank you so much for that. We look forward to see you again in future.

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during the Labour weekend. Nice place and helpful staff. Downside about this place is the carpets need a change, very limited parking and wish there's a roof top over the pool as we were getting sun burn sitting in the hot poo.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly E, Thank you for your feedback – we will definitely consider all the points you have raised in near future.

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2016

If you have a camper van and you want to stay in a motel for the night, this is the place to stay, a bit out of town, and very noisy. No where to get food or breakfast. The rooms are large, spacious and lovely. The beds are very comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 508chaneller
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 508chaneller, We are pleased that you found the rooms and premises according to your liking. Sorry that you had face inconvenience with Noise – please let us know if it was the room or the traffic noise. Regarding breakfast - we offer continental breakfast from 7:30 am to 9:30 am daily and Eat street is only 5 mins drive...

Cornwall
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Within walking distance of the centre, rooms had separate shower room and lounge with 'hallway' incorporating a kitchenette area. Handy to have so much space, and the room slept 4, but it was a little tired and not as clean as we are used to. Reception were very helpful and no request was too much trouble. For the price this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsAmanda
LRH-Team, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do strive to make sure our cleaning and service standards are high. We have taken your comment regarding cleaning on-board and have shared your feedback with our team.

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.2 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.2 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
664 reviews
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Cleveland
Econo Lodge Cleveland
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
448 reviews
2.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a geothermal wonderland, the Lake Rotorua Hotel offers 38 rooms, including a family rooms, one bedroom units and studio rooms. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute drive to Rotorua CBD, amenities include a swimming pool and heated spa. Private parking is also available for guests' convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Rotorua Hotel

Address: 131 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inn Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $121 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Rotorua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lake Rotorua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saint Joseph, Missouri
over a year ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room number #1 was very quiet and you get to park your car in front”
 of 5 bubbles Lucky83m, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Get a room facing side road, by the pool is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles J6961MKmarkh, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a unit at the rear as it is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ricki475, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Single story in a U shape - choose back row of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles CFD20, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eastern side of the square is a good option”
 of 5 bubbles carolineo158, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay