We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Lake Rotorua Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Lake Rotorua Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Lake Rotorua Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 190: English reviews
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. We stayed in a room that was facing the road, so naturally I have to say there is a bit more road noise then I would like. Front desk staff are very friendly and helpful, and would definitely recommend this as a place to stay for a night or two!

Helpful?
Thank Steve P
KVR_GM, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Steve, Firstly i would like to take a moment to thank you for taking the time to give our hotel a positive feedback. It was nice of you to mention that our staff were friendly and helpful. We do make the it a habit to be customer friendly at all times and help our guests with other activities other... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2016 via mobile

Even though the service was adequate, the hygine of the unit was terrible. Due to it being raining the night we arrived, one of the single beds was soaked in water due to a leak by the window. In conclusion, it would have been a more comfortable stay if the unit was cleaner, and if the bed was not soaked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jacob G
KVR_GM, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Jacob, We deeply regret the inconvenience that you have faced during your stay and we sincerely apologize for the same. We take responsibility for the bed and would not let this repeat in the future. We do maintain a good standard of cleanliness in the rooms and would look into the same as well. We hope that you would... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2016 via mobile

The stay was wonderful! Andrei the receptionist was extremely helpful in planning our day and going above and beyond to assist us. The room was lovely, very clean and they provided us with plenty of tips. Overall great experience at an affordable price. They made our stay at Rotorua an amazing experience !

Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa D
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is clean and convenient, but the walls are very thin and so you can hear all the traffic and the neighbours. The wifi is horrible, it was essentially unusable - most days I went to the nearby McDonald's and logged in from my car. The hotel is a good value though, I would probably stay here again

Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay C
KVR_GM, Front Office Supervisor at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Lindsay, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience that you had with our Hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience that you have faced with the Wi-Fi and the rooms having thin walls. The Wi-Fi has been a work in progress that has been resolved with an upgrade to perform better in all the rooms. Thank you... More 

Jersey, Channel Islands
Level Contributor
643 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed two nights, our room (30) was clean, comfortable and quiet (other than slight passing traffic noise), there was a small kitchen area with a sink/fridge but not much cutlery/crockery. There is a pool, car parking isn't designated. They offer breakfast at $12 each. The free wifi was patchy. Staff were efficient and helpful. They have a washer/drier $4... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jerseybean26
KVR_GM, Front Office at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you have had a good experience with our hotel. Your honest feedback is very helpful for other guests as well as for the hotel to ensure that we exceed the expectations of the guests. We are in the process of developing the parking spaces and... More 

Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We arrived very late in Rotorua and tried to find spontaneous a hotel for a night. The Lake Rotorua Hotel is one of the first hotels when you enter Rotorua by car from the Tauranga direction. We had luck that there was still a vacancy because most of the Motels/Hotels were fully booked. The room we got was very big... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Oliver84
Andrei_reservations, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr.Marc, To begin with, I would like to thank you for writing a good review about us, it is very much appreciated. Indeed, many guests do acknowledge Lake Rotorua Hotel's location to be easy to track and even more accessible to the city's major areas. It was a pleasure accommodating you through our spacious and well-polished room. Also, we... More 

Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2016

We were looking for an accomondation for one night after a long drive and found the Lake Rotorua Hotel. It's a bit further to the city centre of Rotorua but for us it was fine, we just wanted a comfy place to spend the night. The receptionist was very friendly and even gave us a discount so that we just... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mareiselust
Andrei_reservations, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear MaryLu112, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for writing a good review for Lake Rotorua Hotel. I, along with the management and staff, are glad to hear from you. It is a pleasure to have allocated a spacious and clean room for you to relax over the night. I am grateful to have accommodated you at... More 

Pukekohe, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016

I booked at short notice, the Staff accommodated me and my family they went out of their way to help me . The rooms where of good condition we just needed a table to eat our meal apart from that I was happy with my stay. yes I wouls stay again.

Helpful?
1 Thank grafre
LakeRotoruaHotel, Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, First of all, in behalf of the management and staff, I would like to give you thanks for appreciating our effort in serving you better through going the extra mile. Regarding what you said about a table for your meal, we are aware of this and we acknowledge this suggestion. Furthermore, it is good to know that you... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights .. It was a good one, plenty of space .. Clean and tidy, good room service .! One thing I would say is the parking didn't have designated parking so every night would have to park away and come walk in to room ...bit more organize parking would be nice other than that every thing was good... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dinuka G
LakeRotoruaHotel, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dinuka, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you have had a good experience with our hotel. Our staff are trained to be customer focused that helps to improve our level of service, delighted that you have acknowledged our room service. Sorry you have faced problems with the parking spaces that had... More 

Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

It is a great place to stay, very clean room and bathrooms. Also very modern rooms. Staff is friendly, location is good, nothing there to complain. All in all a good place to stay. We stayed there for only one night, would not have a problem to stay there for longer.

Helpful?
Thank Lucas M
LakeRotoruaHotel, Front Office Manager at Lake Rotorua Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, In behalf of all staff and management, I would like to extend our gratitude for writing such a good review. It is our pleasure to render the best service possible to each and every guest who stays with us. Also, it is our goal to provide you a home away from home. Again, your comment is very much... More 

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
3.2 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.3 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
2.2 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#37 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
0.2 km away
Econo Lodge Cleveland
Econo Lodge Cleveland
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
442 reviews
2.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set in a geothermal wonderland, the Lake Rotorua Hotel offers 38 rooms, including a family rooms, one bedroom units and studio rooms. The hotel is a 15 minute stroll or 5 minute drive to Rotorua CBD, amenities include a swimming pool and heated spa. Private parking is also available for guests' convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Lake Rotorua Hotel

Address: 131 Lake Road, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Leisure Inn Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $124 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lake Rotorua Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lake Rotorua Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#34 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Saint Joseph, Missouri
over a year ago
Auckland Region, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Lake Rotorua Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room facing side road, by the pool is noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles J6961MKmarkh, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a unit at the rear as it is quieter”
 of 5 bubbles ricki475, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Single story in a U shape - choose back row of rooms”
 of 5 bubbles CFD20, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Eastern side of the square is a good option”
 of 5 bubbles carolineo158, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best to get a room away from the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles 508chaneller, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay