We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rotorua Hideaway Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 170: English reviews
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had the most wonderful experience staying at the Hideaway Lodge with our two children (ages 7 and 8) last week. Owners Fiona and Chris greeted us like family with a bottle of fresh milk for our afternoon tea and a detailed overview of the Rotorua area and all of the activities that it has to offer, including some "insider... More 

Helpful?
Thank tbbernal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hideaway lodge is aptly named. Conveniently located near all attractions and city center. The lodge is well maintained and has a nice little park. My kid enjoyed the play area in the park. We loved the location as it was quiet and relaxing after a long drive.

Helpful?
Thank Hareesh R
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Room was comfortable, clean with all necessary amenities. Had the weather been kinder we would have enjoyed using the little deck for our evening drink or morning coffee. The exercise area for dogs was just wonderful and although it is on the main highway there was minimal traffic noise

Helpful?
Thank Jo P
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

As a big group we took over the quaint hideaway lodge. Reading one of the reviews I'm stunned to hear of such a negative visit-with-children experience? Possibly previous owners. This was certainly not the case with the wonderful couple that looked after us over our short stay. We were guests ranging from babies to the elderly and had zero problems.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PedroNZ_Morales
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Highly recommend hideaway lodge especially if you have children, we were a big group that ranged in ages from 0 to 90, the kids were gob smacked at the playground. Our rooms were extremely clean and management were exceptional. Thanks heaps we will be back 😉👍🏻

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui F
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2016

The motel was clean and basic and the outlook and grounds pleasant. As they are pet friendly, one could assume they would also be child friendly. But no. Unfortunately the couple who run this motel were extremely rude and unreasonable, and made our stay with children, absolutely excruciating. Their behaviour was bizarre, and made us very uncomfortable. The service overall... More 

Helpful?
Thank jenbryce2016
Fiona4361963, Owner at Rotorua Hideaway Lodge, responded to this review

I am glad that your school group found some positives during your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the cleanliness of our motel. We have had many school groups stay with us in the past who have loved the facilities and service and have received great feedback. However we have changed our policy when hosting school groups... More 

Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2016

It is a very family-run motel, and is generally well maintained. Though a bit far from major attractions in Rotorua, the drive is easy and not that far away, 15 mins' drive at most. There is a small chicken farm at the back of the motel, and the kids love it as the chicken are super friendly. The outside lighting... More 

Helpful?
Thank Snowbird888
North Shore, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We were down from Auckland on a sightseeing trip with a German exchange student. We needed somewhere cheap and cheerful to stay the night. After reading the previous reviews I decided this would be the perfect place for us. The hosts were friendly and welcoming. The room had been heated and was warm and cosy on our arrival. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joanna N
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Great place. Clean, tidy and comfortable. Although on a main route into town it was pleasantly quiet. Only took 5 mins by car to get to the city, close to many attractions.The owners are very friendly and wonderful hosts.Was a bonus being able to take our bird with us. Lovely area for children and/or pets to play with a bbq... More 

Helpful?
Thank HippyPippy
New Plymouth City, Taranaki, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We stayed with 16 girls for the NZSSAA -the staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. It was lovely and clean and had everything we needed. Fantastic kitchen facilities so we were able to cook meals. Loved the feel.

Helpful?
Thank Annie O

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Braeside Rotorua
7.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
4.0 km away
Econo Lodge Cleveland
Econo Lodge Cleveland
#11 of 93 in Rotorua
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
All Seasons Holiday Park Rotorua
4.9 km away
Rotorua Top 10 Holiday Park
3.9 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set on 4 acres with a real countryside feel yet only 5 minutes from the town centre The Hideaway offers a wide range of affordable accommodation options. With free high speed broadband, loads of outdoor space and large play facilities for the kids it's an ideal spot for families. Plenty of parking and we even have a play area for dogs if you want to bring your four legged friend along too! No sulphur smells which make this a great choice. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rotorua Hideaway Lodge

Address: 436 Ngongotaha Road, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $111 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rotorua Hideaway Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rotorua Hideaway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rotorua Hideaway Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rotorua Hideaway Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet rooms with a huge outdoor space.”
 of 5 bubbles 551hareeshr, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The apartment was awesome”
 of 5 bubbles AnnieO726, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We loved the family room with fireplace!”
 of 5 bubbles Pamht1, 10 May 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are situated in same area so no one is better than the other.”
 of 5 bubbles Sharronr5b, 28 Sep 2015 | Read review
“All rooms are perfect, all with different bed/room combinations.”
 of 5 bubbles Andyxxxxxxx, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay