We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rock Solid Backpackers

PricelineUS$43*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$45*
US$43*
Great Deal
US$45*
US$45*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rock Solid Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Rock Solid Backpackers
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hostel is perfectly located for exploring Rotorua. Easy walk to the restaurants and lake, and all facilities are clean and well maintained. There was plenty of storage and fridge room in the kitchen and we never had to wait for a shower. Rotorua itself isn't very exciting, but we would definitely recommend a trip to Te Puia Maori village...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emsped
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments! We do love sharing our hostel and city with fabulous guests who share their positive comments and appreciate all we have to offer! Kia pa to ra

Curitiba, PR
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hostel was probably one of the cheapest throughout my trip. I found it a good deal for what it has to offer. The location is perfect (ok, the town is small), it is very clean and the kitchen is well equipped. They use the old school"keys, which was a bit of a hassle considering there were 3 different keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keila B
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments! We do love sharing our hostel and city with guests who share their positive comments and appreciate all we have to offer! Kia pa to ra

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hostel was very good. Great location, friendly helpful staff. The kitchen is big and well stocked (just make sure you label your food...). Has a rock climbing wall and a cinema downstairs too. Felt very safe and secure too, would definitely recommend to backpackers!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri A
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great comments! We do love sharing our hostel and city with fabulous guests who share their positive comments and appreciate all we have to offer! Kia pa to ra

Reviewed 1 week ago

I really love this hostel. It's very centrally located in Rotorua. In the hostel there's free (and very fast) Wi-Fi, the staff is very friendly, kitchen is great (loads of kitchen utensils, in many other hostels they do not have this), free pool table and ping pong table in the lounge, X-box with loads of games and they offer a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lloesss
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the amazing comments! We do love sharing our hostel and city with fabulous guests who share their positive comments and appreciate all we have to offer! Kia pa to ra

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hostel was in a good location and the lounge area where reception is, is a great touch. However, the kitchen was very poorly equiped, the layout of the hostel is unsociable and the wifi was non-existant in the rooms. There are also signs everywhere reminding people that if they lose their key or invite someone back or drink after...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ConnorC27
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the feedback. We do receive regular feedback complimenting us on how well equipped the guest kitchen is, how the large comfortable lounge is excellent for socialising , and how guests appreciate the security of our hostel so we are disappointed we were unable to meet your expectations but our guest comfort, security and enjoyment is...

Peterborough, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here two nights. Good front desk staff helping with recommendations for activities. Lots of places to sit and hang out. Big enough kitchen. Great security system. Huge storage lockers in rooms. Can't think of any negatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kegr123
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the great feedback. We know so many of our guests who also have a good experience don't place feedback, so we do appreciate guests who share their positive comments and appreciated all we had to offer during your stay! Many thanks

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friends and I only stayed in Rock Solid for one night, but the front desk staff were so friendly and helpful! As we were in a group of four, we were able to stay in our own four-bed dorm. We wanted to book a tour the next day in Waitomo, and the staff at the front desk were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ManaFran
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the awesome feedback. We know so many of our guests who also have a good experience don't place feedback, so we do appreciate it and are very happy you enjoyed your stay at Rock SOlid backpackers Many thanks

Porto Alegre, RS
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great hostel and great staff. I just wished there were power outlets besides my bed. It's a great thing that they have lockers in the rooms and the kitche is big and well equipped. You can walk to anywhere in rotorua from it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felipe S
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Felipe Thank you for placing feedback. We know so many of our guests who also have a good experience don't place feedback, so we do appreciate it. Sorry there are not individual power points next to all beds in the dorms but we are do have plans for this upgrade and in the meantime there are several lounge...

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 25 March 2017

On the upside, location is central and I really liked the positivity and energy of the staff. The lounge has a pool-table and table-tennis table. There is also i door climbing. On the downside, facilities are a bit worn. Even though the rooms have big lockers that can easily fit a 70L backpack, the room is worn and the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Smithzonian
RockSolidNZ, Owner at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the feedback we do appreciate knowing what guests appreciate and also where we can improve, so hopefully you did let our hosts know which dorm and bed you stayed in so the issue could be passed on to our hostel manager, as we do care about our guest experience. Many thanks Vanessa

Reviewed 16 March 2017

I stayed for two nights with a friend, for the price it was awesome! We got a private room rather then a shared room. We didnt use the shared facilities at all but they looked fine. The room itself was clean, the shower has a steep step which wouldnt be good for disabled people. It did back onto an alley...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JerryBrown12
RockSolidNZ, Manager at Rock Solid Backpackers, responded to this review

Kia ora Thank you for the positive feedback it is really appreciated as we know so many of our guests who also have a great experiences with us don't place reviews - we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our housekeeping and hosts do work hard to give our guests a comfortable and enjoyable stay and love...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (15)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
675 reviews
1.6 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.7 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
745 reviews
0.3 km away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
361 reviews
0.4 km away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#4 of 55 in Rotorua
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BIG BOLD & BRIGHT! Kia ora - Welcome to Rock Solid Backpackers located in the heart of downtown Rotorua with dedicated local staff who really do care about their guest's comfort and enjoyment and love sharing their hostel and town with their international visitors. Based in a former office block, this large industrial-style building may not be a cosy cottage but if a funky inner city chill out zone at reasonable rates is what you are looking for - then this is the place! Guest lounge The large comfortable reception guest lounge is the hub of the hostel with FREE High Speed WiFi, FREE pool table, FREE Table Tennis and FREE XBox. FREE DVDs and FREE book exchange corner. They also have FREE luggage and bike storage room including a fridge to store your food while waiting to check in or depart. Also unique to Rock Solid is the 17m high rock climbing wall you can view through floor-to-ceiling windows from this guest lounge. Or if you feel like having a go, guests can climb for just $12 which includes, shoes, harness, chalk and climbing until you drop(not literally!) Or if you prefer a bit of arty culture you can check out what's on in the Basement Arts Cinema downstairs too! Kitchen & Dining Room A large well equipped guest kitchen and dining room for guests to prepare and cook their meals and snacks. This hostel also actively recycles packaging. Guest Laundry Coin operated washing machines, driers and laundry powder dispensers are also available. Tours & Activities Rotorua is the ultimate north island adventure and cultural destination, offering a huge range of activities to suit every taste, budget and thrill factor which hosts are happy to arrange for their guests. Parking There is both limited free public street parking and charge meter parking available in front of the hostel. From 5pm-9am (daily) this parking is FREE. It is also free from Saturday 12:00 noon to Monday 9:00am. More information is available on request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rock Solid Backpackers

Address: 1140 Hinemoa Street | Downtown Rotorua, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $25 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rock Solid Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rock Solid Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rock Solid Backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Rock Solid Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Computer with free wifi on the common room.”
andreapB1891OA, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room off of the first floor.”
WanderLust406, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bring extra blankets”
OlaP55, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you're on a budget, don't feel nervous about booking this cheaper option as it was a fantastic surprise to walk into the room!”
120ellenk, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room further away from the common areas”
NanaKBoat, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$43* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$45
TravelocityUS$45
Orbitz.comUS$45
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates