We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

379 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 361: English reviews
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It's very difficult to give the Geyserland an overall rating. The condition of the hotel is so bad it's a joke! The building is very old and poorly maintained, and it looks like it has not been touched for years. The whole place is in dire need of a complete refurbishment and given the state it is currently in it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BackinBracknell
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We do appreciate your comments It is fantastic to hear that you will continue to keep returning to the Hotel, it is in a prime location and offers an increible view of the Pohutu Geyser, and we agree the rooms are very clean. We will keep you updated as we move to refurbish the Hotel Kind Regards Management

Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Hotel for one night while travelling to Wellington and again on our return to Auckland. the room and bedding were clean and comfortable enough for the time we stayed there. The hotel itself is a bit dated and needs some upliftment but on the whole the staff were pleasant to deal with and very helpfull.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bradley Q
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We agree the rooms are very clean and the view is amazing, we hope that on your next stay you make it a long break Kind Regards Management

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is a mixed bag- but we keep coming back (this would have been our third stay) because of the outstanding view, the warm room and the value for money. First the negatives. We arrived at 9 05 pm on a Friday night. Not an extraordinary time to check in, if you are driving from Auckland. While the new...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank juliebenjamin1954
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate your comments. The rooms do offer an amazing review and the rooms are clean with fresh new linen. We do appreciate your comments on areas we can improve, and will continue to improve in these areas Thank you Kind Regards Mnagement

Coromandel, New Zealand
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked this as a deal and paid the extra few dollars for a geyser-view room. Admittedly the hotel has probably seen better days, but our room was clean, had all the amenities you'd expect and having the view of the geyser both day and night (It remained lit up through the night, which was stunning!) was a memorable treat....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmer24
SophieAuckland, General Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback The Hotel does offer an amazing view of the Pohutu Geyser, and we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of the rooms We do look forward to seeing you again

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had a great view over the thermal fields next door with geyser playing most of the time. Room was a bit dated but nice and clean. The new managers are doing a great job of bringing the rooms up to standard. Hope they get more funds to work on the pools.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maxt22014
Greg W, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We do have a great housekeeping team and they do keep the rooms clean. We will look at upgrading the spa very shortly Kind Regards Greg Wilson

Reviewed 22 June 2014

We bought this on a deal site and unfortunately did not review until after we had paid for 3 nights. Tried to get our money back but was declined. We got to hotel and were given the worst room 837 - the only room with a big tree blocking the view of the geysers! It looked like it belonged in...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank prodigina
SophieAuckland, Owner at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Dear reviewer Whilst we do appreciate your feedback, your comments are completely incorrect. To claim the soil is soft, is complete nonsense, and your comments in relation to the Hotel is nonsense. I do appreciate that my response may come across rude, and I do apologise for this, but to make false statements is really not acceptable Kind Regards

Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had a very good weekend stay, really enjoyed the views and the excellent staff who went out of their way to help us. Feel sorry for them putting up with flack caused by the owner's lack of upkeep, but be realistic people, you paid very little and get what you pay for. Who wants to spend all their time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brealistic2014
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback We are currently starting an upgrade program, and we do hope that you see some amazing changes to the property, over time The property is in a great location, and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay Kind Regards Greg

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wonderful views and budget friendly price. Suited my needs for the night. Only had 4 TV channels and breakfast was only coffee and toast, however this was included in the price. Very friendly man at reception. Great parking for trucks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Star B
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback The Hotel does offer an amazing view of the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools, it is probably the best view in Rotorua. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip Kind Regards Greg

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I'm going to start with the only positive thing about this place: the staff were friendly but this doesn't save you from a bad review. The smell coming from the geyserland was so overwhelming that it makes me sick even now...I thought they would provide some sort of air filtration for the rooms but they do not, fair enough that...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank seleneenea
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

We are disappointed with your review. The Hotel is located in an amazing position, the Hotel overlooks the Pohutu Geyser and mud pools, Rotorua is a thermal area, and there is a particular smell in Rotorua, that you will experience all over Rotorua, not just outside Hotel. I would suggest that with in an hour you get used to the...

Tokoroa, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Well 5 star it ain't but nor is it priced to be. Handy to the geyser and the views on the upper floors are actually pretty good. Place was clean if a little rough around the edges, was pretty cold when I was there and found the room a bit chilly. Shower/etc was fine, cost us $80 a night for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthony g
Greg W, Manager at SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on the Hotel We are currently running some great Winter deals, and these do offer great value The Geyser View Rooms do offer an amazing view over the Pohutu Geyser and Mud pools Great that you found your rooms clean, we have a great housekeeping team, and new pressed and fresh linen We hope to...

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (239)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
748 reviews
2.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.4 km away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,067 reviews
0.2 km away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#70 of 93 in Rotorua
84 reviews
4.2 km away
Cosy Cottage Thermal Holiday Park Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotel overlooks the world famous Pohutu Geyser and is directly opposite the Rotorua International Golf course. The 70 rooms hotel offers pool view rooms and Geyser View Suites, facilities include Geyser View Restaurant, bar, gym, spa, sauna, heated spout pools, Conference Centre, business centre, internet cafe, wireless internet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland

Address: 424 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Hotel Geyserland)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Rotorua
Quality Inn Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from SilverOaks Hotel Geyserland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you MUST stay here, ask for a room that overlooks the geysers and mudpools.”
 of 5 bubbles paulamcarr, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a different hotel and hope it's better.”
 of 5 bubbles 309margaretj, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“room 833 - you are looking right over the thermal activity”
 of 5 bubbles h0spochik, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Only use a geyser view room”
 of 5 bubbles jackc825, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles larry1811, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5