We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,401 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,303: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were reasonable. They were clean and modern enough. However, the room was quite hot (found out later that the thermostat was set very high). The staff were extremely friendly, they always greeted you, even when walking past you in the hallway. The breakfast was really good with a wide range of options.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liam E
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Liam Thanks for such a nice review, I really appreciate your nice comments and I'm so happy to read that our staff made such a nice impression. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Quite an outdated hotel, and we needed to pay to use the wifi. The rooms were small and quaint and there was free parking nearby which was good. Staff were friendly and bathrooms were clean so can't complain.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed one night and booked three rooms. All six of us were pleased with our rooms. They were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful in every way. We would like to mention especially the duty manager Mr Koczinski ( I am sorry if I spell the name wrong) who did a great job.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lin T
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Lin Thanks for your kind and nice review about our hotel, I am really happy to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and facilities, I hope we can welcome you back at some stage in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for one night could of stayed for more. We had a lovely big room facing the lake in a good position opposite Polynesian spa which we visited, room was spotless and had everything you needed. Enjoyed our buffet breakfast and evening meal and also happy hour in the bar and all staff were so friendly. We will definitely stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Diane I am so please and happy to read your feedback, it is always nice when our guests mention the words "Loved it", I hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were supposed to have a superior room at this hotel . We arrived late after a long journey and were disappointed to find we were given a very standard-looking room in a corner with no balcony. The room was really hot and stuffy and had four beds in, which we didn't need, so you couldn't swing a cat, to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Liz Thanks for taking the time to write your review and rating, I am sorry if the room allocated to you in this occasion didn't meet your expectations and I understand the reason why you didn't want to move rooms, thanks for your kind comments in regards to our staff. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

When you go to Rotorua, you should be aware of the smell. It is a part of it. The smell is very strong at the hotel though. The hotel looks old and outdated from the outside, especially the building in front of the actual entrance. Unfortunately, that is where we spent our night. The elevator is old, small and rumbles....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bas S
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for your feedback I really appreciate it, I am happy to read that you found our staff friendly and helpful and that our location suited your needs. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

San Ramon, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here on a tour of the north island. Within easy (3-4 blocks) walking distance of downtown, and a supermarket 1 block away. On the lake with it's walking and biking trails. Nice breakfast and dinner buffet. Lots of tour groups stay here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian94582
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Brian Thanks for your nice comments and feedback, I am pleased to read that you found our facilities and services up to your expectations. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for a total of 3 nights and couldn't wait to move on to the next location. The room was so hot and stuffy. If you opened the window it would smell the room out of the sulphur pits. The fan on the ceiling was slow and made no difference due to the lack of no air conditioning. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ebony A
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thanks for taking the time to write your review, I apologize if the room allocated in this occasion didn't meet your expectations, though as you mentioned our team would have tried to accommodate you in another room more suitable to your request, unfortunately we are a very busy hotel during this time of the year, thanks for your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had a two night Stay and found it very comfortable. The room was very good and the bed comfortable. About a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre. Soon got used to the local smells caused by the sulphur. I thought it was a great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank William L
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear William Thanks for your review and rating, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our location and facilities were up to your expectations. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful place to stay. Was a shame about the smell, but I guess that's just Rotorua. If they could do something about the ventilation in the rooms or put some aircon in, they could avoid the Sulfur smell from staying in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
AtaloDeLaRocha, General Manager at Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua, responded to this review

Dear Chelsea Thanks for your nice review and feedback, I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Atalo de la Rocha / Hotel Manager

321 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Other (113)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.0 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,069 reviews
1.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
2.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rotorua is one of New Zealand’s most exciting destinations - with fascinating history, rich Maori culture, and an enormous selection of attractions to experience. While visiting Rotorua, your premier accommodation choice is Sudima Lake Rotorua. Sudima Lake Rotorua is the largest hotel in Rotorua, and is set right on the shores of beautiful Lake Rotorua. The hotel is also adjacent to the world famous Polynesian Spa complex, Rotorua Museum and Government Garden, and just a short stroll from the Rotorua Convention Centre, the Energy Event Centre and Rotorua’s vibrant city centre. Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua offers 250 guest rooms in a range of accommodation options, many with superb views across Lake Rotorua. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua

Address: 1000 Eruera Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $116 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#26 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Clearwater, Florida
Mont Tremblant, Canada
6 months ago
Gold Coast Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Nowhere would be quiet, take ear plugs.”
 of 5 bubbles deec648, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If needed, mention need of elevator access when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles pcanders, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Visit Tutanekai St. for dinner and visit the redwoods in the evening with the lights shining upon them”
 of 5 bubbles 630bass, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were in 300 room block which had air con.”
 of 5 bubbles Pupstar05, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't book near the entrance if you value quiet nights.”
 of 5 bubbles alatoa, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5