We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

301 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 289: English reviews
Singapore
Reviewed 27 December 2014 via mobile

As we self drived in New Zealand, we were so kindly being given rooms with full length windows to facilitate us moving in of our luggage. Only 2 out of 6 rooms had full length windows facing the carpark and my family were given those rooms. Room is clean in general. Close proximity to the Polynesian Spa.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jisushika1126
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your comments. I was pleased to read we achieved guest satisfaction. We appreciate all forms of feedback as this helps us retain and improve on our services.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 December 2014

I just love staying at this Hotel, its the best in Rotorua, everything is perfect expecially the location. Staff was very nice and friendly, the Aisan staff was very helpful in some stage. Every little detail is considered to ensure you are extremely well looked after. If the wifi is free of charge that hotel gonna be perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MinT-Fox
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. It is always a pleasure to read we have delivered a good level of service and facilities. I aoppreciate your feedback about the staff here as we endeavour to meet all guest customer service expectations. We look forward to hosting you again.

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 13 December 2014 via mobile

Located strategically. Though it may not be best, however it was decent and matched with the price we paid for.... Please select room which is road facing and on a higher floor. It has Geo thermal parks at walking distance

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Prashant S
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to see we achieved guests satisfaction. Your feeback has been well received and we hope to host you again in the future Regards Theresa Mutlow

Traralgon, Australia
Reviewed 12 December 2014

There is so much on offer in Rotorua that you won't be spending any time in your motel anyway!!! However the motel was adequate. It certainly is nothing more than average, but it will meet all of your needs... the room maid was kind enough to not replace tissues or a bath mat after the first night . (YES---that IS...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Crystalline4u
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I apologise for the service you received during your stay. I can assure you I will address this will the House keeping team. YOur comments have been well received and although you have mentioned you would not stay here again I would take a personal interest in being able to host you some time in...

Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 December 2014

Rooms are decent, out-dated but warm if your room is facing the road as the sun streams in. The shower pressure is terrible and this is not exaggeration, my work colleagues who were staying in other rooms complained about the same thing. I had a maintenance man come and check up on it, his response was 'yeah, that's normal hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Arihia M
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. I appreciate your concerns and am disappointed to see we did not deliver a level of servce we are reknown for. I will be addressing these with all heads of departments to ensure we are offering a memorbale stay to all our guests. Your feed back has been well received as we endeavour to...

Scottsdale
Reviewed 25 November 2014 via mobile

We checked into this hotel at 2:30 and the receptionist had to check if our rooms were ready. All rooms should be ready if the check in time is 2:00pm. We were advised that our room was ready so we went up 2 floors to find that the room hadn't been cleaned at all. I rang reception from the room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Dana C
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. I appreciate your comments and I have addressed your concerns with the department heads to reiterate our level of service which we did not meet in this instance. I do hope we have the opportunity to host you again in the future and I would be more then happy to deal directly with you...

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 November 2014

For those of you who know of Fawlty Towers, Be assured that it wasn't based on Johns Cleese experiences of a Hotelier on the West Coast of New Zealand. It was based on this Hotel. Just don't even think abut it. Leave it for the Chinese Tour Parties who are used to 1 star squalor and unintelligible staff who are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank ChrisClaridge
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. I was dissappointed to hear we did not deliver a good standard of service however I was not sure what parts of the hotel did not meet your expectations as your comments did not specify what areas concerned you. I understand we had a few maintenance issues during your stay and unfortunately some of...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 October 2014

stayed for the long weekend, really enjoyed the heated pool, great selection at the buffet breakfast which was included in the package, all rooms have outdoor deck or patio, close enough to town, can;t really complain about anything

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B00ZHG
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. Your comments have been well received by the team here at the Copthorne Hotel Rotorua and we look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed Thursday to Sunday at this hotel. It was so noisy we were all woken up during the night by drunk guests who were mostly young sports teams swearing & shouting, and then again at 6am by the same people slamming doors. The hotel let large groups of young people drink byo alcohol by the pool and run shouting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Natlr
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. There are a few underlining comments which I would like to address. The calibre of teams we hosted were all of a mature age group and security was onsite at all times. I do appreciate your concerns and we do our best to ensure we attend to all complaints when they arise however it...

Nelson-Tasman Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Bed terrible TV no go, cheap night in a pricy town so pay a few more dollars and go elsewhere. Avoid this hotel at all cost. Rotorua is a great city to visit we did the canopy tree top tour, it was fantastic.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Catw00dy
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Although I appreciate your comments some points are vague and do not mention if reception was contacted during your stay to see if we had other options on offer to make your stay more comfortable. Ideally I would like to discuss this with you if you would like to contact me directly. Thank you again.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
748 reviews
1.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
3.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#36 of 93 in Rotorua
1,157 reviews
2.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $119 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Ctrip TA so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Palo Alto, California
1 month ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bottom floors have nice seating area right outside the room.”
 of 5 bubbles tomaszh697, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Gregory'sGirl, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthahN717WN, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A.Duckson, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room got the afternoon sun had a awesome view with a balcony A/C”
 of 5 bubbles tsmith843, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5