We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

307 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Copthorne Hotel Rotorua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 294: English reviews
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a rather typical, rather old, rabbit warren that caters economically for conferences and tourist bus tours. Not the place for a wedding anniversary or a special trip to Rotorua. The level of maintenance is adequate, but one can still find patches of carpet that are torn. Yet for what it is, the Copthorne does the job. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MykieHamiltonL
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your feedback. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with all departments. Your response is appreciated.

Auckland
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Terrible hotel embarrassing that tourists experience this. We stayed here for our wedding anniversary ,the room was very dated there was screaming in the hallway for at least an hour in the middle of the night there was no lift but what really upset us was the buffet breakfast the sausages,bacon,beans weren't even slightly warm told the staff they didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Richard W
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I do apologize for the level of service you recieved and the quality of the breakfast food. I have alerted your concerns with the department heads and have been assured the standards you described are not our normal service practice. I do appreciate your feedback as this is a way for our team to be...

melboutne
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here 2 nights while visiting rotorua. The hotel is on main road 2 Kms from city centre. The bed was comfortable. There was shampoo shower gel tea coffee facilities, mini fridge, I did find long hairs on the furniture. Buffet breakfast was plentiful. The hotel has 20 minute free wifi in hotel lobby, otherwise it is $12.50 for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foreveritalian
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. I was pleased to read we made your stay comfortable. I do hope we are able to host you again with any future stays you may have in Rotorua. Rotorua certainly does have many attractions and unfortunately not enough time to take in all that it has to offer. Please do not hesittae...

Woy Woy, Australia
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Very quick check in. Hotel is so distance from town. $10 cab fare town to hotel. Two double beds, spacious room. Bathroom very good with fittings all in good condition. Recommend this hotel. Gluten free food available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 464Pents
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to place feedback on your recent stay. I was pleased to see you were happy with our facilities. I do hope we have the pleasure of your company in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The sheets in our room had not been changed from the prior guest. There was some type of Vaseline or other grease on them and the pillow case was dirty. It was disgusting. We called Reception and someone came up at 10:00 p.m., agreed that the sheets had not been changed, and brought clean sheets. Both sets of sheets were...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank XenophonAnabasis
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for your review. I was disappointed to hear of your experience as your concerns are not what we thrive to deliver to our guests. I would like to discuss this further if you would be so kind as to contact me directly. Thank you Theresa Mutlow

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel was very spacious with big restaurant,bar and pool area.Staff were courteous but not over friendly.I had to ask for a compendium to find out about the services.This was duly delivered by a porter.There was a hole in the floor in the bathroom which worried one in terms of unwelcome visitors....The room could do with a touch up.No air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles A
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thak you for your feedback. I do appreciate parts of our hotel are dated and we plan to start refurbishment in late April in areas. Your feedback is very important to us as a way to measure our services and facilities. Thank you

Te Anau, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We checked into our SUPERIOR ROOM for a stay of 7 nights. After 30 minutes went to reception to check that we were actually checked into the right room. We were told we in the correct room. At the very least we thought we would have had 2 queen beds as per brochure. Not 1 Queen and 1 Single. Never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheree H
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was disappointed to hear the hotel was not what you expected although the booking was done on your behalf by the organizor. However I thnak you for your feedback and would suggest a motel would best suit your needs as you do have access to cooking facilities. Although we did not meet your criterias...

Chico, California
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Since the hotel address did not have a number other than Fenton Street, we drove about the entire length of the street before we found it. When we checked in, we were given an upgrade to the top floor. We were so happy, until we got to the room. The room's full windows faced the full brunt of the afternoon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank itchfoot
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Our non smoking policy is very hard to police although we do our upmost to control this. I was pleased to read you did enjoy some of the facilities of the hotel although our location did not quite suit your needs. Your acknowlegemnet of your stay is appreciated. Thank you kindly

Comblanchien, France
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We have spent 2 nights in this hotel. Very disapointing if you are in the old bulding. Swimming pool not entertaining, and sauna-spa closed. Good to stay for a night, but not more. We will not return there anyway!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Raphael2204
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do acknowledge areas of our hotel are dated and we do plan a mini refurbishment this year. I have addressed the gym cleanliness with our housekeeping team as a lapse in standards is very concerning. I appreciate your feedback as it is a great tool for our hotel to use to develope our team...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Front desk isn't too friendly except for one lady who always greeted us as we passed by. Group of 8 stayed here in different superior rooms which are very basic and should be renamed. Carpet is old and could do with revamp, same with the 80's curtains. Beds were firm but made well and very clean. Bathroom was decent. Shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CappyRai
Theresa M, Manager at Copthorne Hotel Rotorua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are planning a refurbishment in the hotel early this year which should bring a noticable change to our standard rooms. I will address the food quality with our chef as we do pride ourselves on our selection of food. Your comments have been taken on board and I thank you for your feedback.

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
774 reviews
1.6 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
3.2 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#47 of 93 in Rotorua
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
0.5 km away
Rydges Rotorua
Rydges Rotorua
#41 of 93 in Rotorua
1,165 reviews
0.6 km away
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four-story Motor Hotel located near city center, 2 km from train station. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Rotorua

Address: Fenton St, Rotorua, New Zealand (Formerly Kingsgate Hotel Rotorua)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $104 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rotorua Kingsgate Hotel
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Palo Alto, California
2 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Copthorne Hotel Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wait until they update hotel”
 of 5 bubbles karendL6686MT, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Bottom floors have nice seating area right outside the room.”
 of 5 bubbles tomaszh697, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Just go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Gregory'sGirl, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles samanthahN717WN, 23 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Go to a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles A.Duckson, 24 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5