We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Princes Gate Hotel

View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Princes Gate Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

757 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
There are newer reviews for Princes Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 724: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 November 2015

Loved this hotel.. took us back to the good old days of classy hotels and exceptional service... at a reasonable price. The reception and common areas were decorated in the old style as was our room. The restaurant for dinner was also excellent. We also enjoyed the hot and warm water spas.. and the position can't be beaten. Adjacent the...

Thank Paul R
Northcote Victoria
Reviewed 16 November 2015

A staggeringly beautiful hotel, especially in our upgraded suite. The staff were delightful, and eager to please. We were so lucky to have this as our home base in Rotorua, and would recommend it thoroughly.

Thank McAndrew_Clan
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 November 2015

If you are looking to fund a dysfunctional hotel this one's for you. We were greeted by one of the hotels owners and their own personal 'Manuel'. Tired, broken and shabby and the hotel wasn't much to look at either. We booked one of their premium rooms, which was the top rate for hotels in the area and we got...

4Thank andrewandkate2015
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear andrewandkate2015, What a shame you chose to resort to name calling and insults regarding your recent visit to the Princes Gate Hotel. While we appreciate the hotels style is subjective ( sorry we are unsure as to what a western Brothel looks like?), to have a review based on personality rather than the hotels facilities as a whole is...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 November 2015

If you sleep downstairs, you can hear the people above you moving around, going to the toilet and we they are having sex. The beds make funny noises, and the TV we had to watch it side ways. If you wanted wifi, you had to pay extra, did not come with booking the place. Also they advertise free private parking,...

3Thank bibbies
PrincesGateHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Princes Gate Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bibbies, We are sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Princes Gate Hotel. Unfortunately on occasions we can have noisy guests staying with us and apologise that you were affected by this. Just a couple of clarifications; Our hotel does provide FREE WIFI to all of our guests in all areas of the hotel. There is...

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Friendly staff welcomed us in and we had the Wilkes room which was lovely. We just stayed the one night as we passed through Rotorua, and breakfast was good, everyone was helpful. Nice balcony to sit in the sun and all in all, we were pleased we choose the Princes Gate.

Thank cas46
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 November 2015 via mobile

This Hotel is really special, if you like something that harks back to the old days this place is for you... Beautifully decorated will large fire to keep warm by. The food was amazing and the kitchen accommodated 9 of us that we're very late to sit down to eat.... Friendly staff and very helpful and extremely accommodating.

Thank Philip S
Reviewed 1 November 2015

What a beautiful place to stay, so much history. Our room was beautifully decorated. It was our wedding anniversary and my daughter had emailed them re card and chocolates, they were beautifully wrapped with a lovely card. Staff were very helpful.

Thank KathyVictoria
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 October 2015 via mobile

Months of planning , took our daughter to NZ Aria competition . The hotel room has a faulty bath tap which resulted in boiling water burning our daughters hand. At Accident and medical until 11pm. The owner was dismissive and said accidents happen and our fighter could just as easily have died crossing the street .

5Thank fatherofsinger
Reviewed 28 October 2015

Made all the more better by the charming staff. A lovely room with gorgeous feather pillows. Close to everything like the Polynesian spa, town, botanical gardens etc. stay here and support the only private hotel in NZ.

Thank jill M
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

We just stayed the one night here on a 3 night round trip of the middle of the north Island. It was the best night. Hotel staff very friendly. We stayed in a suite and it was amazing. Big and spacious. It felt like a home away from home - very comfortable . Excellent location , walked everywhere. Will stay...

Thank taleiOZ

276 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (226)
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Room/Suite (47)
Bathroom (16)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Dining (15)
View from Room (2)
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (50)
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Dining (9)
Family/Play Areas (1)
Room/Suite (14)
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (8)
Bathroom (4)
Other (2)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
683 reviews
2.0 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.7 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Princes Gate Hotel, the ideal accommodation whilst staying in Rotorua. The most famous Hotel in Rotorua built in 1897. This timeless, beautiful hotel is privately owned and operated. Our hotel rooms offer style and sophistication that depict a bygone era. The Princes Gate Hotel is not just a hotel but also an attraction. It has been masterfully restored through passionate attention to details. We look forward to having you stay with us in our beautiful & grand Princes Gate Hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Princes Gate Hotel

Address: 1057 Arawa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $90 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Princes Gate Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princes Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princes Gate Rotorua
Hotel Princes Gate
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#29 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Princes Gate Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room on the ground floor to avoid stairs.”
Karibu13, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor verandah rooms - all accessible via only a few steps.1st floor rooms - access via inside stairs. Not sure if there were lifts”
832margarets, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“We had the manager on duty select our room and we were not disappointed”
L494AYstevenw, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“Tell the staff what you want and I'm sure they will assist.”
felicia_f29, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Wooden floors are a little squeaky so a top floor is a suggestion.”
Dee612013, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
US$84* /night
View Deal
View all 12 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates