We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

407 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 388: English reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

Big hotel is part of a group has lots of amenities clean bit walls are a bit thin Plenty to do for the kids It is otherwise expensive but nice place to stay Would stay here with my family if the opportunity arose

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brad p
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us recently. We do look forward to welcoming your family to our hotel on a future holiday.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 April 2016

We enjoyed one night here on our family holiday. We wished we could have stayed longer. We had no idea how great it would be. Our room was lovely with a view over rotorua. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar while the kids entertained themselves in the adjacent kids room. We enjoyed the grotto spa pools and warm outdoor pool....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 462cath
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora 462cath, thank you for bringing yourself and the family to come stay with us recently. It's great to read you enjoyed the facilities and the "kids room" (nice having adult time) this is set up during the school holidays. We hope you all will come and visit us again soon.

North Carolina
Reviewed 27 April 2016

The room was large and well appointed. The interior courtyard was special! Had breakfast both days and it had plenty of buffet selections. Was funny to use a big clunky key, haven't done that for a long time. Location is away from the lake.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjfmsf
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings tjfmsf, thank you for taking the time to place your thoughts on your recent stay, pleased to hear you enjoyed our extensive buffet breakfast and the internal courtyard and pool area. We hope to see you again soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 25 April 2016

This Hotel has such a lovely entrance and the staff were very easy and pleasant to get along with. As much as I loved the old world feel of the foyer the rooms in some aspects feel a bit dated (mainly the bath/shower). There is a lovely café, a separate bar and a great little Japanese Restaurant (Mr. Yakitoris) all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia Y
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Patricia Y, thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, we appreciate you taking the time to place your feedback on our hotel and the team that looked after you.

Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I must let people know about the great help I received from Chris at reception. He went out of his way to assist me all at his own expense. I will always be more inclined to stay at any Distinction hotel when I know they have such awesome staff. Better than any marble foyer is great customer care!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charity T
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Charity T, WOW, We will make sure Kris is recognised for the excellent service he provided you, glad your stay with us was memorable. We now have over 12 hotels nationally for you to choose from. If you review the Distinction Hotels website, you will be able to take a glimpse at all of them. We look forward...

Austin, Texas
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We stayed at this hotel as part of a tour package that includes a rental car and we are glad this was our option in Rotorua. The parking lot is spacious and next to the hotel. The staff was friendly and willing to help us with recommendation and directions, even with reservations to some spots. We drove to every place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandy K
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings SandraKusakabe, it's wonderful to read you have enjoyed your recent stay with us and the team looked after you during your visit. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Odense, Denmark
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Stayed two night Marts 2016 in Superior Room Room with the purpose of a New Zealand round trip. Hotel is placed in the suburb of Rotorua near the Te Puia. The room (514) was really a luxury. View over the pool area, separate sleep room, well equipped tea kitchen, two balconies and two 50 inch televisions (not that we used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AllanBJ
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings AllanBJ, Thank you for your recent stay with us. It's wonderful to read you have enjoyed your time at our hotel.

Reviewed 31 March 2016 via mobile

I travel extensively and this hotel whilst nice rooms, bar and outdoor area was chronically poor service. Reception was a shambles. I was woken through the night w traffic by main road and noisy guests in hallways leaving in the middle of the night. I was then pestered by reception to check out when I was trying to catch up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stjohnc2015
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Greetings stjohnc2015, my apologies you did not enjoy your stay at our hotel. Our check out time is 11am, an our after most other hotels nationally. Our records show the team contacted you at 2pm in the afternoon as there had been no contact made regarding a late check out request. We trust you enjoyed the conference you were attending.

Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 March 2016 via mobile

Stayed here as apart of the sweet suite deal, had a great suite on the ground floor, it's huge! Very friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was great! Lovely bottle of bubbles greeted us on arrival in our room. Only thing I would like to see improved is there was no microwave or sink in the kitchen area. Not a biggie though!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s0phs_12
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

s0phs_12 thank you for your recent stay with us in our suites. Great t hear you enjoyed the room and the service the offered during your stay. We hope to see you again in your travels.

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Got a grab one deal..after a long day around rotorua, in pool & dinner. Went for sleep around 11pm..stains on bed, blood spots someone's hair on pillow..manager was called. Imagine paying $290p/night u get to sleep on something disgusting. Food n restaurant was gud..but seriously room was very bad. Wen we checked out, no 1 bothered to apologise for previous...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheemal
DistinctionHotels, General Manager at Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre, responded to this review

Kia Ora Sheemal, my sincere apologies your stay at our hotel was not up to your standard or the standard that we do expect our clients to receive.

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
792 reviews
2.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
2.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
2.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
2.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 390 Fenton Street | PO Box 983, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $166 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Distinction Rotorua Hotel And Conference Centre
Distinction Hotel Rotorua
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suite in room 314 is lovely, spacious and airy.”
Darren_R_Beckett, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Delux King rooms haven't been updated yet.”
matu64, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“noisy ground floor, only one working lift”
ash139, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors facing south have nice views.”
  • View from room
  • Inside room
jeffr415, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose GF room”
JohnnnyBGood, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5