We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,332 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,190: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Just not our "cup of tea" - large hotel with no ambience at all, rooms with no windows that can be opened so you are forced to sleep with the air conditioning on. That said, the location is good, right by the lake and close to Eat Street with all the restaurants and lots of parking.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lenp135
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Lenp135, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to learn you appreciate the convenient hotel location. However, I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed there for 4 nights...nice room with a great view of the lake. Unfortunately, I'm not a big buffet fan, and was surprised to learn that it was only the buffet available for breakfast...they didn't do a la carte. So it was a $30.00 buffet or nothing. I did ask if I did the buffet, could the cooks make some...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cam W
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Cam W, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed the view from your room. However, I do apologies for the issue with breakfast and also the bar not being open earlier. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Thank...

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

smack bang in the middle for shops restaurants , the room we had was just perfect, the restaurant had a buffet evening and wow was it good!! everything you could think of and more truly fabulous.and cant praise Georgie the assistant manager enough for helping us sort a problem out with our car hire,Rotorua is a wonderful place to visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1804RICK
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear 1804RICK, Thank you for your amazing review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. It was great to read all your positive comments about your stay! We hope to see you again soon.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We went for a pre-birthday drink for Dad. The service from Kristen was above & beyond - immaculately dressed, very respectful, genuine smile, genuine, down to earth conversation, genuine kindness, good and genuine humour (despite being busy and working hard), nothing was a problem, and she came to where we were sat to check on our drinks and offer more....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhodie1970
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Rhodie1970, Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and received such wonderful service from Kristen. I will make sure to let her know! We hope to see you back again soon!

Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed recently at this Hotel, and would have no hesitation in reccommending it to any travellers. If a person does not like lifts (as I don't as been stuck in them twice) and would prefer to use the stairs, this Hotel is a great place to go, as anyone staying can use their room key to doors to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spinx1973
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear spinx1973, Thank you for your amazing review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am glad to see you appreciated the access to the stairs! We hope to see you again soon!

Oslo, Norway
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is modern hotel with the expected standard of Novotel. The location is excellent close to Rotorua lake and many restaurants.I will recommend trying the hotels buffet restaurant. Rooms were clean with comfortable beds and free internet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BjornNorge
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear BjornNorge, Thank you for your kind review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the facilities to your liking. We hope to see you back again soon!

Maui
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Rotorua Novotel, we had a corner room with a wonderful view of the Lake. . ideal location and perfect walking distance to the town and we enjoyed nice buffet breakfast that was included in our booked room rate. . Staff was very pleasant and everything was spotless. . .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen L, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit, especially our great location. We look forward to hosting you again!

lymm
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This was an excellent stay in our 21 day tour of New Zealand, The hotel exceeded my expectations in all aspects. We only stayed on a bed only basis but the room, which faced the lake was excellent. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The swimming pool and natural sulphur s by the town and sulphur smelling hot pools...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midunkley
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear midunkley, Thank you for your fantastic 5 star review! It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am so happy to see that you enjoy your stay and found the staff and facilities to your liking. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and we look forward to hosting you again in...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were lucky enough to have a room overlooking the lake. The room however had chips out of the washhandbasin and they use very cheap toilet paper. Didn't find the staff particularly helpful, on asking for ideas of what to do on a rainy day all she could come up with was the shopping mall!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny L
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Jenny L, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad to see you enjoyed the view from your room. However, I was disappointed to read your comments regarding the staff, and I will address this with the team directly - we pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I do apologies...

Moorooka
Reviewed 1 week ago

Physically the hotel was lovely. Spacious rooms, lobby, impressive restaurant and cozy comfy bar, and terrific use of natural springs for geothermal pools. However some systems lacking: My room is available for cleaning all morning until 1.45pm....yet not done . I rest for one hour, and ring reception to explain, and request room clean whilst I have a 45m swim....

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne P
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne P, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. However, I do apologies for your room not being serviced. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Please get...

490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (443)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (108)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (39)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (174)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
643 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#26 of 93 in Rotorua
1,069 reviews
1.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $124 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
4 months ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“While the rooms facing the lake do have a great view, the bar is directly below and the noise can keep you up.”
 of 5 bubbles 943camw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at higher levels have great views”
 of 5 bubbles spinx1973, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on 5th floor on the corner, great views of the lake and parks. .”
 of 5 bubbles KapaluaKat, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lake view from our room on 5th floor”
  • view from room 511
 of 5 bubbles midunkley, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No problems with noise, love both our stay here”
 of 5 bubbles KimberleyL96, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5