We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,387 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,237: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
 Click to rate
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Most of people would agree that a great pillow equals a good nights sleep and a bad pillow ruins a holiday! Novotel have a great selection of pillows - I am sure even the most discerning guest would be impressed. Aside from the great pillow selection the breakfasts offer a wide selection of choices- the pastries are particularly delicious. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
Auckland
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Booked and stayed for one night with family as we were passing through Rotorua. The room was all good although starting to get slightly dated. In the Lifts they advertise $89 dinner at atlas restaurant for 2 adults and 2 children high we thought was good. When we got to restaurant however the asked our children's age which was 10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliffoAuckland
Sherman Oaks, CA
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I must preface this review with the fact that we stayed here on Easter weekend and it was very busy with lots of families with kids. Therefore, my experience is colored by the apparently overwhelming demand. The hotel was getting shabby and fell short of the basic comforts I expected. The wall mount for the blow dryer was dirty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reachingdreams
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear reachingdreams, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to learn you appreciate the convenient hotel location and also your complimentary breakfasts. However, I was disappointed to read that your experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked...

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had a lovely room with a view across the lake and Eat Street was across the road as well a big park and playground so the kids could run around. The buffet breakfast was a great start to the day with lots to choose from.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsKellB
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear MrsKellB, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, especially our location and also the breakfast! We hope to see you again very soon.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our second stay at Novotel Lakeside Rotorua and once again, it was a good one. Even though prices have gone up, we still felt that it was somewhat value for money, owing to its location and spa pools.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ddcotta
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear ddcotta, Thank you for your very kind review. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel. I am glad to see you enjoyed our location and the hot pools. We hope to see you again soon.

Auckland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in a suite with our 9 year old daughter. The room was comfortable and had a lake view. Having said that the decor was slightly tired and I feel that it is in need of updating. We had breakfast included in our deal, the food was alright but they were quite clearly in need of more staff as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John T
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear John T, Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. Our apologies for letting you down with the breakfast service. I have shared your comments with the team and we will put a higher focus on this area. We look forward to...

Winter Haven, Florida
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located downtown on the lake. Lots of restaurants within very easy walking distance. We were pleased with our large, clean room. No problems. We really enjoyed the geothermal swimming pool and hot tubs as this was definitely not like home. The breakfast buffet had a great selection. I would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank J
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Frank J, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. It is great to see that you appreciate our wonderful location with easy access to our beautiful town! We look forward to hosting you again!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

In general the hotel was good. A great location close to restaurants, room was large enough for 3 of us and very clean. The front desk staff were very helpful. Sadly I can't say the same about the restaurant. Breakfast was so disorganized. Not enough staff on, you had to hunt someone down if you want a decent coffee. Tables...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Buckley174
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Buckley174, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. However, I do apologies for what happened in the restaurant. We pride ourselves on excellent customer service, and I do apologies if you felt that we did not deliver...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had a great time at Novotel, location is superb - right next door to Eat Street, the lake, and a few blocks away from central town. The room we had was not the best but is sufficient and tidy. Pillows were a bit tired but did their job for 2 nights. The staff are all accommodating and very helpful. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ceendee2017
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear ceendee2017, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. It was great to see all your positive comments about our location, the pools and especially the staff! Thank you for the feedback about the wet floors, we will most certainly review this. Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Good - location close to the Lake and to Eat Street. Nice touches with tealight candles in the foyer and bouncy castle for the kids plus espresso coffee machine close by for the parents. Liked the small milk bottles for juices and small jars for yogurt & bircher muesli. Nice selection of breakfast foods with asian and indian dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie Y
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Eddie Y, Thank you for providing a review of our hotel. It is pleasing to read that your stay was, on majority, a comfortable and pleasing one. It was great to read all your positive comments. However, I do apologies if some aspect of the room accommodation and bathroom facility fell below your expectation. Rest assured that your comments...

504 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.8 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 93 in Rotorua
793 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#31 of 93 in Rotorua
1,097 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent of Rotorua
Regent of Rotorua
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $169 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
5 months ago
Auckland, New Zealand
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor lake view rooms”
fionam706, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for a room with a view if can”
carolgI7727FK, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a lake view rather than a city view if that is important to you.”
evandbob, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lake view rooms”
gzbike, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lakeview room”
madiennec, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5