We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Expedia.comUS$170*
View Deal
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,215: English reviews
Start your review of Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
 Click to rate
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed yesterday NEW

On the outside, the Novotel looks like it should be placed in a Soviet era apartment block. It is basically a nondescript, completely forgettable cube. Rooms were pretty much the same way although the bed was comfortable. Staff were generally friendly although there was some confusion with trying to get a pastry to go in the morning. Location was good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MayaChi
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel needs an update badly. The wall paint, carpet, beds, furniture all need to be replaced. There are ceiling tiles in the bathroom and florescent lighting = yuky. The heater didn't work and was just blowing cold air out and we were told many of the rooms were like that, however they did accommodate us and moved us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jody s
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear jody s, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad to see your positive comments about the staff! However, I apologies if some aspect of the room accommodation and bathroom facility fell below your expectation. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Again, thank you for sharing...

Michigan
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a typical Novotel hotel. Really nothing special. The bed was fine. It was air conditioned but the annoying thing was a limited amount of free WiFi. The location was nice because it was within walking distance of where the float plane rides were going. It was right across the street from the Picnic Café and also close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonandSheron
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear DonandSheron, Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I am glad to learn you appreciate the convenient hotel location. However, I was disappointed to read that the breakfast did not meet your expectations. Rest assured that your comments have been documented and will certainly be looked into. Again, thank you for sharing your...

Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel, from the outside, is a very bland, drab, modern type building. It is situated close to the lake and next to Eat Street. There is ample free parking around the hotel. The lobby / reception area is large and airy and the reception staff were very welcoming. We were booked in quickly and the facilities in the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clive_C54
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Clive_C54, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We had a short 2 night stay here during our 2 week visit to New Zealand. We had booked a lakeview room and found it bright, cheery and large. The bed was comfortable and the shower worked fine, so I was happy with that. There's a restaurant on the lobby floor where we had 2 breakfasts, you get a choice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Robert S, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and found the staff and facilities to your liking. We do hope that you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and we look forward to hosting you again in one of our hotels.

Sugarloaf, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Place looks nice in the lobby. Rooms are tiny and the bed is like a hammock. Included breakfast buffet is 2nd rate from start to finish. Find someplace else to stay. Asked for directions at front desk and was directed in opposite direction of our destination

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 54bren
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear 54bren, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a great weekend with my +1. Novotel is the excellent hotel, stay at this hotel few time for work or pleasure and so far we always check out with a big smile. Comfy bed, great buffet breakfast and friendly staff. The best place to stay at Rotorua...😀😀👍...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nur L
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Nur L, Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review! It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff and facilities to your liking. We hope to see you back again soon!

Newport Beach, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a very comfortable, spacious room that is a very short walk to the lake and to all the restaurants and downtown area. It was easy to drive to as well (and appreciate the free parking). Very helpful staff and the room was clean and well appointed. Soaked in their geothermal spa as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank plumeria54
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear plumeria54, Thank you for your feedback and positive rating. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and found the staff and facilities to your liking. We look forward to hosting you again!

Wenatchee, Washington
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is close to Lake Rotorua. I loved walking there and seeing the beautiful black swans. The park across the street has an amazing tree shaped "pile" of bikes as a center piece. It is lit up at night, like a Christmas tree. Close to shopping, if that is what you would like to do. An ice cream store...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane O
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Diane O, Thank you for your amazing 5 star review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to our hotel. I am so happy to see that you appreciate the convenient hotel location, with easy access to all our beautiful city has to offer! We hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel is perfect right at the end of Eat Street and a short stroll across the park to the lake front. It is a corporate hotel but that does mean that you know what to expect. the room was good and had a view right down to the lake. The only downside to the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Florencevienna
Edward J, General Manager at Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, responded to this review

Dear Florenceviennan Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

504 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (455)
Viewed
Bathroom (42)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (113)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
2:53
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (176)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
660 reviews
2.3 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.9 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
772 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#29 of 93 in Rotorua
1,084 reviews
1.0 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside is ideally situated near the shores of lake Rotorua and withing meters of the CBD and restaurant sector.. The hotel has 199 modern, spacious accommodation rooms, some with stunning lake views, including 11 suites and the prestigious Royal suite. All bedrooms have either a king or two double beds, en-suite with shower over bath, mini bars and safes. Guests also have access to our fully equipped gym, indoor heated pool and geothermal plunge pools. Atlas cafe and restaurant is open all year round, serving guests and visitors from the extensive buffet and ala-carte dining. Our Hotel bar Clarke's is the perfect place to relax and enjoy a drink fireside or catch up with friends over a shared platter on our outdoor courtyard. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Novotel Rotorua Lakeside

Address: Lake End Tutanekai Street, Rotorua 3215, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $167 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Rotorua Lakeside 4.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Novotel Rotorua Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside Hotel Rotorua
Accor Rotorua Lakeside
Rotorua Novotel
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#16 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#25 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#33 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Phoenix, Arizona
4 months ago
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
over a year ago
Tauranga, New Zealand
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Novotel Rotorua Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lake view rather than a city view if that is important to you.”
 of 5 bubbles evandbob, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for lake view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles gzbike, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upgrade to a lakeview room”
 of 5 bubbles madiennec, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appeared to be away from street noise, so no real advice here.”
 of 5 bubbles Iain_Bailey68, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“While the rooms facing the lake do have a great view, the bar is directly below and the noise can keep you up.”
 of 5 bubbles 943camw, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$170* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$357
Booking.comUS$171
Hotels.comUS$170
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates