We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Rotorua

Hotwire.comUS$92*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$203*
US$92*
US$102*
US$203*
US$92*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,182 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,153: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Rotorua
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

The main reasons we booked this hotel was the indoor pool & wifi. When we turned up we found the pool has been out of operation since November 16 but this isn't mentioned at all on their website. The wifi reminded us of dial-up........completely unusable. Bathrooms & kitchens quite dated & in need of refreshing. We had to request our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pieta N
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great hotel, great location, but not what you would expect from the Rydges brand. The bathrooms look dated, paint flaking off the taps, rusty and mouldy. But the staff were amazing, great service. Breakfast was good, the chef is very creative, thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dzixxxx
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a trip with my friends and I must say I am very disappointed in the quality of this hotel. I have seen 3 star Motels in better condition. The bathrooms were moldy and full of grime, the shower especially was full of grime in the cornices and I had to keep adjusting the temperature as I would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lifesaver90
South America
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean Rooms but shud have been told that pool is closed because of Earthquake damage,Very nice food in the dining room.Only a short walk to town.Didnt think much of the Bucket in the middle of the hallway to catch water from a leak in the roof

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 784bill
Management response:

Dear 784bill, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed dinning in our restaurant and our hotel room and location meet your expectation. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Arrived for a two night stay, we stayed in G15 ground floor room in May 2017 The paint was peeling off the doors internally, and it wasn't clean at all inside The room looked totally worn out, the gym equipment was broken/dangerous The wi fi was hit and miss, I'm sure staying in a Back Packers or B&B would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJTM45
Management response:

Dear CJTM45, Thank you for sharing your valuable review with us. I am disappointed about these issues you have raised above. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. I hope that you will accept our apology and thank you for giving us an opportunity to improve ourselves. We sincerely...

Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were never told by reception when we rang that there was no swimming pool or spa. Told by duty manager it had been closed for 7-8 months after we had arrived and people who ring to the Hotel are always told pool.closed! The Hotel Facilities manual in our room still had swimming pool and open hours advertised. Staff very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn672014
Management response:

Dear Lyn672014, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your valuable review with us. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. Your comments regarding our swimming pool already brought to the attention of our General Manager. I believe that he already contact you regarding it in person. We sincerely hope to have a...

Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a wet few days in Rotorua, staying here. The booking site we used, had favourable comments about the pool. Spacious room, very comfortable beds, nice balcony overlooking the racecourse, but the pool has gone. So we spent over $60 to go to the Polynesian Pools. Next time we will choose a hotel with a pool, as that's what we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
Management response:

Dear Pam R Thank you for taking your time to review of our property. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our swimming pool out of order, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is only 1 or 2km from the town centre and a close distance to the most sought after sight of this geothermal district: the geyser. The hotel is average in term of service and room facilities. There is a lot of guests from overseas especially from China arriving in tour bus.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hduc
Management response:

Dear hduc, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to know you find our hotel location is convenient and our facilities and service meet your expectation. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Family and I paid more for this place since it advertised an indoor pool but when we checked it was advised it had a crack it in and had been closed for 2 months and that the spa pool in our room was broken. This would have been something that should have been told to us prior to booking!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Avrill B
Management response:

Dear Avrill, Thank you for taking your time to give us some feedback. Regarding our swimming pool out of order and unexpected spa water outage due to emergent maintenance, We do sincere apologise for inconvenience caused. Once again, your comments are highly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were lucky to have been given a complimentary upgrade to a spa room which was very spacious and roomy so great space for a toddler but... very ordinary and the fixtures and fittings were very dated. The bathroom looked very tired and the spa needed a bit of clean which was disappointing. No cable and the wireless internet connection...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jazza_nz
Management response:

Dear Jazza_nz, Thank you for taking the time to give your comments. I do apologize that our WIFI was down due to unexpected maintenance.Your feedback regarding our room features have been well-noted and we will certainly keep them in mind for the future. Thank you very much for your valuable comments again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

221 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (205)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
812 reviews
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
1.8 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
383 reviews
0.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $119 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#32 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“im not sure of other rooms but the hygiene definitely needs serious attending to”
lifesaver90, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Chose Rooms with Balconys”
784bill, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a racecourse view.”
474pamr, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“over looking race course”
richarddoubtfire, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Make sure there's hot water before you settle in your room.”
N1932QKwilliamw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$92* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$102
TravelocityUS$92
AMOMAUS$203
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates