We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Rydges Rotorua

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,092: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

All Rydges are not created equally. The Rydges in Rotorua is not good. What do you mean not good? Put it this way…We checked out one night early when we had paid for two nights. But we made the choice to rather go home and waste $200 than to spend another night in this establishment. I made a mistake and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mrs_SkyWalker
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at Rydges Rotorua for one night while driving the thermal highway. It is a short drive from the city centre, and overlooks the racecourse. The rooms are clean and comfy. The wifi is terrible!

Helpful?
Thank Amy R
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Everything is dated and worn out. Bathroom counters, headboards, mattresses, even tables in the main dining room that obviously are quite old. The same dining room is more like eating in a warehouse. I wouldn't come expecting glamour, certainly not for a wedding or a fancy event. Rooms are large, tv tiny in comparison. I could feel the springs in... More 

Helpful?
Thank scott e
Management response:

Dear Scott e Thank you for your review of our property. We regret that our hotel couldn't meet your expectations and we would like to understand more on the situation. Please feel free to write me an email via Christine_chen@evt.com if you wish to discuss further on the matters so we can improve and provide you with another better experience.... More 

Travellers are raving about these Rotorua hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
252 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Spent the night at the hotel. The room was fairly nice and clean. The bathroom is in need of remodeling. Shower had no pressure and sprayed everywhere. The halls are dark and looks old. Staff was not very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank wolf3728
Management response:

Dear Wolf3728, Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review with us. We regret that our hotel couldn't meet your expectations. Your feedback regarding shower water pressure, staff helpfulness and other areas have been well-noted and we will certainly discuss them within our team for future improvement. Thank you for giving us an opportunity to improve ourselves. We... More 

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice location near the racing track. Rooms were a great size. I found it a little odd that if you were on the first floor that you had to carry your bags up the stairs. Only a small things but with heavy suitcases and a toddler to manage, assistance would have been appreciated. The staff were also very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank BrisStar
Management response:

Dear BrisStar, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a tripadvisor comment. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel location and room size. Meanwhile, your feedback regarding suitcase assistance has been well-noted and we will certainly keep it in mind for the future. Once again, appreciate your feedback and we truly look forward to... More 

New Zealand
Level Contributor
185 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The rooms are starting to show a bit of tattiness in places now, although the size of the rooms does appeal, as does the space in the hallways and throughout the hotel. Fittings are a bit cheap with tiny TV with not many channels from The Warehouse - Konka! No AC in rooms. Free car park out the back, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank IvanNewZealand
Management response:

Dear IvanNewZealand, Thank you for taking your time to share your comments with us. Your constructive comments have been well noted. We will work with the team to further improve our facilities to ensure an enjoyable experience for all our guests. We greatly appreciate your comments that help us improve. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you... More 

Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff from reception to house keeping to restaurant. Rooms are massive and although a little dated, very clean and functional. Nice outlook onto racetrack. Exceptionally comfy beds and quality linens. Loved the shower pressure! Only criticism would be TVs in standard rooms could be a little larger compared to the scale of the room. Breakfast was a highlight.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
Management response:

Dear Cherie, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your nice comments. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during the recent stay with us. We will certainly share your pleasant feedback with all our team members. We truly appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you... More 

Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Stayed for a week, the breakfast buffet was very average and items not replenished after the predations of Chinese tour groups. I was told one morning that boiled eggs would take 15 minutes sic. The rooms were ok and very clean

Helpful?
Thank John D
Management response:

Dear John, Thank you for taking your time to share your comment with us on. We regret that our breakfast service in our restaurant didn't meet your expectations. This is indeed not our service standard and has been well-noted by our Food & Beverage Manager. Action plans have been conducted for further improvement. Thank you again for giving us an... More 

Rio Verde, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Rydges was a nice place to stay. Fairly quiet and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was average. Coffee was horrible. The good size room overlooks the horse track. It is only about 15 minute walk into town.

Helpful?
Thank MGB999
Management response:

Dear MGB999, Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. we are glad our location and rooms suited your needs for the stay. I apologise for the quality of coffee. I will address it with our Food & Beverage Operation Manager, she will definitely look into this area for future improvement. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.... More 

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed for two nights and regretted it. Bedroom large but very shabby ... old chewing gum trodden into the carpet. Shower was more of a mist and all the chrome had worn away from the shower head ... ugh. 1 or 2 of the waiters were great but others simply could not care and didn't want to be there. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank cherryjam3
Management response:

Dear Cherryjam3 Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed observations and extensive feedback. I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay. We have taken noted of your comments and are concerned about our room cleanliness and service issues you have raised. We do place great value to each and every guest's staying... More 

205 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (81)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
673 reviews
0.5 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
589 reviews
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $163 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't book here”
 of 5 bubbles Mrs_SkyWalker, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Spa rooms are very large and have balcony and view”
 of 5 bubbles IvanNewZealand, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms away from the race course are less smelly from sulphur”
 of 5 bubbles FoodieHannah, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 408 on the fourth floor”
 of 5 bubbles kevinandmorika, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“south side room was very quiet, very cosy and large”
 of 5 bubbles Doris551960, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay