We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Rydges Rotorua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Rotorua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,159 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,130: English reviews
Start your review of Rydges Rotorua
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We traveled in a group of 4 and stayed in two rooms on the first floor. At about 8pm I took a shower and immediately realised the water was pulsing warm and cold. My father next door told me he didn't have any hot water at all. Went to to notify reception and they told us there was an issue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William W
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The guy at bar with the bar manager name tag called raj, was a bit an highly unprofessional with his tone, I din feel welcomed at all. I work in this industry itself but never had such an experience in rotorua.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicktravel007
Frank Josef, Greymouth, Nelson
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived very late to the location i Rotorua, the choice of the hotel was due to missing opportunities. This hotel desperately need an upgrade! Location is fine the rooms are huge, but the over all impression of the hotel is that is old and mot maintained the the degreed needed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank René H
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent 2 nights here whilst we checked out the area, the hotel is next to the racetrack and I would recommend to anyone staying here to ask for a room over looking the race course as the rooms on the other side of the hotel get the sulphate smells from the geysers that are plentiful in the area. Having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
Cheshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We spent two nights here on tour. Whilst the Rydges in Auckland was quite good this was a very different standard. Only one lift working, swimming pool out of order and the rooms, though large, are very basic and outdated. No room safe and bathroom very tatty. Would avoid this hotel - there are loads along main road and I'm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prof1Cheshire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Reception staff doesn't smile or greet. At checkout told me to wait 5 mins as she's closing her cashier! Room service doesn't pickup phone and neither does reception desk! Pool was out of order and no arrangements made elsewhere! Was disappointed as was a nice day for a swim and we were so looking forward for it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shashank K
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel as part of a tour. One of the worst I have stayed in. It is a 20 minute walk from downtown. Very old facility. Old furniture. Worn fixtures. Limited TV channels. Poor breakfast NO AC. Results in very hot and stuffy rooms. Only possible positive is 5mps wifi. There are much better alternatives.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jtbeknott
Wairarapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago

This was second time here with many years in between. Loved the first time but the hotel is needing a little refurbishment soon. The pool was out of service which was a big disappointment. The standard room is large, the bathroom has a shower over the bath, the television has some sky channels but not all and Freeview. Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank r0se46
Management response:

Dear r0se46 Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am glad to know you enjoyed our breakfast and our general service. I do apologise that out swimming pool has to be closed due to emergent maintenance. We sincerely hope to have a chance to serve you again. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office Manager

Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

An older building but very clean and the bed was so comfortable, the best nights sleep we had on our whole trip. Overlooking the racecourse very close to the centre of town 10-15 mins walk if you were feeling motivated or less than 5 min drive. We spent a little extra and got the king spa suite. It was huge!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BrylieJ
Management response:

Dear BrylieJ, Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are truly delighted to know that you have enjoyed our overall services and facilities during your recent staying. We appreciate your support and sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future. Kind Regards Christine Chen Front Office...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We went as a family. We enjoy pools in hotels so we're looking forward to relaxing in theirs before checking out Rotorua! Well the pool was closed apparently since start of week and would be closed a few more days;( No notice on website about it so we could quickly look for another hotel and I asked at reception but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat M
Management response:

Dear Pat, Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed observations and extensive feedback. Firstly, I do apologise that out swimming pool has to be closed due to emergent maintenance. We have taken noted of your comments on our bathroom door and breakfast service and those will be definitely shared with our Food & Beverage manager and Maintenance...

214 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (198)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
2:50
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (90)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.9 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 93 in Rotorua
749 reviews
1.1 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
641 reviews
0.1 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#13 of 93 in Rotorua
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Atrium Restaurant
Atrium Restaurant
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Rydges Rotorua is located in a park like setting on the edge of the city's Racecourse. The hotel boasts panoramic views towards Lake Rotorua and Mokoia Island. Along with the most spacious guest rooms in the city, offering FREE WIFI, the hotel also has extensive catering facilities, including the Atrium Restaurant and Bar, Mezz Bar, 24 hour room service and over 560sqm of function. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, Convention Centre and many of the city's main attractions are a short drive away. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Rotorua

Address: 272 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $162 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rydges Rotorua 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Rydges Hotel Rotorua
Rotorua Rydges Hotel
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#28 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Family Hotel in Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Rydges Rotorua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Make sure there's hot water before you settle in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles N1932QKwilliamw, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Book a room on the race course side of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles JeffR605, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“overlooking racetrack i'm assuming best option”
 of 5 bubbles stuart2002, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose someplace else, you are not going to find it here!”
 of 5 bubbles AklFamily, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor rooms especially rooms near the back entrance. It gets quite noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles gabsd2014, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5