We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Four Canoes Hotel

CancelonUS$60*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$90*
US$60*
Great Deal
US$80*
US$90*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Four Canoes Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 119: English reviews
Start your review of Four Canoes Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Mum & I had planned an overnight stay in Rotorua due to a cultural gathering at one of the local marae so when I saw an internet ad featuring this motel & a friend commenting on this place being a regular stay for her & her Mum I thought "why not" so promptly booked a room through Booking.com. When we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SelHira
Monte Verde, MG
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My credit card was charged behind my back, without my approval and without a real reason. The manager was incredibly rude to me on the phone, making up a bunch of excuses for the dishonesty and changing the reason why I was charged multiple times. I am always happy to pay for anything that is honest, but this is unacceptable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janamaia
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel was great, travelling as a group of four girls in mainly hostels we were very happy to have a hotel for two nights with great comforts. Great location, comfortable and clean beds at a hostel price! I would stay here again! Thankyou

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kelly, Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well & look forward to welcome you again in future. Kind Regards, Karan

Alberta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was traveling around NZ, staying mostly in hostels. It was a nice change to have a room where we didn't need to climb bunk beds. The room had a spacious bathroom with good hot water and a mini fridge which was helpful to prep food for hiking the next day. We were in a room with four people and no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VoyageuseDeCanada
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to know that you found the room spacious & enjoyed the hotel facilities. Regarding the toilet paper - We usually put 2 toilet papers rolls per room, housekeeping team may have missed it in this instance. In terms of reception timing we are open daily from 7Am till 10Pm and...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during recent trip to NZ and whilst the staff were very welcoming & friendly, the hotel itself needs some attention. Having said that the hotel is budget friendly and we would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruby G
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ruby, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you will and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family room .As you walk, no space to walk through the doorway. Very cramped. No TV They had to break Door down, scan didn't work. Told us that they just moved in, but have photo proof Feb still same.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maisey70751
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Maisey70751, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you felt the room was not up to your expectations. We understand that the Family rooms space is limited and have taken your feedback into consideration on opening up the entrance more by moving furniture around in the room and also reducing the number of Family rooms and turning...

Putaruru, New Zealand
Reviewed 10 April 2017

We stayed in a twin room with 2 double beds on the 2nd floor. The room was clean and as pictured in photos. No TV, but that was fine for a one night stay. The staff were friendly. Free, fast WIFI! Heaps of parking. Close to shops etc. Budget friendly, would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bailey W
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Bailey, Four Canoes team really appreciate your review on our property. we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you and we look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Espoo
Reviewed 3 April 2017

This budget motel has a handy location between Rotorua center and Te Puia thermal village. The room was big and had comfortable beds. Wi-fi was fast. There was no air-conditioning, but anyway the air indoor was fresh in March. Staff were nice, but did not manage to change my room to the upper floor as promised. There were also outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erton
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Erton, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad to know that you found the property location handy & comfortable. We wish you will and look forward to accommodating you again in the future. Kind Regards, Karan Jhand

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 31 March 2017

The location of this hotel is very near to the town centre. Nearby there's the infamous Oppies Fish & chips, night market which is held every Thursdays and short distance to the Eat Street. The room is spacious and more than sufficient number of beds for a family of four. Overall, a good and value for money stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jenniferyeoh
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jenniferyeoh, Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you find our hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to see you again. Kind Regards, Karan

redcar
Reviewed 21 March 2017

we stayed for one night, booked a family room for 4 adults, to keep costs down , and took a continental style breakfast , good value for the price, car parking, and near the city centre, and easy to find

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fatwallet007
KaranJhand, Assistant Manager at Four Canoes Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to review our property. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you well and look forward to welcome you again in near future. Kind Regards, Karan

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.6 km away
Brylin Motel
Brylin Motel
#48 of 92 in Rotorua
106 reviews
2.5 km away
Lake Rotorua Hotel
Lake Rotorua Hotel
#49 of 92 in Rotorua
235 reviews
1.6 km away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#15 of 92 in Rotorua
383 reviews
0.4 km away
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
Jet Park Hotel Rotorua
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
300 reviews
0.3 km away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished the Four Canoes Hotel is now a 3 Star Qualmark rated Motel in central Rotorua. Rooms offer free unlimited WIFI, Free Tea/Coffee in the rooms, all rooms are ensuite with Shower and toilet. Two outdoor heated pools, and 1 Thermal Mineral Water Pool free to or guests to enjoy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Four Canoes Hotel

Address: 273 Fenton Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Price Range: $70 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Canoes Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Canoes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Canoes Hotel
Four Canoes Rotorua
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Four Canoes Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid! Credit card scam!”
janamaia, 21 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the disappointment”
314gede, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A variation of rooms from doubles and family rooms to bunk rooms with 4 and more beds.”
OldKiwiFlyer, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms a bit dated”
SLASHTong, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Make sure to ask about doscounts to the Maori Cultural Experiences!”
NatOOSh_12, 19 Apr 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Cancelon
US$60* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$80
PricelineUS$90
TravelocityUS$80
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates